We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nosy Be Hotel July 2009”
Review of Nosy Be Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nosy Be Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nosy Be Hotel July 2009”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We spent the evening at the Nosy Be Hotel with our stunning host Elma Ross. We were treated to welcome drinks on the beach followed by a site inspection and dinner.

Nosy Be Hotel http://www.unusualdestinations.com/madagascar/itineraries/article/1254/it06-g-madag.html

Awesome property, with all the comforts you would expect from a 4 – 5 star hotel. Although I was surprised that the hotel only has a 3 star grading. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and no attention to detail lacks. There is a boat house for the diving fanatics and every evening bookings are taken for the next days excursions, etc. The beach is well kept and from 06:00 in the morning the team is already raking the beach and ensuring that guests have the best possible ‘beach’ experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unusualdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    54
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
22
86
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We have just returned from a one month trip from Madagascar where we stayed in many high standard hotels such as in the Masoandro Lodge in Sainte Marie or the Grand Hotel of Diego Suarez (two real three stars hotel) and we finished in the Nosy Be Hotel.

The setting is nice with its tropical garden. You can enjoy a nice sunset every end of the day from the hotel. The rooms are well decorated altough some furniture are old. There is a small swimming pool with a doubtful colour (it is not deep but you cannot see the bottom of it despite the sunny days ???). As for the beach in the very surrounding of the hotel, it is dirty in some area. The sea is very shallow.

Two other things to be aware of:
- The food and services are poor. I noticed that a lot of meal are recycled from the leftover, yo can taste and smell it. There is not a lot of choice. And when the dishes are served, there is no style or research in the presentation. If it fresh it tasted ok but that is all compared to the delicious cuisine of the best chef malagasy in the Grand Hotel of Diego Suarez for instance.
About the service, most of the people who worked there are hired for the season only (which is normal). The thing is, there were not trained for a three stars hotel especially in the restaurant. We noticed that, unlike the other people we met in the main island they were quite unhappy in their job as they were stressed and scared "to death" of their lady boss !!! The real problem is that everything is awfully expensive for the service you get!
- The second point is that the rooms, bungalow or suites are in Euros. You will be told that you can pay with a visa card. But once you get there, they pretend to have a problem with their machine. Actually, it is a trick to force you to pay in the local money. the problem is that they do not use the official bank rate but their own one which is too high !! It is illegal too. That's where the con is!!! It is more interesting for them. Therefore we had to go downtown with a taxi payed by us to get some cash. The cash withdrawal are limited to a certain amount, which forces you to do several withdrawl (fortunately we had 3 visas cards) and each transaction cost around 7 or 8 euros. It is a VERY DISHONEST PROCEDURES.

To conclude: not the best place to go !!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank rainlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

A group of us stayed at this hotel for Christmas last year. Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms and gardens BUT the beach is not really a beach and full of roaming dogs which attacked my son when he was running one morning. The food was very limited and most of us got food poisoning which lasted for most of our stay so we ended drinking bottled drinks without ice and eating bread. The local staff were charming and could not have been kinder but the management were totally disinterested particularly the owner who was hardly ever there. The excursion to Nosy Kombe to see the tame lemurs was very depressing. All in all rather disappointing - an expensive holiday from the UK though we all lost weight.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2008

I've just got back from the Nosy Be hotel where we spent our honeymoon.
It's a beautiful hotel with nice rooms, a great pool and despite what the other reviews have said, a pretty great beach.

HOWEVER...

-We reserved a bungalow and instead were given a standard room which the hotel insisted was a bungalow despite not being nearly the same size as the other bungalows there.

-On the second day my mobile phone was stolen from inside my room. It could only have been stolen by the maids but the hotel refused to take any responsibility whatsoever.

-My wife and I both got food poisoning that left us confined to our room for over half the holiday. We only ever ate at the hotel's restaurant.

-The drinks served at the bar seemed very unhyghgenic - there being dirt covering the bottles.

-The restaurant menu is very limited (if you don't like seafood or are unwilling to get food poisoning, you're going to starve... Like we did for three days.
They don't offer any kind of snacks either.

-The electricity was constantly failing... This was not a regional problem as the lights from the other hotels along the beach remained on during these blackouts. Moreover, so was the internet and the Visa machine.

-The drinks were vastly over-priced

-While the bathroom was nice our toilet was disgraceful- the toilet seat was stained with urine.

Despite all these problems, it really is a beautiful hotel and you'll never find a beach that empty anywhere in Europe. If you are planning to stay there, make sure you check out the menu before you go... and bring a few tins of beans with you just in case!

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — Thieving maids, very poor menu, unclean food and drink
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ntmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cape
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

My family and I went to the Nosy Be Hotel, and I was very impressed. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly, they don't understand much english, so comunication was 1 of 2 problems. The other thing is the beach; it can't be called a beach, because there aren't any waves. It is actually just sea that pulls back 1km in the morning and comes back in the afternoon, it isn't very deep and you can walk across to the island that's across on low tide. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, even the food was well prepared and the hotel uses every natural resourse possible, which was inspiring. The excursions was great, my favourite was Nosy Tanikely, an island to go snorkling. Overall the hotel is top class and can compete with most hotels in Mauritius!

  • Liked — The food, which was well prepared and delicious.
  • Disliked — The fact that the staff doesn't understand english
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CyberTraveller1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed at the Nosy Be Hotel in December and it is truly a beautiful and clean hotel - very quaint with lovely Malagasy staff. However, my bags never made it on the flight to Madagascar so I was bagless for the total duration of my stay in Madagascar. I tried several times to contact the airline, but it was difficult as the owner of the hotel (a French lady) showed absolutely no interest whatsoever in helping me at all. It was only when another French lady showed up on the Wednesday, did things change at the hotel. The new lady helped me to find my bag (and even though we didn't find it, she tried very hard), the beer was suddenly colder, even the owner lady came to ask me how my food was at dinner! I will definitely go back to the hotel again in the future, but for a short stay. The beach is terrible, the owner not too friendly and helpful, but the rest of the staff were wonderful!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank genetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Beautiful hotel with tropical gardens. Remote from villages accessible by taxi. Food and drinks in hotel very expensive. Restaurant menu little choice.
I travelled with a group and everyone got sick throughout the week. This was most certainly due to a lack of hygiene in the kitchen and especially the bar. The hotel management claimed to be using filtered water for ice cubes and that all used water was safe. I witnessed the lack of hygiene in the bar while staff was fixing cocktails. Very expensive stay which wasn't very enjoyable due to tourista.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — Expensive. Lack of hygiene in bar and kitchen.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorlddiverBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
3.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#9 of 32 in Nosy Be
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
208 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosy Be Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosy Be Hotel

Property: Nosy Be Hotel
Address: Bp 209 | Hell Ville, Nosy Be 0207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nosy Be
#7 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nosy Be Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nosy Be Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosy Be Hotel Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing