We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have any experience traveling in West Africa, it will meet your expectations”
Review of Busua Waves Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Busua Waves Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busua
Reviewed 7 March 2011

If you are used to traveling in West Africa, your basic expectations will be met, considering the Busua Beach Resort is run by a hotel chain. The rooms are basically clean, the immediate beach was pleasant, if rather poorly equipped with adequate sun beds, umbrella's and chairs. You had to beat the rush in the morning unless you wanted to sit in our towel for the rest of the day. The food was incredibly average and the service was like watching paint dry. The average lunch required two hours from seeking the attention of a server, to ordering, waiting for your food, then your bill, then your change etc. There are other great eating choices nearby including a small family run French Restaurant just down the beach. Last thing, I booked and paid for a suite online and received a double room when I arrived even though I could prove I had paid for suite. The hotel seemed very uninterested in contacting the booking agent to resolve the issue which left me short-changed. Overall, it was quite relaxing, sufficiently restful, but a generally average experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BRYANACOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Nice bungalows though simple rooms. A plastic bag of soft drinks was left in the room, which we had to put in the fridge. Lounge chairs were available on the beach but reclaimed to put away before I was ready to go in. The food was poor: breakfast buffet was crowded and just one kind of fruit in this tropical location. Dinner was just bland and uninspired. We had a package that included dinner but were keen to go elsewhere for lunch! There are better choices in this part of Ghana.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Cozy little spot on the ocean. This hotel may not be up to very high standards for those visiting Africa from other continents, but for Ghana it is impressive. Tip well and you will be looked after. The staff are friendly and helpful. You may need some help from a local resident to make a deposit for you or you can do a bank transfer to book your stay as it is not recommended to use a credit card anywhere in Africa. The Hotel accepts Ghana Cedi's or American Dollars, but if you pay with the latter you will likely get your change in Cedis :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Éil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Not only is Busua Beach an incredible ocean side community with wonderful people and scenery it is a destination like no other in regards to experiencing the best of Ghanaian Food and Hospitality! When I was there the manager, Mr. Bernard Saka, made a point of introducing himself and went out of his way to make sure all of his guests were comfortable. He also made it clear that he was available at any time with any concerns. Over and above that he went out of his way to ensure we were aware of all the local attractions and did everything he could to help us maximize our stay there. It was obvious that this approach to hospitality made everyone feel not only like honored guests but also for us foreigners, safe, in a land far from home! A resort is really only as good as it's employees because in the end it is all about service. I have since heard that management has changed hands and service is not what it once was. I was planning to go back in about a year and take a number of people with me but I may reconsider depending on who is managaing the hotel. If Mr. Saka returns to Busua Beach I would have no quams about recommending this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelly198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

From the outside this resort with its whitewashed bungalows set by the sea seems quite upmarket. Our detached "Executive Suite" , however, revealed some of the maintenance problems that seemed to be everywhere, eg broken blinds, broken towel rail, A/C for the sitting room not working properly, etc. Otherwise it was spacious & quite well furnished, although a "kitchenette" without any cooking facities seems a bit pointless.
The main restaurant is rather drab so we ate at the open air beachside bar which has the same, not very exciting, menu. Breakfasts are for local tastes - large quantities of stodgy cooked food.
Given that the hotel was not full & the large number of staff around, service was disorganised if friendly. Our room for example was not made up until 4pm despite several requests.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

this complex is marketed as an upmarket resort. the reality is quite different. Built 15 years ago, the chalets are very small and our room smelled badly of damp. The room was not clean - there was hair in all the corners in the bathroom, dirt on the bedroom floor and I suspect the sheets had not been changed after the previous guests left. We were subjected to loud live music til late at night and the food was inedible. Stewed liver for breakfast anyone? BBR's foreign currency rates are criminal - we changed UK pounds at 1.70cedis to £1. Later the same day, we changed for 2.20cedis to £1 at Busua Inn. I know hotel rates are never great but Busua beach resort are taking 25% commission!!!!!!!

I have stayed in much worse hotels but at US$160 per night, this is the worst quality/price I have come across in a long time.

Busua itself is a beautiful place. Stay at the Busua Inn (see other reviews), African Rainbow or Dadson's. They are all small hotels but offer clean, simple rooms and a warm welcome - for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nottinghilltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Beautiful situated along the beach with a nice swimming pool and friendly personnel. At the time we stayed there, almost three years ago, the little bungalows were clean and AC was available, however the beds had bad springs and we did not sleep too well. Very nice is also the little town which is nearby, which shows you how the local people live, and although they don't have too much material things, the people are friendly and full of joy!

We ate in the little town and not in the resort, so I can not give an opinion of food in the hotel.

Woet Kosters

  • Stayed: April 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busua
20.9 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
131 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
129 reviews
13.1 mi away
Planter's Lodge
Planter's Lodge
#4 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
63 reviews
23.5 mi away
Ankobra Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busua Waves Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busua Waves Resort

Address: Busua, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Western Region > Busua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busua
Price Range: £121 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Busua Waves Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Busua Waves Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Busua Beach Hotel Busua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing