We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to scrambling after lemeurs.”
Review of VOI Amarina resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
VOI Amarina resort
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

A great resort, and total luxury - just what you promised yourself if you ever won the lottery. Ideal way to end a tour with super staff, great comortable rooms and plenty of good food. Well worth the effort to get there and help the local economy at the same time. Dave t

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank davet40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

Only stayed 2 nights, but this hotels is absolute paradise, room by the beach/seaside. Very good dinner one evening. We did a boat trip to the Sakatia island for 1 day, absolute must.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bartnouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Location is perfect ( although it is a bit far from the city center ) and the beach in front of the cottage was really nice. However the restaurant was poor . We were quite surprised that tuna meat ( which is surely given from canned tuna ) has been supplied as appetizer named " Tuna with caviar " ( caviar was also not real caviar )
Other french like dishes at the restaurant was also not so exciting and then rather I recommend you to have pizza.About the room, I strong fee that mosquit net is necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dabdab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I really admired the thought that had gone into making the most of this location using local sustainable materials and employing Malagasy people. The whole setting was an excellent balance of utilizing the natural beauty of the coastline while ensuring that the business of tourism did not intrude or dominate the locale. A very clever, comfortable and sensitively executed concept. We received a really warm welcome there. There was plenty to do and learn about the location. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrica582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Well, where to start!! If there is a better place than this on planet earth then i'd love to see it. Everything about this place is stunning.....the setting, the staff, the food, the rooms. You are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive via speedboat. Everything is thought of and nothing is too much trouble. This place is also special because it supports a local economy and protects the very delicate local eco-systems. I really don't know what to say to do this marvelous place justice. You've just gottta go and see for yourself. Thanks Daniel to you and all your staff>

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crossie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We were the only customers there at the time so were positively spoilt; eating on the beach, having a luxury suite, having hand tailored excursions etc. The staff are just lovely - Julien was the nicest guide and told funny (albeit a bit difficult to understand) stories, Marcello (the manager) made good conversation and Daniel looked after us very well.
The beach is amazing, unspoilt and with minimal deckchairs. Just walking around the site you can easy find chameleons which was nice for me. Excursions to Tanikely and Fanihi make fantastic views and snorkelling - recommended.
I was asked to post that the political situation in Madagascar should NOT put potential tourists off. Apparently the US government is trying to disuade everyone, which is a real shame because to be honest, if you're not staying in Tana for more than a few days there is really no risk. It is very sad to see all the hotels empty and suffering from a lack of clients, so my advice to would-be visitors humming-and-haarring about going is a defiant GO!
You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

From the moment we arrived everything about our stay went above and beyond our expectations. We were met at the beach by one of the hotel managers named Daniel. He was actually in the water to meet our boat. From there we were taken to the reception area where we were given cool towels, snacks and drinks as we waited for our room. We were booked in a regular room but we offered an upgrade to the most amazing oceanfront suite. Upon learning that in had forgotten to pack a swimsuit, and having no shops nearby to purchase one, Daniel offered to send an employee to town to pick one up for me. Not wanting to inconvenience anyone, I declined and then Daniel actually offered to loan me one of his personal suits for my use. Within a couple hours, five suits were in my room to choose from.

The facilities of the hotel were quite impressive. The grounds were immaculately kept. The pool are and the beach were really inviting. On one evening, about a half hour before sunset, we went to the beach in front of our suite for a late afternoon swim. We were almost as far from the main area of the hotel as can be, but within a couple minutes, an employee appeared out of the bushes with cushions for our lounge chairs. I still have no idea where he came from, but again, the service was above and beyond.

Two meals a day were included in our rate and they were among the best meals we had in the country. We were provided several choices to choose from and they were all good. On our last evening we were even given an amazing dinner on the beach. Surrounded by the ocean, flowers, beach and each other the meal was a great ending to our amazing honeymoon trip to Madagascar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
11.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 32 in Nosy Be
461 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
498 reviews
12.4 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Madirokely
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
270 reviews
12.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
219 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#20 of 32 in Nosy Be
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Amarina resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Amarina resort

Address: Amarina Resort Ambohiday | Hell-Ville 207, Nosy Be BP 202, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nosy Be
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range: £89 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Amarina resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwest of Nosy Be in the middle of a tropical park next to the lagoon of Ambohiday, the structure is spread out over 6 hectares of ground and profits from a privileged framework. The hotel is established on the edge of the beautiful long beach Anporaha and the village of the fishermen. Conceived to preserve nature and softness to live so characteristic of Nosy Be, the hotel is the meeting of refinement and authenticity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Amarina Hotel Nosy Be
VOI Amarina Resort Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing