We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and best food of our whole holiday”
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are staying in Nosy Be and want lovely bungalows and wonderful food in a beautiful setting, this is the place for you. We stayed for a week during our honeymoon and every night we ate in the restaurant, which has an incredible combination of Malagasy/French cuisine - crabs, prawns, local fish, zebu steaks - everything is delicious and brilliantly cooked. We also ate lunch there most days as the view is very hard to tear yourself away from - looking out over the infinity pool across the bay with only a small stretch of forest between you and the beach. (There's a path through the forest from which you can access the beach, and from there walk round to other bays at low tide). The rooms are lovely - we stayed in number 3 which had a lovely view and private hammock on the balcony - although we spent very little time in the room as the main terrace is the place to be during the day and in the evening.

The owners Celine and Jacques are both wonderful and help in every way possible. French is definitely the main language here, but Celine's English is excellent and Jacques' is better than he thinks (and his pantomimes are brilliant as well). They also have a lovely cat called Gnafron (I think that's right!) whose tiny kittens Jacques was happy for us to play with, and a wonderful dog, Icar, both of whom are very friendly with guests.

We went on one of the recommended excursions, to Nosy Sakatia, which was a wonderful day including swimming with giant turtles in a bay where they all gather to feed, hiking across the island with a French speaking guide (putting our language skills to the test!) and enjoying a wonderful barbecue lunch cooked on the beach for us. Definitely recommended!

All in all, Le Grand Bleu was a fantastic start to our honeymoon in Nosy Be, made all the more perfect because of the wonderful staff, the fabulous food, and the unbeatable views. Stunning.

Room Tip: Bungalow 3 was great and has a wonderful view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Run by the attentive and charming French owners, Le Grand Bleu has excellent views, nice rooms, well run excursions and very good food.

I stayed in one of the basic rooms which was well decorated and comfortable. Though it feels and sounds like the mosquito net is the only thing separating you from the surrounding forest (I think the other rooms benefited from concrete walls and air conditioning).

It's well set up for couples staying in Nosy-Be for their whole holiday but I stayed there for a couple of nights of luxury during what was otherwise a tough independent travel around Northern Madagascar. It feels a lot more cosy than a large hotel/resort and benefits from the spectacular location and friendly owners.

The hotel is also doing more than it's fair share in terms of contributing to the local community - with a large number of locals helping out in various roles.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine D, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Brendan,
Merci beaucoup pour votre petit mot laissé sur TRIPADVISOR. Mais il est vrai que nous n'avons qu'un seul objectif lequel étant de satisfaire au mieux nos clients, tant au niveau de l'accueil, de la convivialité tout en respect de l'intimité, de la qualité de la restauration et du service, de l'entretien des bungalows et du parc, de l'écoute des demandes de nos clients etc...
Ainsi, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez pu apprécier cet ensemble ainsi qu'avoir pu admirer, il est vrai, nos 2 superbes vues panoramiques du restaurant ; j'ai cité les îles de SAKATIA et NOSY FANIHY !
Vous pouvez revenir quand vous voulez ! Au grand plaisir !
Très bonne continuation et bien cordialement,
CELINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

my partner and I spent 4 nights at "Le grand Bleu" in May 2014. After a nice tour in Western Madagascar, it was a very nice and relaxing ending of our vacation. The room was really cute with private hammock and an awesome view of the sea.
We had dinner there twice and both times the food was nicely served and very good. The owner Celine and Jacques are extremely nice, friendly and would do everything to make you enjoy your stay at their Big Blue !

Room Tip: we were there at low season .. we just called and then went there to check out the rooms .. we felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine D, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Michela et Günther ! Bonjour l'Italie et L'Autriche !

Nous sommes ravis que le GRAND BLEU vous ait apporté ce bonheur de détente et ait pu vous offrir son magnifique paysage !
Il nous a été très agréable de vous recevoir car vous êtes vraiment charmants !
Autrement, tout se passe bien ici et les petits chatons grandissent peu à peu !!

Bien cordialement et très bonne continuation
CELINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For my partner and I, our experience staying at Le Grand Bleu was amazing! The owners Celine and Jack were very accommodating and friendly. As nosy be is generally French speaking we were appreciative of the efforts made to help us communicate, really made a difference to our stay.

As for the resort itself, the bungalows are beautiful, lovely pool with stunning views, an amazing restaurant (really really tasty!), and fantastic very attentive staff. So good that we extended our stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine D, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Quel bonheur d'apprendre que nos clients aient pu partir avec des belles images du GRAND BLEU ! En effet, vous avez pu apprécier notre petit paradis : les 2 magnifiques et imprenables vues, les bungalows entièrement rénovés, l'excellente cuisine de MARTIN et CHEFFY, notre piscine à débordement etc...;
Revenez quand vous voulez ! Ce sera toujours avec un immense plaisir de vous accueillir !

Avec notre meilleur souvenir
CELINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My partner and I stayed at Le Grand Bleu for 12 days in April 2014. From the onset, Celine and Jacques provided us with all of the support that we required in order to avoid logistical problems. They were patient, friendly and always available for us, both before and during our stay. The couple are truly warm, friendly and honest people. It was a pleasure getting to know them. As for the property, our bungalow was extremely clean, safe and had a wonderful view of the ocean. The pool and lounge area are also very well kept. The food was also excellent. We did venture out to eat in a number of other places, but felt equally excited to stay at the Grand Bleu for dinner. I would highly recommend this property and will certainly be back with my family in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Croate80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine D, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour La Croatie et Bonjour L'Italie !

Nous gardons un excellent souvenir de votre passage ! Nous gardons en tête, entre autres, votre très agréable compagnie mais également les recettes de cuisine croates ; ainsi, si vous revenez un jour, nous demanderons à MARTIN et à CHEFFY de vous les préparer ! (après les ravioles en entrée !!)
Revenez quand vous voulez ! Ce sera toujours avec le même plaisir que nous vous accueillerons.
Et à cette occasion, vous pourrez voir la nouvelle boutique terminée !
Avec toutes nos amitiés

CELINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for seven nights during our honey moon and had a lovely stay. Our room was private, clean and beautiful with amazing sea view. The owners were very helpful and friendly and the infinity pool was excellent. The food in the restaurant was good and we especially enjoyed the home made ice-cream. Perfect place in a wonderful island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine D, Propriétaire at Le Grand Bleu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello Kipperi,

Thank you for your message.

It was a pleasure to welcome you one week Grand Bleu ** for your Honeymoon.
Who knows? Certainly again pleased to welcome you to 2 or 3 or 4 next time (lol).

Tropicalement Celine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Celine and Jacques were amazing, there had been some disrupt in Nosy Be only a few days ago, they explained and informed us of the precautions they had taken and we felt very safe. We luckily had Petit Bleu, which was a beautiful little house with two different sea views. The food was brilliant, setting was brilliant, and they were so helpful. We looked at a few p,aces around Nosy Be and I definitely think we got a the best value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
4.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#10 of 31 in Nosy Be
291 reviews
8.7 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#12 of 31 in Nosy Be
226 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#18 of 31 in Nosy Be
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#17 of 31 in Nosy Be
104 reviews
4.3 mi away
VOI Amarina resort
VOI Amarina resort
#3 of 31 in Nosy Be
1,035 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu

Address: Andilana | Bp 407, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nosy Be
#3 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range: £32 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Bleu 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elected N° 2 of all hotels in MADAGASCAR with the Travelers' Choice 2017, Le Grand Bleu ** is the best value. The restaurant "The Turquoise" overlooks the 15 bungalows comfort, family, hikers and villa, which have the panoramic view of the sea; The bungalows hikers with the view on the tropical garden. Each bungalow offers 1 double bed, the family 2 bedrooms with 5 beds; They are ventilated or air conditioned with supp, with mosquito nets, shower hot water, WC and mini bar, mini safe for your safety, terrace with deckchair and hammock, very good comfort, renovated every year, woodwork and a nice decoration. A beautiful infinity pool with a panoramic view over the bay of the peninsula of Andilana awaits you and we can offer you all the excursions to do on the island as well as the archipelago: Nosy Komba, Tanikely, Iranja, Sakatia , Fanihy, Mont Passot, Radama, Mitsio Islands etc. Jacques and Céline also offer various activities: mountain biking, quad biking, kayaking, massage, diving, fishing ... Price of a hiker bungalow: from 30 euros per night for 2 people by booking directly. A restaurant that serves traditional and European cuisine, fish, seafood ... What a pleasant stay and retain many happy memories ... ... The only thing you will regret leaving this little paradise! They succumbed to the charm of this tropical paradise Nosy Be, so ... Why not you? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Grand Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing