We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST VALUE FOR MONEY IN NOSY BE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine Manga Be

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine Manga Be
Nosy Be, Madagascar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST VALUE FOR MONEY IN NOSY BE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

After reading previous reviews we did hesitate before going there, but we were assured power problems were a thing of the past, apparently a new generator has been installed for near-on a year now !! We were there in October 2012 & stayed for two weeks. We moved around after that to other spots, but must say that Manga Be was by far the best place we tried. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, the spot wonderful, the food very good & the staff delightful. Power cuts in Madagascar are frequent everywhere, but we experienced no inconvenience at Manga Be. Of the four places we used during our trip Manga Be was by far the best value for money as well as being the nicest place. Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Difficult to say, Manga Be is like a residential village, full of charm, no room really identical to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We would like to send a special thank you to you and your staff at Manga Be the great hospitality shown on our numerous stays at your resort. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff friendly and the restaurant offering lovely food and sea views. It is great to know that you have overcome the electricity outages with the new generator being installed. See you in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuddy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Truly it's like Fawlty Towers here. It's a shame as the rooms were a good size and pleasant, but so many non working items. Power an issue as per previous reviewer and service was the typical Gallic shrug. Personally I also did not find the location great, too far from other eating options and the food was just passable when someone deigned to serve you.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

A resort on a quiet beach, away from the hustle of the busier towns of Nosy Be.

The rooms and large and bright and promise much by Madagascan standards - air-con, in-room tea/coffee, 24 electric. Unfortunately, looks can be deceiving - there was a power cut every day and the resort had no generator, therefore, guests are charged mid-high end prices yet the resort delivers nothing in terms of service because they don't even have a back up generator - we had no electricity for our entire stay and the rooms were sweltering.

The resort of this nature, in this country and in this price category simply must have a back up generator, there are no excuses.

The restuarant had quite an international feel to its menu, with dishes from several Indian Ocean islands. However, we required vegetarian food and there were just 3 options - a hopeless offering for an isolated resort, with no other dining options in sight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
1.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nosy Be Hotel
Nosy Be Hotel
#18 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Madirokely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Manga Be? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Manga Be

Property: Domaine Manga Be
Address: Ambondroma, Nosy Be, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Nosy Be
Also Known As:
Domaine Manga Be Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing