We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little paradise”
Review of Nosy Be Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nosy Be Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

nice and cosy, very freindly staff, and real africa. the beach is not the best, but you will not regret because with a sail trip you are in all little islands.
We spent over 10 beautiful days, and had lots of adventure.
we will return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elma R, Owner at Nosy Be Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

We would like than all our guest will find the Nosy be Hotel like a little paradise. thank you and happy New year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

I must say in agreement with "Donnerica" who reviewed on April 4th, having read the reviews on this hotel we very nearly didn't go but, I am so glad we did! Personally I thought it was fantastic.

Due to a delayed flights we only ended up checking it at 23:30 at night and due to previous reviews we weren't expecting any food. However upon arrival at our bungalow the table outside was neatly set with our dinner waiting inside and the necessary condiments in the fridge. (I am aware that maybe not everyone who reviewed booked in as half board ie breakfast and dinner included which is maybe why no other food was available for late arrival). We however had a great first 3 course meal at almost midnight!

We stayed there for 3 nights and did not have one bad experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. They assisted in organising a 360 tour of Nosy Be as well as renting a canoe to paddle around in. We even indulged in a full body massage one day, admittedly overpriced but fantastic none the less! As for the food, we didn't have one bad meal and didn't get food poisening once (which I see featured in a lot of previous reviews). Breakfast was buffet and consisted of bread (clearly a staple part of every meal), a large selection of fresh fruits and then a selection of pastrys and pancakes. At breakfast you select what you would like for dinner. The dinner options varied every night so it was a fairly large selction to choose from. My only negative here was that if you wanted to have crayfish/lobster in particular you would have to pay extra.

All in all we had a very good experience here :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten_Sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We were nearly put off by the previous reviews but because of weather in Madagascar, in March, we decided to go to the North and take a chance on both. Well, nothing could have been better from the time we arrived (very late to a 3 course meal including fresh crab, waiting for us) It is now our little secret hideaway in paradise. Nobody could have done more for us. The owner Veloma was amazing. Our sea facing rooms were the best. The staff were so willing and tried so hard. There was loads to do. We loved every minute of being there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elma R, Owner at Nosy Be Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

TYhank you an happy new year from all my staff. Elma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The hotel is set in a lovely tropical setting with a pool although the water was usually cloudy. The rooms are fairly large and clean although the furniture is outdated. A mosquito net is provided and this is an essential item if you don't want to end up being bitten. The food is standard hotel set fare and outside set meal times there is no service or snack food available. If you want a drink you have to fetch it yourself. Washing up of dirty plates is done in full view of diners and is unhygenic resulting in my wife getting a severe dose of food poisoning and being confined to bed for 3 days. Sand fleas are a nuisance and we both got bitten by hundreds of them even though we sat on the pool loungers. Hotel staff were uncaring and just ignored our complaints. Unfortunately Madagascar has a general problem in that the current political upheaval has resulted in low occupancies in the hotels which in turn has caused the hotels to downscale on staff
which has resulted in poor service. Would suggest that travellers avoid this island until things have been sorted out politically.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharksSupporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We spent the evening at the Nosy Be Hotel with our stunning host Elma Ross. We were treated to welcome drinks on the beach followed by a site inspection and dinner.

Nosy Be Hotel http://www.unusualdestinations.com/madagascar/itineraries/article/1254/it06-g-madag.html

Awesome property, with all the comforts you would expect from a 4 – 5 star hotel. Although I was surprised that the hotel only has a 3 star grading. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and no attention to detail lacks. There is a boat house for the diving fanatics and every evening bookings are taken for the next days excursions, etc. The beach is well kept and from 06:00 in the morning the team is already raking the beach and ensuring that guests have the best possible ‘beach’ experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unusualdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We have just returned from a one month trip from Madagascar where we stayed in many high standard hotels such as in the Masoandro Lodge in Sainte Marie or the Grand Hotel of Diego Suarez (two real three stars hotel) and we finished in the Nosy Be Hotel.

The setting is nice with its tropical garden. You can enjoy a nice sunset every end of the day from the hotel. The rooms are well decorated altough some furniture are old. There is a small swimming pool with a doubtful colour (it is not deep but you cannot see the bottom of it despite the sunny days ???). As for the beach in the very surrounding of the hotel, it is dirty in some area. The sea is very shallow.

Two other things to be aware of:
- The food and services are poor. I noticed that a lot of meal are recycled from the leftover, yo can taste and smell it. There is not a lot of choice. And when the dishes are served, there is no style or research in the presentation. If it fresh it tasted ok but that is all compared to the delicious cuisine of the best chef malagasy in the Grand Hotel of Diego Suarez for instance.
About the service, most of the people who worked there are hired for the season only (which is normal). The thing is, there were not trained for a three stars hotel especially in the restaurant. We noticed that, unlike the other people we met in the main island they were quite unhappy in their job as they were stressed and scared "to death" of their lady boss !!! The real problem is that everything is awfully expensive for the service you get!
- The second point is that the rooms, bungalow or suites are in Euros. You will be told that you can pay with a visa card. But once you get there, they pretend to have a problem with their machine. Actually, it is a trick to force you to pay in the local money. the problem is that they do not use the official bank rate but their own one which is too high !! It is illegal too. That's where the con is!!! It is more interesting for them. Therefore we had to go downtown with a taxi payed by us to get some cash. The cash withdrawal are limited to a certain amount, which forces you to do several withdrawl (fortunately we had 3 visas cards) and each transaction cost around 7 or 8 euros. It is a VERY DISHONEST PROCEDURES.

To conclude: not the best place to go !!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank rainlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

A group of us stayed at this hotel for Christmas last year. Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms and gardens BUT the beach is not really a beach and full of roaming dogs which attacked my son when he was running one morning. The food was very limited and most of us got food poisoning which lasted for most of our stay so we ended drinking bottled drinks without ice and eating bread. The local staff were charming and could not have been kinder but the management were totally disinterested particularly the owner who was hardly ever there. The excursion to Nosy Kombe to see the tame lemurs was very depressing. All in all rather disappointing - an expensive holiday from the UK though we all lost weight.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
3.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 31 in Nosy Be
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 31 in Nosy Be
224 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 31 in Nosy Be
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#18 of 31 in Nosy Be
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Nosy Be
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosy Be Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosy Be Hotel

Address: Bp 209 | Hell Ville, Nosy Be 0207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nosy Be
#7 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range: £86 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nosy Be Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Nosy Be Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosy Be Hotel Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing