We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation!”
Review of Vanila Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation!”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I was really impressed by the service, cleanliness & decor of the rooms, food and attitude of the staff. Marc the F&B manager took us under his wing to welcome us in English and make sure our group of 10 had a superb stay. The Ocean rooms on the upper level, where we stayed were beautifully decorated and the little "Malagasy spices" gift in the room was very well thought out. The new spa is beautifully done and adds to the whole experience. The braekfast and dinner we had, was a huge selection from a buffet and there was ample choice to suit all tastes...We all thought it was well worth staying there!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebzO07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    94
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
57
120
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This place is ideal for honeymoons. The location (overlooking the Indian Ocean), the resport (beautiful Polynesian wooden buildings, gorgeous landscaping, several infinity pools, several bars, a gorgeous restaurant) and the rooms (spacious, well decorated and very comfortable) all make for an ideal honeymoon resort. The place really does take your breath away.

However, it has some odd qualities to it. It's in the middle of nowhere - the nearest town is a 20 minute drive. The hotel takes Visa cards but the excursions and bike rental do not so make sure you have cash before you get here. The staff are very helpful but most have little or no English. They make some effort to understand and then give up which can be a little frustrating (but understandable - most of their guests spoke French).

The restaurant staff are very helpful and very friendly but totally chaotic. Almost every night, they got some part of our order wrong - drinks, sides, main courses, deserts. The food is so tasty though that I found it hard to care. The only thing that really disturbed me was the abundance of flies in the (open-air) restaurant at breakfast and lunch. They were everywhere, landing on the food and cutlery and constantly trying to eat your food faster than you. Perhaps this is a cultural thing (the other guests didn't seem to mind) but we spent both meals swatting them away until we got too annoyed and left.

We were there in Oct 2010 which is very much an off-peak time so most of the advertised facilities weren't open or only opened for a few hours a day. All the pools were available but the grill and 3 of the bars (including the bar built into one of the pools) were closed. Internet access is provided between 2 and 10 but it's so slow it's not worth using.

Lastly, the rooms are beautiful and almost totally faultless. They have air vents into the bathroom so you can be woken quite early by staff and guests talking and working outside. The housekeeping staff also start servicing the rooms quite early (about 8.30am) so you'll need to put the Do Not Disturb sign up the night before if you're not getting up early.
Overall, I probably would recommend it but with some reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Food poor and very pricey, and hotel isn't near anywhere else to eat. Every lunch for 6 days consisted of the same garlic fried vegetables, potatoes and rice served with each dish. In the end you find yourself eating because you're hungry, not because the food is good. Budget for €140 a day in all.
Pools lovely, but beach is rocky and shallow - no good for swimming.
Get a taxi from the airport - the minibus they arrange to pick you up in is 3X the price (for 2 of you) and when we wanted to discuss items on the bill with the manager, both him and all his assistants were "not available" For 2 days. Lastly, could not pay by credit card (a bill of about €800) so was expected to go all the way into town, draw out the cash, and pay in local currency! Their prices were in US$, and the exchange rate they used to calculate the price in local currency was very biased in their favour. Not the service you'd expect from anywhere but the poorest quality of hotels!
I am sure there are nicer places in Nosy Be where they welcome you, not your wallet. I won't be going back, that is for sure.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The feeling your were being milked for as much cash as you had.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan_Dooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Wonderful resort on the tropical island of Nosy Be, probably the best hotel on the island. This is a beautifully landscaped beach resort with gentle breezes and gorgeous views. The staff is terrific - they are very responsive to the every need of the guest. Food is great and there are two restaurants to select from. And, all of the services you might need are available there.

  • Liked — The fabulous location
  • Disliked — Internet was slow
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GinnyLom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

It is a very elegant hotel on the beautiful isle of Nosi Be.
Rooms are well equiped, new and clean. It has 2 nice pools and eveything is very well kept.
The resurant à la carte is very good. On the contrary, the one with the buffet is a bit disappointing.
Unfortunately the beach nearby is not particularly nice.
So, considering the fairly high pirce paid, I'd probably go to another hotel which is closer to a beautiful beach.

  • Liked — The elegance and the comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — the beach
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

A perfect oasis of calm. Following our stay in Tana we arrived here looking to relax a bit more....which we did in abundance. From the pick-up at the airport with garlands, to the drink at the arrival to the amazing views, 10 days very well spent. The rooms (the ones with the balconies) were excellent, spacious and clean and fairly quiet. The walls are fairly thin so thankfully we were leaving not long after a group of Italian school kids arrived towards the end of our stay. Situated on the beachfront, so a short walk to the sea if you feel the need to leave the perfectly good pools. Pool side bars, the Planteur being my favourite, were good and tasty nuts..Good excursions offered at reasonable prices. Sound bikes to hire also, which were useful to ride up the mountain at midday.....Reccomended.

  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you know how the harbour works...
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2005

After 3 days at the north of madagascar, sleeping in the nature reservers, we arrived to the Vanila hotel. From the first moment , when we found on the bed a gift box with a collection of Madagascar spices inside, and smelled the good odor of the room we knew that we in the right place.
The room, the gardens, atmosphere around, staff, and the French menu (we don't understand a word) were excellent. the 2 days on the beach with the turquoise water and the Coconut trees will be unforgettable for us.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank motidolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
4.2 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#9 of 32 in Nosy Be
202 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
80 reviews
10.8 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#14 of 32 in Nosy Be
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nosy Be Hotel
Nosy Be Hotel
#18 of 32 in Nosy Be
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanila Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanila Hotel & Spa

Property: Vanila Hotel & Spa
Address: Route de L'Ouste, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanila Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanila Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanila Hotel And Spa
Vanila Hotel Nosy Be
Vanila Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing