We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Namizimu Forest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$438
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jazaka Lodge(Mangochi)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gecko Lounge(Cape Maclear)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pumulani(Lake Malawi National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Gunde B and B(Liwonde National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
20
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

In the bustle of Malawi and world- this little lodge is a real retreat! Hidden up in the hills, overlooking the Mangoshi valley, Tara and Dave, with their loyal local team, have renovated this old English house ,with its outdoor natural dip pool+ extensive parklands into simple, comfortable, peaceful and friendly haven- ever respectful of the history, of the local habitat and especially the local culture. If your budget can extend to it-it's well worth a visit- a very special place, with very special people!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine_Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A truly magical place. Tara made us feel so welcome and part of the family.

Namizimu Forest Retreat has given us some of our most memorable times in Malawi. Sitting on the plateau making pottery with two wonderful ladies from the village who astounded us with their skill and wisdom. A walk through the village, so many smiling children and the honour of meeting the village Chief.

Food is wonderful and the showers in the forest are simply inspirational (you can shower in your room, of course, but standing on a rock looking out over 17 acres of forest is amazing)

We didn't use the pool which is built into natural rock formations, but it look great. Next time...

Thanks to Tara and team for everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbits2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at the Namizimu Forest Retreat and I was instantly in love with the resort. Right away I felt like I had always known both Tara and Dave who were most welcoming.

The rooms are exceptionally clean and I slept like a baby in the clean mountain air. Since Namizimu is pretty high up in the mountain the days there are cooler than down by the lake for example so it's the veranda is the perfect place to stay and relax.

Try the rock shower and the swimming pool. They're amazing.

One day we had a group of baboons hang out outside the rooms. How often do you experience that??

Here is a tip for you based on my experience. One morning my hosts arranged a guided hike with a local named Brave up Namizimu mountain. The view is breathtaking and it's interesting to walk through the forest with a man who knows it like the back of his hand. Ask for a guided hike, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjalti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I highly recommend Namizimu Forest Retreat. Off the beaten track, in the Mangochi Hills about 20 km south of Mangochi town, it's as tranquil and relaxing as anyplace I've ever been. No electricity (solar lamps often available), no traffic noise - only the chirping of the chicadas and the occasional grunt from the baboons who live in the surrounding forest. Clean air, the best water in Malawi, glorious walks for those so inclined and great food. The hosts, however, are the best thing about the place - Tara and Dave who treat their guests like family and friends. I've spent many a night at Namizimu and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else while in Mangochi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Namizimu is absolutely incredible. My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights during his visit from the US. It was by FAR our favorite place we have been to in the world. Everything about Namizimu is so wonderful, welcoming, and magical. The owners, Dave and Tara, are incredible, the staff is so friendly and welcoming, the food is amazing, and the atmosphere is unbeatable. We enjoyed every second we stayed at Namizimu, and we can not wait to return in the future. At first glance the price may seem high, but as soon as you arrive, and see everything that Tara and Dave have done to build this beautiful space.. AND how much they have invested into the local community, you will feel like you should be paying twice as much!! Not to mention the food is just THAT good. Namizumi is wonderful for everyone, especially if you are looking for something a little more unique than your average upper-tier resort or lodge... You can be energetic and explore the surrounding mountains, or you can be relaxed and lay by the natural pool...Everyone will love it. Thank you Tara and Dave for making us part of your family, and we can not wait to return soon! Love, Lindsey and Mike

Room Tip: All room are unique and beautiful. Tara has put a lot of love into each of them wonderful! (They don't technically have a fitness center, but there are plenty of spaces for outdoor activities and hiking!)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyKinsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews