We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst impossible! no price quality relationship”
Review of Mariam Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariam Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Tamale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

the hotel is average priced ultra-luxury price $ 80 minimum and $ 120 the same room but its pardes painted another color cleaning missing had a health problem decided to stay in a comfortable hotel with wifi to contact the health insurer that we had in the three days the wifi did not work
the deplorable staf, our trip was cycling with panniers and on arriving at the reception looked down assuming we would not pay those prices
I have pictures to prove your sorry state

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jmallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Mariam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June of 2013 for the first time, though I have stayed in Tamale a number of times in other hotels. When we checked out, the lady I was traveling with was charged in US dollars rather than Ghanaian cedis, which is totally dishonest and unacceptable. I did not realize what had happened until we were on the road and it was too late to correct the situation. Also, be sure to check that the toilet flushes, the door locks work and the AC/fan are in working order. If you are paying 150 cedis for a double room, it is a pricier option but better accommodation than the Catholic Guest House or TICCS (but they are much cheaper). If you are paying US$ 150 per night, you are getting ripped off big time, as we were. However, I do want to make a point of saying the food preparation in their restaurant was really good, and I would certainly go back for the food, though likely not to stay.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre. It is north of town centre, just west of the Bolga highway so relatively...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel have large and well equipped rooms. We were only here for one night and it felt a bit on the expensive side. But as mentioned in other reviews it is one of the best hotels in Tamale. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The rooms are not very spacious but neat and clean. Hot water is available as each room has individual geyser. Room service is also good . Reception staff is very helpful . Wifi works best in this hotel in tamale. Restaurant is very famous and the food is good . You can get both veg and non veg food here . Very hygienic . I think executive rooms are ok . The cost is bit too high as compared to tamale

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Infact i really enjoyed ma stay at hotel Mariam.the environment is wow,summer hut is cool and lovely and their restaurant is no place like home.their rooms are well furnished with sophisticated materials and to crown it all,their services is the best..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airviter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed here during the election period. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. The restaurant is popular and the food portions are large with the Iron Plate the top choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWelshboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here with the wife for a week, on her visit to Africa. I have visited Tamale before and stayed in a guest house, but this time wanted something a bit cleaner, safer and with better food. The Mariam did all of that, and is one of the best hotels in Tamale. Because of that it charges a premium for a service which seems a lot for western standards. I think this is the trend in Ghana, and we found the hotels in Accra to be even more expensive compared to a similar standard one in for example UK. The Mariam restaurant serves clean food, but it is a little bland. I ventured onto the streets a few times and the guinea fowl I tried was really tasty. If you are looking for a safe and clean place to stay and eat, and have family in tow, and if you can afford it this place is for you. If you want to be a bit more adventurous then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamale hotels
4.8 mi away
Ganaa Hotel
Ganaa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tamale
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asempa Lodge
Asempa Lodge
#2 of 19 in Tamale
11 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dawadawa Lodge
Dawadawa Lodge
#1 of 19 in Tamale
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zosimli
Hotel Zosimli
#2 of 19 in Tamale
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nim Avenue Hotel
Nim Avenue Hotel
#10 of 19 in Tamale
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariam Hotel

Address: Off Tamale-Navrongo & Stadium Road, Tamale, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Northern Region > Tamale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tamale
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing