We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abolutely loveley!”
Review of Ngala Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngala Beach Lodge
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had such a great time at Ngala Beach Lodge! The rooms are clean and the beds are really nice and good. The owners Sandy and Chris are such wonderful people and make sure you enjoy tour trip to the max. When you go to the North of of the lake make sure you stay at Ngala beach Lodge! Good food, good service and a wonderful spot at the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie862014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have stayed here a few times now and each time I love it just as much.

On the last occasion we stayed in the dorm on the first night, and then camped the second night as part of our travelling around Malawi.

The owners Chris & Sandi are always so welcoming and friendly, attentive and fantastic hosts. The staff are also very good.

The food is always great, and I particularly love the home baked fresh bread. The pizza night, although we missed it this time, on Wednesday nights is always something to be there for!

There's a great infinity swimming pool looking out on to the lake or if you prefer you can also swim in the lake instead, there's a fantastic spacious beach area also with a beach bar which has amazing views!

Highly recommended to stay here if you're stopping in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroiseCAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Like the reviews before us, we cannot praise both the location and the warmth and friendliness of Sandi and Chris and their staff enough. We were able to relax and wind down before travelling around Malawi and then we stayed a few more nights to wind down again before our trip home. Beach was quiet and beautiful, food was lovely and the dogs Scoop, Hector and of course Wallace were great company. A drive out in the TR4a was an added bonus. We will be back to visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best, but the others were just as quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is paradise, thats the only word to describe it! An amazing beach without people hazzling you, clear water, wonderful, delicious food and awesome staff! Chris and Sandi are helpful beyond belief, and you cannot ask for better hosts! =) Cute, cuddly and friendly dogs also gives the whole place a warm and cozy athmosphere. We initially planned to stay three nights, but it was so wonderful that we booked an extra night the first day we arrived =)

Do not hesitate, make a booking now! =)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaJosefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked and stayed for 3 nights. My two friends live in Lilongwe Malawi and I was visiting from Australia. It was a 4 hour trip. Chris and Sandi and their staff greeted us warmly..settled us in and then we had a great feed. My room looked over the beach to the lake. It was a joy to watch the sunrise each morning as the fishing fleet returned with their nights catch to the nearby village. The 3 days passed in a timeless manner, such was the level of relaxation.
TrevorF

Room Tip: ask for one facing east across the beach so you can see the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

From the moment I arrived, Sandi & Chris made me feel like an old friend on a visit - totally relaxing! They have made such a peaceful spot, where the rooms blend in to the location. There's a beautiful beach, an area that they've turned into protected wetland where a plethora of birds collect and display themselves below the most lovely bar and restaurant space. Monkeys play in the trees (and, to Chris & Sandi's frustration, use the roof area as a play & slide zone!). The little infinity pool, looking out over Lake Malawi & the wetland zone, is a sheer delight. I missed the hippos & otters, though others saw them. Meals are copious, somewhere between great home cooking and international cuisine .... a brand of its own!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Initially booked for two nights stay... after less than one day we decided to extend for an extra night! Sandi and Chris the owners of this lodge are impeccable hosts and made our stay very much a 'home from home'. The location is perfect with amazing scenery and wildlife. The lodge itself if very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. This is a lodge you wont visit once...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ngala Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road | Ngala, 15km north of Dwangwa, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Nkhata Bay
Price Range: £141 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury accommodation and friendly personal service with stunning views of both the lake and Vipya Mountains. Ngala Lodge is one of the only places on the lake that offers a view of both sunrise and sunset over the water. The spacious accommodation will ensure comfort and privacy.The accommodation comprises: • 2 x Deluxe A-frames with private verandas which overlook the beach and lake and offer guests privacy and comfort and feature a private garden. Each room has en-suite bathroom, sitting area and coffee and tea station. 1 x Deluxe A-frame with 2 bedrooms, lounge area and private veranda. Also overlooking the lake this accommodation offers personal space and privacy. •6 x Executive Rooms with private verandas. All of these rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, sitting areas and coffee and tea stations. They overlook expansive gardens to the infinity pool and lake beyond.Our friendly trained staff will attend to your every need; we at Ngala pride ourselves on providing the highest levels of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Beach Hotel Nkhata Bay
Ngala Beach Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing