We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Tamale, but at a price”
Review of Mariam Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariam Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Tamale B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best in Tamale, but at a price”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here with the wife for a week, on her visit to Africa. I have visited Tamale before and stayed in a guest house, but this time wanted something a bit cleaner, safer and with better food. The Mariam did all of that, and is one of the best hotels in Tamale. Because of that it charges a premium for a service which seems a lot for western standards. I think this is the trend in Ghana, and we found the hotels in Accra to be even more expensive compared to a similar standard one in for example UK. The Mariam restaurant serves clean food, but it is a little bland. I ventured onto the streets a few times and the guinea fowl I tried was really tasty. If you are looking for a safe and clean place to stay and eat, and have family in tow, and if you can afford it this place is for you. If you want to be a bit more adventurous then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

In general hotels in Ghana are not soo good for the money you pay for it but this hotel is definitely not worth the money. USD 105 for a double in a room which seriously needs a renovation. Bathroom is old, matres hard and the rooms are overcrowded. The food in the restaurant is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tamale hotels

Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel costs what you would pay somewhere else for a very decent hotel. The restaurant is maybe better in comparison to others, but still, everything looks and tastes the same. The one morning the buffet breakfast was a total of 2 very cold eggs left in the dish, and some pieces of fruit, and it was way before the buffet ends. it was awful. the rooms are a bit dodgy. The matrass is very hard, and I don't think the bedspread/duvet/something-to-keep-you-warm gets washed very often. BUT I assume it is good for the area and as good as it gets around there, but then don't ask $100, then my opinion might have been different.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Mariam Hotel is located on a road near the corner of Tamale-Bolga & Stadium Roads in Tamale, around 1km north-west from central Tamale. It is signposted from the Tamale-Bolga Road.

The Mariam Hotel has what is probably the best restaurant, and arguably the best rooms in Tamale, and for the town is considered one of it's more upmarket hotels.

Even when I have stayed at other hotels, I have gone to the restaurant at the Mariam Hotel, as they serve the best food in the city. The rooms are very neat, and I would recommend the hotel if you are planning to stay in Tamale & are looking for a hotel that is of good quality, and don't mind spending a little extra.

Room Tip: Because Tamale has a largely Muslim population, the mosques open at dawn for prayer, and this can ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PietroMorrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamale hotels
0.0 mi away
Asempa Lodge
Asempa Lodge
#2 of 19 in Tamale
11 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dawadawa Lodge
Dawadawa Lodge
#1 of 19 in Tamale
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zosimli
Hotel Zosimli
#2 of 18 in Tamale
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ganaa Hotel
Ganaa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tamale
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nim Avenue Hotel
Nim Avenue Hotel
#10 of 18 in Tamale
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariam Hotel

Property: Mariam Hotel
Address: Off Tamale-Navrongo & Stadium Road, Tamale, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Northern Region > Tamale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tamale
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing