We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful break”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Despite the challenges in getting there, we successfully travelled to Inhaca and stayed with Pestana. It was well worth the effort - don't be deterred by finding a way across the bay to the island.
the hotel has little chalets, some joined and some duplex, they are very nice, and the walls are well sound proofed. You can book meals included (we had breakfast and dinner and took soups and power bars for lunch, there is a restaurant next door, pretty expensive) and the food is very nice. Evenings there are selections of meat and fish and shellfish, sometimes on a grill, delicious.


Manager was helpful with some problems we had with our travel arrangements, and was very kind.

Travel. There are ferries running most days (the Government ferry, Meticais 400 each ($15) runs on the weekend and on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.) There is a also another ferry, Vodacom, with some overlapping days. Once on the island, they have a speedboat ($600) if you are stuck, and there are chartered planes, but finding them was almost impossible for me, using the net.

Room Tip: All seemed nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallinacanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    35
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
34
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Inhaca Island is a wonderful place and this should be taken into account when considering the price. I felt that $160 for a single occupancy of a cottage on half board with free (very good) snorkelling and a boat trip across to Portugese Island was very reasonable.

The staff are enthusiastic and friendly. The food is fine, although I'd agree the buffet dinner isn't very extensive - what is there is good, though.

Tip - if you like wildlife, take a stroll among the palm trees in the centre area of the compound at dusk. I was delighted to watch more than 50 big fruit bats arrive and flock around the trees until it got too dark to see them easily.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a few days at the Inhaca resort recently and found it very pleasant. The room was clean and the service was good. A few tips of going to Inhaca; is to research getting to the island, I found a few options online however was only able to take the local boat, which only does the one trip over in the morning. Also, take cash out in Maputo or exchange your money before hand as the island does not have many if any options to withdraw.
Apart from those two issues, the island was what we were after a quiet few days to unwind and relax.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The hotel has a perfect location on the island, i think has been renovated since many reviews were posted here, as we did not find old at all. I can agree that is a bit overpriced comparing to european or SA prices, but you find in Mozambique every service surpsingly expensive. We had many complications in getting to the island loosing the ferry on monday morning (if you travel by car from SA, almost no chance you get there as the border opens at 6AM only). The only alternative is a private boat for 150 USD per person what we found very expensive so rather stayed in Maputo and waited the next one on wednesday. That was a disappointing start what the hotel could have told as as we called them a few times before the travel. Once we got there, had nice 3 days on the island where you can walk kilometres on the beach without seeing anyone but local people fishing (maybe thanks to be off-season still :-). Be careful of taking enough cash with you as there is no ATM on the island. At the hotel you can pay with visa, but going out to eat is a bit cheaper and you can get nice local seafood.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyongyi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I travelled to Inhaca Island Resort at the end of 2010 with my husband.
After reading some unfavourable reviews, I thought I would give my point of view.

I spent a week in Inhaca and had a lovely holiday. We flew with CFA on a short flight from Maputo in a 5-seater plane - not for the faint hearted. We were welcomed with coconut milk which was a wonderful touch.

The weather was gorgeous for 6 out of the 7 days there.
Lying at the pool is very relaxing, but we spent most days on the Portugese Island, a 5-10 min boat ride away, this service is offered free by the resort. The resort equipped us with cooler boxes filled with cooldrinks & snacks which were great to have on the Portugese Island as there is no shop there. Some days it was just the 2 of us on the island alone which was amazing. Just picture crystal clear blue water and plenty of sunshine.

The staff at the hotel are extremely hard working and really try hard to please you.

I would recommend eating at Lucas as their food is delicious. I dont think you could find more fresh seafood!

Another tip: Dont rely on exchanging cash at the bank there. Rather exchange in Maputo.

Dont expect a 5-star resort and you wont be disappointed.
After a week holiday here, I came home extremely relaxed and refreshed!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Inhaca is a precious almost untouched marine reserve. It's an island 30km from Maputo with two distinct sides, the one turned at the Indian Ocean with sandy beaches, and another turned to the Mainland, which is where Pestana lodge is situated. The lodge itself is rather old, but relatively well maintained. Its probably the fanciest in the island, but way too expensive for what it offers.

You sleep in small chalets that are comfortable and nicely decorated. The food is nice (buffet) but not great as there could be more seafood or fish dishes. The architecture of the main building stands out for being very distinctive and makes a nice visual impact.

The best part of the lodge is the pool area where you can relax under the sun in nice chairs with just palm trees and the ocean with a couple of fishing boats on the horizon. Very relaxing.

There's not much to do in the island, but you can take organized trips to the Lighthouse, tour the island by boat, and you can also dive as there is a diving center in the facilities. Inhaca is one of the best spots in the world for diving, and you can see live coral reefs and tons of sea life. Just outside the perimeter is a small village and every saturday is party night so expect tons of noise and loud music into the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoCaldeiraOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

- the hotel is fine not outstanding as the location is the worst one previnting the guests to benefit from the beach and the sea, but staff is very friendly and professional, confort and cleaness of the rooms are the key advantage

- the food could be better as there is plenty of fresh fish and seadfood

- the portuguese island trip is good although it will be nice to have some drinks available

- the snorkeling trip is reasonable for beginners but not good for experts

- a trip to the light house and the beach next to it is mandatory - it is the most beautiful place to swim and relax in warm waters - it is easly organized by the hotel activities

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhaca Island
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 23 in Maputo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Inhaca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Inhaca Lodge

Property: Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Address: Ilha de Inhaca | Mozambique, Inhaca Island 07000, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Inhaca Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Inhaca Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach front, amongst coconut palm groves and luxuriant tropical vegetation, Pestana Inhaca Lodge is famous for its wonderful gardens, food and its warm hospitality. The island is a secure and quiet location that is a port of call for yachts, sailing boats and cruise ships seeking out a tropical option in the turquoise and crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inhaca Island has been protected since 1976 and still boasts huge areas of untouched vegetation and expanses of velvety water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Inhaca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Inhaca Hotel Inhaca Island
Pestana Inhaca Island Hotel
Inhaca Hotel
Pestana Inhaca Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing