We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Ezile Bay Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Busua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ezile Bay Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Owned by a hugely welcoming and lovely French couple, Danielle and Olivier, I cannot rate this place highly enough. Set in one of the most beautiful spots I came across in Ghana, it really is a little piece of paradise. The chalets are clean and beds very comfortable, all with ensuite bathroom - running showers and flushing toilets (a real treat). Some newly built dormitory's are also available for those on a budget.

Danielle has had some great ideas in the kitchen and brings a twist to some more traditional dishes. With access to what is really your own private beach, you can also walk through the palm tree lined property to the back where you can look at the beautiful mangroves. Easy access to Busua if you fancy a day's surfing, or walking distance from Cape 3 points, there is plenty to keep you entertained.

I absolutely adore this place. If you are in Ghana, don't miss out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Definitely the place to go whenever you have a 2/3 days break: farniente in an awesome environment! Simply beautiful.
Far from the city, its technology, its pollution, its noise...
You should try it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SistaHTakoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My last review a few years ago was 'I've found paradise'

Now what do I say?

I had four days away from the world, my phone worked when I felt like walking to the hill on the edge of the bay & e-mails were something to forget about!

Stunning location with more character this time, the whole property is well-kept, the rooms are as they were before, clean, functional & not having power all the time was a bonus from my point of view.

I slept like I'd never slept before, woken by the sound of waves on the beach a few metres from my door. I ate like I was at some 'foodie' restaurant, on the beach with an oil lamp tasting some wonderful dishes prepared by Danielle & her team.

Wandered off to the village Ketakor with Rapido the very soppy dog with me taking my time along the cliff overlooking the next beach & walking back along the beach & up to the promontory to find a group of men having a meeting with lots of smiles.

I will go back again, I doubt I'll be able to find more words to express how amazing this place is; possibly it should be kept a secret from the world!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Ezile Bay Village is a small resort owned by French couple Olivier and Danielle Funfschilling and on Ghana's Western Regional coast not far from the famed Cape Three Points. It is a real bay formed between two promontories projecting into the sea. There are a number of chalets on the property and an open-walled, large restaurant that serves fine dishes. There are tables and chairs at the beachside, affording a really exquisite view of the bay and Akwidaa Village not far away.

The water is lovely and a Boogey board is available for surfing. Portions of the seabed are a little rocky however, so be careful not to stub a toe or otherwise hurt yourself if you go in to bathe. At night, electricity is provided to the chalets by a generator, which runs a fan in your room. There's a shower and flush toilet. The chalets are basically comfortable, not luxurious.

Apart from bathing, you can hike in several directions - up onto a high peninsula with a stunning vista, to Akwidaa, or to the remains of a 17th century German Fort in a forested area beyond Akwidaa. I would also recommend going to Cape Three Points village 8 km away and taking in the view from the working lighthouse, truly one of the most spectacular I've seen anywhere.

Danielle and Olivier will see to your comfort and help you with any questions or concerned. Although my time there was short, I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KweiQuartey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was the second time I have visited Ezile Bay and again it did not dissapoint. The location for this hotel is so secluded and peaceful and the people I met were really lovely. The hotel is near a bustling villege (Akwiida) where you can experience real life in a Ghanaian village first hand. But the location of to hotel is just round the corner in a beautiful cove so the noise of the village will never disurb you as it might in other locations in Ghana. Though the rooms are basic they are priced accordingly and very resonable for what you get in location and service. The French style cuisine with a Ghanaian twist is lovely and the staff are very freindly and eager to help with anything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassylebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I would like to make report especially for Ezile bay village, near Busua (Takoradi), Akwidaa.

Ezile bay is a very good and romantic place to escape city life.

The location is awesome. It’s a beautiful lodge right on a very quiet, safe, and clean small beach in a wonderful bay.

Ezile bay is is a paradisiac eco-lodge. Solar panel provide electricity. Beautiful white sandy beach boasting calm and transparent sea. Comfortable living quarters, bungalows and rooms, amazing landscape, between rain forest and ocean, in a palm-three plantation.

The manager and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Books in different language are available, games and body-board. The next beach Katakor (5mn walk) is a good spot for surfing.
Make sure you take advantage of the wonderful hiking and fishing opportunities, they have big canoe in Ezile. Also, you can visit to the local villages, Katakor, Akwidaa new town and old town.
You could easily spend a day just talking to the locals. The kids are great. Food is very good and tasty, mix of Ghanaian, African with french touch (home made bread, jam with fruits from the garden). I met some really friendly people and enjoyed relaxing, escape by the beach for a few days, along with some of the best food (at the best price), I had during my entire stay in Ghana.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed at Green Turtle Lodge but we walked over to the next bay where this place was hidden away. We had lunch there and the food was brilliant. It was relatively cheap and there was a good selection to be had. The staff are really friendly and the lodge provides comfy chairs to sit back on to relax in the shade of the palm trees. The chairs are a highlight compared to GTL where there are no backs on any of the benches.
They have a small collection of books, all in a foreign language, possibly french. They also have body boards and games. We asked to see the rooms, we were told it was 25 cedis for one night with two single beds. The rooms were very basic and quite dark, but they do some with a shower and there are flushing toilets. Mosquito nets are provided.

From the beach you are surrounded by land on both sides and a view of Akwida village to the left. There is a regular fishing route out of the bay making it a great place to photos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda_lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busua
15.1 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
135 reviews
18.3 mi away
Ankobra Beach Resort
8 mi away
Busua Waves Resort
Busua Waves Resort
#2 of 2 in Busua
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Busua Inn
Busua Inn
#2 of 6 in Busua
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akwidaa Inn
Akwidaa Inn
#1 of 1 in Akwidaa
4 reviews
7.9 mi away
African Rainbow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ezile Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ezile Bay Village

Address: Cape 3 Point road | Akwidaa-Busua, Busua, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Western Region > Busua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Busua
Price Range: £6 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing