We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The owners and staff were lovely and we managed well in a combination of my poor French and their average English.

The dive centre 'Plongee Toukool' they work with was superb.

The place itself is charming, a lovely view, a great bungalow, fab infinity pool and good food. The Wi-Fi worked well, the service was excellent and I loved my stay here.

It's a place for relaxing and the small size of the resort helps that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at Le Grand Bleu in November 2012 and found it ideal for relaxing after exploring Northern Madagascar. It was extremely tranquil and the food excellent. The staff are delightful and are eager to please. An ideal end to my Madagascar adventure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetrotter2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

In November 2012, we stayed for one week at Le Grand Bleu, located at the north-western part of Nosy-Be. The northern part of Nosy-Be is less touristic and less crowded than the southern part of the island, which makes it attractive for tourists who appreciate nature and quiet surroundings. Le Grand Bleu is located at an elevation and the view from the panorama deck and swimming pool over the Befotaka Bay is fantastic.

Our cottage was set in lush green surroundings and had a patio with a sea view. It had a private bathroom and was comfortable enough, but no extreme luxury.

The owners of Le Grand Bleu, Magali and Guillaume, and their staff are doing a good job in making their guests comfortable. They are attentive and responsive to requests and are doing their best to make their guests feel at home.

The food and service at Le Grand Bleu is very good. In the morning, breakfast is served with fresh fruits and fruit juices. At lunch and dinner there is a choice from several dishes which change on a daily basis. The dishes are tasty and are prepared with fresh ingredients. Upon request, personal preferences of the guests are taken into account. We had most of our lunches and dinners in the restaurant of Le Grand Bleu and only once dined out during a trip to Hell-Ville.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

To begin with the positives, I was picked up by Le Grand Bleu's driver upon my arrival at the airport and brought directly to accommodation. I was greeted by Magali at the reception and provided with a cool towel and drink, before being shown to my room. The bungalow itself was fine, comfortable and clean. The view overlooking the ocean was also very beautiful. My principal grievances with this place centred about the atmosphere, at times it felt far more business-like than hospitable. This was more notable with Guillaume, who on the face of it was not very friendly. While the facilities are good, prices (especially food) at 39000 Ar for the evening meal, are expensive. When it was time to leave after four days, I felt happy to go.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
6  Thank backpaquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nosybegb, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

hello, I'm the one who has not a face nice (guillaume), so if I translate all your criticism were very good except the food a bit expensive (39 000 Ariary = 13.50 euro) but it is not especially my face nice that you do not like my attitude but but not my face. that it is the right lol you know it must respond politely on this site but if you know what I want to say "good continuations" hoping never to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Spent already 2 fishing hollidays there. Guillaume never lets you down. Wonderful 2 to 3 day trips on catamaran with all you need. Food, bed, shower and ....... FISH. The different species you can catch in one trip is awesome. Red carp, grouper, sail, tunny, dog tooth tuna, GT, shark (not my favorite), marlin and many other all in the course of one day and night.
In one word : a must have done.
Nearby you find wonderful restaurants on the beach (Chez LouLou, the perfect lunch buffet) not to mention the crazy night life in Ambataloaka ....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The rooms are well located and spacious, though it was the family service that stood out as our highlight. Guilliame and his wife clearly care very much about the quality of their guests' holidays. We stayed for four days in October. We were keen to have a private balcony and sea view, and despite a fully booked hotel on our first night, we were soon moved from a bungalow with a shared balcony to "Le Petit Bleu" to accommodate our request (which was an upgrade, and very generous of the owners.) The pool area is delightful, approx 10 bungalows meant that it was rarely crowded for our stay and the excursions were well regarded by those that took them. (We did not, finding Andilana and the deserted/delightful local beach plenty of entertainment.) The food was good, and apart from a couple of trips into town we were happy to eat here almost every night of our stay. Highly recommended for an peaceful, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cullen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Grand Bleu for four days earlier this month. We found the hotel to be excellent by Madagascar standards but not quite as amazing as all the reviews made it sound. This is not exactly a resort. Now, that out of the way, we really enjoyed our time there. We stayed in a bungalow with a nice view of the ocean. The bungalow was apparently designed for a family, with a master bed (queen) and three twin-size beds, all with mosquito netting. We shared a very large patio with the next-door bungalow, but the patio had a big tree in the middle and we didn't feel like it invaded our privacy. We had a hammock and two deck chairs, perfect for watching the sun set over the ocean. The bathroom was clean and modern, with a hot shower, though the toilet was located in a closet adjacent to the room (and didn't have a seat!). Our room also had air conditioning for evenings only (not sure why), but it didn't quite get hot enough in October to need it.
The main building of the hotel includes the restaurant, a casual seating area with comfy chairs, the pool & jacuzzi with poolside lounge chairs, and the management offices. The managers / owners are a husband and wife team. They are French but they speak good English, especially the wife. They were both very friendly and helpful for any of our needs. The pool was "infinity" style, meaning that most of one wall was level with the water and allowed for perfect views of the ocean from within the pool (see photos). It was a salt water pool but otherwise comparable or better than any other hotel pool. The restaurant was very good, though I wish there were a few more options for breakfast. The option were essentially bread with jam, fruit, an omelette, and a fruit salad. However this was very common in Madagascar. Lunch and dinner had the same menu, with starter, entree, dinner, and dessert options. We could order one course from each for about $20, or just pick and choose for around $5 per plate. Most meals were meat and veggies or meat and rice based. I didn't see any vegetarian-designed options but I'm sure the kitchen would at least provide a plate of grilled veggies. They had decent beer and wine selections too.
The hotel also organized excursions around the island. They included options to take quads up the "mountain" to get 360 degree views, snorkeling for a day, boat trips to other islands, and scuba diving. For about 40 euros per person we got a full day of snorkeling plus lunch, so a pretty good deal.
The only real downside to this hotel was the location in respect to the rest of the island. It was at least a 20 minute drive from anywhere (bank, market, pharmacy) and taxis weren't cheap ($30 round trip to the main city). Despite the remoteness, it was situated directly up the hill from a small village, so there was some threat of burglary without the upside of city services. Indeed, the first night we had a scare when someone with a flash light repeatedly jiggled our locked patio door. The owners later assured us it was a security guard, but I'm not so sure. However, the risk of theft is very small (the rooms have safes too) and the remoteness of the hotel is probably a big plus for some people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
8.7 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#14 of 32 in Nosy Be
278 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
8.2 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
464 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Arc en Ciel
Hotel Arc en Ciel
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu

Address: Andilana | Bp 407, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nosy Be
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range: £31 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Bleu 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elected N° 2 of all hotels in MADAGASCAR with the Travelers' Choice 2017, Le Grand Bleu ** is the best value. The restaurant "The Turquoise" overlooks the 15 bungalows comfort, family, hikers and villa, which have the panoramic view of the sea; The bungalows hikers with the view on the tropical garden. Each bungalow offers 1 double bed, the family 2 bedrooms with 5 beds; They are ventilated or air conditioned with supp, with mosquito nets, shower hot water, WC and mini bar, mini safe for your safety, terrace with deckchair and hammock, very good comfort, renovated every year, woodwork and a nice decoration. A beautiful infinity pool with a panoramic view over the bay of the peninsula of Andilana awaits you and we can offer you all the excursions to do on the island as well as the archipelago: Nosy Komba, Tanikely, Iranja, Sakatia , Fanihy, Mont Passot, Radama, Mitsio Islands etc. Jacques and Céline also offer various activities: mountain biking, quad biking, kayaking, massage, diving, fishing ... Price of a hiker bungalow: from 30 euros per night for 2 people by booking directly. A restaurant that serves traditional and European cuisine, fish, seafood ... What a pleasant stay and retain many happy memories ... ... The only thing you will regret leaving this little paradise! They succumbed to the charm of this tropical paradise Nosy Be, so ... Why not you? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Grand Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing