We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Busua Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Busua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Busua Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Busua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Busua Inn is relaxing place to stay but in the centre of Busua activity. The rooms are comfortable and the fusion French and Ghanaian cuisine in the restaurant is excellent. The owners Olivier and Danielle go out of their way to make the visitor feel he/she is among friends. I've been to Busua 3 times, it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    30
    8
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
48
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Namibia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Busua Inn for over a week and the overall feel of the place is that it's pretty average. I am also surprised that no one so far mentioned that there is only saltwater in the bathroom. Given that the area is a high-risk for malaria, we found it quite surprising that there are no mosquito nets in the room - luckily we brought our own! I agree with the previous review - the place is next to the local sewer and smells pretty much every day getting really bad every other day. The staff, esp. a guy called Steven, was very helpful and super friendly - big thumbs up! Although Olivier, the owner, was also helpful regarding organizing our payment (obviously that was in his interest) we did not really have the impression of him being overly friendly and keen to make a connection to people staying at his place. Food in the restaurant is good to very good, but not sure if it is that amazing to justify charging 25-30% more compared to other places on the beach (e.g. lobster at Busua Inn 30 cedi, lobster at Alaska Beach 19 cedi).
This place could be so much more with a little love put back into it e.g. sorting out the wooden panelling on the terrace, renewing the torn-apart cushions for the beach chairs, having a clean in the reception area and around the curio shop etc.
Also ... the monkey living there bit someone while we were there. I also saw it walking into the kitchen once :-( I believe the place would be better off without it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteffiR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had read the reviews on the Busua Inn, and were looking forward to our stay there but were quite disappointed. The only real charm in the place comes from the fact that it is located on a nice and peaceful beach. Also, the friendly and helpful staff helped make the stay agreeable.
Despite what is said in the reviews, the owners weren't friendly, they barely greeted us when we arrived and didn't mind us during our stay.

The room (non A/C) was very basic and quite clean. However, before going to bed, I was horrified to find some hair and brownish stains in the bedsheets. The bathroom lacked maintenance and wasn't alluring. For instance, it was difficult to close its door and there was an old rusted nail lying on the tablet under the mirror. Also, the inn being next to a sewer, you always got a bad smell going and coming to the room.

The food too was not up to the expected standards. Apart from the lobster which was ok, I had some pasta with some tasteless "sauce pistou".

Bottom line: Busua is a really nice and relaxing place but the Busua Inn is clearly overrated and overpriced, more so as the prices of the rooms don't even include breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivbusua, Propriétaire at Busua Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Hello,

I am quite surprised of your review as I don't remember of any complain from you when you were at Busua Inn. Some mistakes may happen but It's good for us to be aware as soon as possible to correct them. Our priority is the welfare of our guests and we are always very pleased to have a talk with them if they want.

Sorry if you did not like our food which is generally appreciated by our guests.

Best regards.

Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here for a week or so to explore the coast and check out the castles. This is place is great, right on the beach, very quiet, nice and friendly locals, food is fresh and delicious. I would love to come here again. The place is owned by a French couple who have retired here, but run by locals who will attend any need you have.
There are a few bars around and the local fisherman will come up and sell you a kilo of lobster for 10 Ghana cedi's which is equivalent to about $10 Australian dollars. BARGAIN of the century, you just ask the cook in the kitchen to cook them or go next door to the bar called ' Sankofa' and they will cook it for you for no charge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lianasante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed in the air-conditioned room that had hot water, and it was great (once the hotel employee figured out how to work the ac). It was supposed to be the room with a terrace overlooking the ocean, but you can't really see the ocean. There are huge trees blocking the view. We didn't sit out there at all. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. It was great that they had a generator, because the town lost power when we were there. The restaurant at the Inn was the highlight of our stay there. It had a huge menu and you can sit right beside the ocean. It's literally on the beach. I would recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Caroline_R_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Busua Inn has a very warm and homely feel about it. The most amazing part is getting to spend time at Ezile Bay, their eco-resort near Akwidae village... simply divine... Take a good book and experience paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
282 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Busua Inn is situated in the small coastal village of Busua in Western Ghana around 5 hours from Accra. Its important to note that Busua is predominantly a fishing village rather than a resort. There is one big hotel which was more or less empty when we visited and more of a backpacker type scene further down the beach with a couple of small guest houses of which Busua Inn is one.

The hotel is right on the beach but has a tree shaded patio so looking from the room you don’t have a clear view of the sea. There are only 4 rooms-- we took one of the large rooms at the front. It had air con but no fan and three windows with good fly screens which let the sea breeze in. The room was very clean but basic and was a good size as was the bathroom which had warm water but a very weak shower. Towels and bedding were crisp and clean. One drawback was there no mosquito nets.

The hotel is right in the middle of local compounds so when you look out expect to sea locals mending nets, cooking over fires and gutting fish. Also expect the smell of the many goats which wander around Ghanaian towns and on a morning the sound of the village awakening. There is a restaurant with about 5 tables which tends to be a quieter option compared to the livelier Black Star surf bar further up the beach which sometimes gets the big speakers out! The food was a bit hit and miss- we had a nice fish dish one night but then the following night I had a beef kebab which was very expensive for what I received.

The beach itself is OK though there are wire barriers to combat erosion and these tend to catch litter so its not the prettiest beach to look at. Also as with other West African beaches there tends to be a bit of rubbish about though its certainly not as bad as some.There is no car parking on site though I was told to try and manouevere onto a wooden plank walkway by the hotel - I declined and parked on some Waste ground a couple of blocks away and the car was fine there. Everyone in Busua seems to know everyone else so I got the impression the village is quite safe. We walked along the beach after dark and never felt threatened.

An unusual element of a stay at Busua Inn is that they have a resident semi wild monkey. She loves to be stroked and sits grooming ladies hair on the patio if allowed. She does try and visit the rooms though so you need to keep doors locked! The monkey lives in the trees around Busua Inn and is free to come and go as she pleases. Contrast that with the chained monkeys at Alaska Inn up the beach -animal lovers should avoid there.The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel seems well run- the staff seem to take a great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel and I couldnt fault them on that.

In summary a nice mid range choice in an authentic fishing village with a friendly laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busua
0.0 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Plus Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planter's Lodge
Planter's Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busua Waves Resort
Busua Waves Resort
#1 of 1 in Busua
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ankobra Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Busua Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Busua Inn

Property: Busua Inn
Address: On the Beach, Busua 1, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Western Region > Busua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Busua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivier and Danielle, a french couple settled in Ghana, welcome you in Busua Inn, on the beach. Our hotel provides 4 ocean view rooms. You can taste our French and African cuisine on the beach front terrace. You can also rest on our breezy terrace of the first floor. In Western region, you can discover a luxurious area. You can also enjoy water sports on one of the most beautiful beaches of Ghana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Busua Hotel Busua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing