We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge”
Review of Sakatia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakatia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
south africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Sakatia Lodge is one of the best lodges I've ever stayed at! We stayed in the nature bungalows, which are gorgeous little huts under the trees and in the lush gardens. The food is amazing - in 12 nights we never had the same thing twice - and the staff and owners very involved, friendly and accessible.
The island doesn't have electricity, so rooms don't have aircon and there isn't a pool - something to take into consideration if you want to travel during the very hot season. Nosy Sakatia is a beautiful little island with wonderful snorkelling and animals practically on your doorstep.
I would highly recommend Sakatia Lodge to anyone wanting to visit an unspoilt piece of what is fast becoming a commercial holiday destination. The only thing I would recommend - and this has nothing to do with the lodge - is to avoid going to Nosy Komba. It's a tourist trap island where animals are kept in small pens for the tourists' enjoyment. It's a horrible petting zoo that shouldn't be supported at all. Instead, conservation and education efforts should be supported.

Room Tip: Nature bungalow 4 has the most shade, then 3, then 1. Nature 2 gets almost no shade so can get hot q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvdSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    21
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

As said by most, the facilities are great, the staff is fantastic. Sakatia Lodge is a one-stop solution to Nosy Be tourism willing to arrange any excursion. And... they speak English!
Just don't go wandering around on the island alone without a compass!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoPrinsloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I think that the previous reviewers pretty much sum up how awesome Sakatia Lodge and staff are. The staff are friendly, polite, helpful and trustworthy. The facilities are spotless, the food scrumptious and the diving was great. We paddled around the Island, walked over the Island,bobbed around on tubes, drank copious amounts of wine, went for long walks on the pristine beaches. And so I can lament on and on about how wonderful a time we had there - we hope to return again next year with our children and to share our wonderful experience with them

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annettetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Sakatia Lodge is great value and a very friendly, welcoming lodge. The service and food are far better than the lodge's star rating would indicate. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The dive centre is world class and the dive sites nearby are fantastic for recreational divers. Nosy Sakatia - Nosy means island - is a small island off the larger island of Nosy Be on the north east tip of Madagascar. The island can be hiked all over except for the Sacred Mountain nearby the lodge and the locals, though reserved are friendly. Excursions to Nosy Be and nearby islands are easily organised by the lodge for you and offer plenty of variation catering for different tastes. The bungalows are simple but tasteful and well appointed with all the basics one would need except for toiletries. Best to bring your own. The atmosphere in the bar and dining areas is very relaxed and dress code is casual. We felt very relaxed and at home and enjoyed ourselves without feeling like we were imposing in any way.
French, English, Portugese, Afrikaans and Malagasy languages are spoken by the staff.

Room Tip: For families of up to four people the Ocean villa offers the best view of the sea. For couples, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in Nosy Sakatia Lodge and it was the highlight of our honeymoon, the staff are so welcoming and cannot do enough to ensure you enjoy your stay. We have never felt so relaxed as we did here, the rooms are comfortable and the food was the best we had while in madagascar. There are lots of activities to choose from so you can do as little or as much as you like. It's the staff and the relaxed vibe that make this place the perfect island getaway and we can only dream of returning again some time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayray0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from an unforgetable visit to Sakatia Lodge. Our room- an Ocean View room, was great. Comfortable beds and a fan, beautiful local cut- out hand made cotton curtains in front of windows and doors. ( I loved them so much I took a taxi to Hell vile to buy some from the market) Also bought spices- vanilla, peppercorns, saffron, cinnamon, star annis and nutmeg from the food market. While you are there visit the Maki T-shirt shop and have a Three Horses Beer from the pub next to the Maki Shop. And then you need not spend any more time in the hustle and bustle, because Sakatia can't be beaten for tranquility, good food and very good diving! The food is very special, Try the smoked fish platter for lunch and dinners range from a buffet of local dishes to crayfish and prawn platters! We could not wait to see what was on the menu for our dinners and we were never disappointed. The diving was superb- good variety - from a wreck to muck diving where we spotted the pygmy pipe horse...... we saw dolphins and even a whale. Very professional Dive Masters Jacques and "D" made sure everybody had a good and safe diving experience. Good snorkeling around Sacred Mountain. The staff at the resort also needs to be singled out as they are very friendly and honest, we did not need to lock anything away. The only negative aspect in our whole experience was travelling on Air Madagascar! They change their time tables, re- route flights, do not load half a planes luggage, what a disaster!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilse43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Sakatia Lodge is by far the best place I have stayed in all of Madagascar. Let me start with Jacques....he really does go out of his way to make each and every person's experience memorable. You can tell he loves his job and he is extremely good at it. My friend befriended him online prior to our arrival. He knew we were on a budget and actually booked us rooms at a less-fancy, cheaper hut down the beach, with the caveat that we could use the lodge's facilities no problem. There was never a question asked about us hanging around their beach. Furthermore, each and every staff member made us feel welcomed.

I really cannot say enough about this place. It truly is paradise, esp after the hassle and frustrations of Nosy Be. I do not dive, but, per my travel mates, it is not to disappoint.

Thank you Sakatia Lodge for an amazing respite from Nosy Be.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
6.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#8 of 32 in Nosy Be
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#14 of 32 in Nosy Be
84 reviews
5.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakatia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakatia Lodge

Property: Sakatia Lodge
Address: | Private Bag 272, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Nosy Be
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sakatia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sakatia Hotel Nosy Be
Sakatia Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing