We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A natural haven+ home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangochi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Namizimu Forest Retreat
Athlone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A natural haven+ home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

In the bustle of Malawi and world- this little lodge is a real retreat! Hidden up in the hills, overlooking the Mangoshi valley, Tara and Dave, with their loyal local team, have renovated this old English house ,with its outdoor natural dip pool+ extensive parklands into simple, comfortable, peaceful and friendly haven- ever respectful of the history, of the local habitat and especially the local culture. If your budget can extend to it-it's well worth a visit- a very special place, with very special people!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hedge End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A truly magical place. Tara made us feel so welcome and part of the family.

Namizimu Forest Retreat has given us some of our most memorable times in Malawi. Sitting on the plateau making pottery with two wonderful ladies from the village who astounded us with their skill and wisdom. A walk through the village, so many smiling children and the honour of meeting the village Chief.

Food is wonderful and the showers in the forest are simply inspirational (you can shower in your room, of course, but standing on a rock looking out over 17 acres of forest is amazing)

We didn't use the pool which is built into natural rock formations, but it look great. Next time...

Thanks to Tara and team for everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbits2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kópavogur, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at the Namizimu Forest Retreat and I was instantly in love with the resort. Right away I felt like I had always known both Tara and Dave who were most welcoming.

The rooms are exceptionally clean and I slept like a baby in the clean mountain air. Since Namizimu is pretty high up in the mountain the days there are cooler than down by the lake for example so it's the veranda is the perfect place to stay and relax.

Try the rock shower and the swimming pool. They're amazing.

One day we had a group of baboons hang out outside the rooms. How often do you experience that??

Here is a tip for you based on my experience. One morning my hosts arranged a guided hike with a local named Brave up Namizimu mountain. The view is breathtaking and it's interesting to walk through the forest with a man who knows it like the back of his hand. Ask for a guided hike, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hjalti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I highly recommend Namizimu Forest Retreat. Off the beaten track, in the Mangochi Hills about 20 km south of Mangochi town, it's as tranquil and relaxing as anyplace I've ever been. No electricity (solar lamps often available), no traffic noise - only the chirping of the chicadas and the occasional grunt from the baboons who live in the surrounding forest. Clean air, the best water in Malawi, glorious walks for those so inclined and great food. The hosts, however, are the best thing about the place - Tara and Dave who treat their guests like family and friends. I've spent many a night at Namizimu and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else while in Mangochi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zomba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Namizimu is absolutely incredible. My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights during his visit from the US. It was by FAR our favorite place we have been to in the world. Everything about Namizimu is so wonderful, welcoming, and magical. The owners, Dave and Tara, are incredible, the staff is so friendly and welcoming, the food is amazing, and the atmosphere is unbeatable. We enjoyed every second we stayed at Namizimu, and we can not wait to return in the future. At first glance the price may seem high, but as soon as you arrive, and see everything that Tara and Dave have done to build this beautiful space.. AND how much they have invested into the local community, you will feel like you should be paying twice as much!! Not to mention the food is just THAT good. Namizumi is wonderful for everyone, especially if you are looking for something a little more unique than your average upper-tier resort or lodge... You can be energetic and explore the surrounding mountains, or you can be relaxed and lay by the natural pool...Everyone will love it. Thank you Tara and Dave for making us part of your family, and we can not wait to return soon! Love, Lindsey and Mike

Room Tip: All room are unique and beautiful. Tara has put a lot of love into each of them wonderful! (They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyKinsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eys
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Namizimu is that spiritual place that you are looking for when travelling through Malawi
Thanks to Tara and Dave and their staff, our stay at Namizimu is unforgettable.
Stay longer than you want to plan, because it will still be too short.
We give Namizimu an absolute TRIPLE B status.
Beautiful place, Beautiful food and Beautiful people

Thanks a lot Tara, Dave and staff. Pole Pole Ponti travel group

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nederland-Eys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We (our MACS Group) was told of this place by a mutual friend.
Tara's lunch of Tomato soup, bread and salad was excellent and good value at $10 a head.
Dave and Tara's vision for the retreat is to be encouraged especially their work with the local community.
The access is a challenge but so much more fun for that - don't try it in a vehicle with poor ground clearance - we had a 20-seater bus with an excellent driver. I'd like to try it with a BMW R1150GS or similar.
Some might find the reliance on candles for lighting a bit limiting, others will regard it as part of the fun.
When it's complete the retreat will be brilliant

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank big-bill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Namizimu, Owner at Namizimu Forest Retreat, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. I look forward to seeing you roaring up the track on that BMW R1150GS one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangochi hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skinny Hippos Lodge
Skinny Hippos Lodge
#8 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venice Beach Backpacker
Venice Beach Backpacker
#9 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namizimu Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namizimu Forest Retreat

Property: Namizimu Forest Retreat
Address: Mangochi - Chiponde Road | P.O.Box 12, Mangochi, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Mangochi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Mangochi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful and private sanctuary, set in untouched mountain woodland, south-east of Lake Malawi, with stunning panoramic views and a natural environment which hosts many unique plant and animal species. A network of well-maintained paths within our owner managed 16 acre estate gives easy access to incredible picnic locations and scenic walks. Individual needs and requirements can be catered to and group/events bookings are also welcome. We are easily reached from Lilongwe or Blantyre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Namizimu Forest Retreat Malawi/Mangochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing