We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable rooms, good food, great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngala Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngala Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very comfortable rooms, good food, great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for one night only travelling up the lakeshore road to Mzuzu and on to Karonga. As others have pointed out this isn't in Nkhata Bay but just north of Dwangwa. Nevertheless it is in a beautiful setting and the rooms in particular, in A frame chalets, are terrific. Huge beds, enormous walk in showers, no TV, very comfortable chairs and all overlooking the gardens and the lake.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent, prepared and served with care. Lovely staff, all very helpful.

All in all, highly recommended and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I recently visited Ngala Lodge as part of a 3 week long Volunteer Work trip with my school from England and I can't express what a pleasant, beautiful and wholesome place the lodge is! Set on the beaches of Lake Malawi the lodge provides some spectacular views as well as amazing scenery on site. The early morning sunrise is something which everyone has to experience down at the Soggy Kwacha (The Beach). The Lodge Owners Sandi and Chris, as well as the staff, Kev, Prince and Frank provide the lodge as a whole very good, reliable and quick service as well as giving it a great family feel to the place with their communication and friendly nature! The rooms for the boys were outstandingly nice and a king size bed for 3 weeks wasn't too shabby either! I recommend the Ngala Lodge to anyone who visits Malawi, the long trek up from LIlongwe is definitely worth it for the amazing service, rooms,scenery,staff and views from Ngala which itself is full of amazing and beautiful people. 11/10 - I will be going back in a few years time myself, I can't resist!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidH25101995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritsburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Had wonderful stay, Chris / Sandi, Prince Kevin and all the other great staff , made our time superb even the dogs kept us company - Sandi presented us with fantastic home cooked meals, rooms clean and comfotable, we had a great time at Ngala
Thanks to you all at Ngala

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My Fiance' and I recently stayed at Ngala over new years of 2012 and had a fantastic time! The friendly owners and staff made our stay very enjoyable and the fireworks display on the beach was an experience never to be forgotten!! The accomodations were superb, the food excellent and the service impeccable! We will definately return to Ngala! Many thanks to Chris and Sandi and their wonderful staff!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens and pool are very good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere-Buiten, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our 4x4 was totally buggered when we arrived. Chris and Sandi helped out BIG time, took away our worries and got our car fixed.

The lodge is stunning, personel is friendly and the owners are great. Made my girlfriend and I feel very much at home.

When visiting Malawi, visit Ngala Beach Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This resort is not at Nkhata Bay as stated but just North of Dwanga! We stopped off for 1 night on the way back to Blantyre from Tanzania. There are 2 separate areas of very nice and spacious A frame chalets. The main area of chalets look out onto gardens and the pool whereas the more expensive chalets have lake views but are well set back from the beach (too far back for my liking). The rooms have comfortable beds with nets and nice bathrooms. The cheaper chalets that we stayed in cost around USD 165 including breakfast.

There is a nice large and sandy beach with a bar but it is an under 5 minute walk from the cheaper chalets and if you forget anything this is quite a nuisance. The food was good. The owners were away at the time but the person standing in for them was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalawiExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We took my vacationing Mum & Dad to Ngala, not having stayed in the lodge before & we were all extremely happy with our stay. Everything was lovely, from the location to the rooms to the smiling staff to the amazing owners, Sandi & Chris... even the dogs & cat were friendly & welcoming. The beach was sandy & gorgeous, the grounds were large enough to find your own little heavenly corner for reading or napping after a walk along the shore, the food was utterly delicious (even to this super-picky vegetarian! also, the rumours are true: Ngala does have the best pizza in Malawi), & Sandi & Chris were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, & available to chat or to help plan a day snorkelling at nearby Kande Beach or hiking to Dwanbazi's waterfall. I would highly, highly recommend the lodge to travellers or residents of any age who are looking for a beautiful & relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah-Kalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkhata Bay
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
53.5 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mzuzu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#3 of 25 in Salima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngala Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Beach Lodge

Property: Ngala Beach Lodge
Address: Main Road | Ngala, 15km north of Dwangwa, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nkhata Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury accommodation and friendly personal service with stunning views of both the lake and Vipya Mountains. Ngala Lodge is one of the only places on the lake that offers a view of both sunrise and sunset over the water. The spacious accommodation will ensure comfort and privacy.The accommodation comprises: • 2 x Deluxe A-frames with private verandas which overlook the beach and lake and offer guests privacy and comfort and feature a private garden. Each room has en-suite bathroom, sitting area and coffee and tea station. 1 x Deluxe A-frame with 2 bedrooms, lounge area and private veranda. Also overlooking the lake this accommodation offers personal space and privacy. •6 x Executive Rooms with private verandas. All of these rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, sitting areas and coffee and tea stations. They overlook expansive gardens to the infinity pool and lake beyond.Our friendly trained staff will attend to your every need; we at Ngala pride ourselves on providing the highest levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ngala Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngala Beach Hotel Nkhata Bay
Ngala Beach Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing