We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice unexpected place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Josef & Tina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilanculos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Josef & Tina
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice unexpected place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here unexpectedly as we had to stay in Vilankulo for the night but ended up staying a few days more. Only a few meters from the sea, our room ( or rather our hut ) was clean and homely, though very simple. The bathroom was common, but we were the only ones using it. Breakfast was the bare minimum ( bun and jam with no butter) but we enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent three nights here when we were struggling to find anywhere else to stay. Josef is very friendly and helpful, but the place is in real need of some care and attention. We arrived in the late evening and were told that there were no rooms available at the price we had booked, so we were put into a room in the guest house but still charged the original price. The room was tiny, and depressing. Our bags went into the large built-in wardrobe but this meant that whenever we needed something, one of us had to stand in the corridor while the other brought out a bag. In fact, whenever one of us needed to move at all, the other had to wait outside. The bed was really uncomfortable. The net was so small we were both squashed in the middle all night. The unappealing bathroom was opposite, shared with one other couple. There was no toilet paper but the bathroom was cleaned each day. The garden area is a bit overgrown and there were no areas to sit other than the bar area where TV played all the time. We were relieved to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobberBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vilanculos hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Very friendly guesthouse. They have a main building which has 4 or 5 guest rooms, 1 of which is ensuite, plus 4 hut/rooms. They have satellite tv and an eating area as well. We had a nice time - the owners and staff are very friendly and the place seemed very safe. The rooms are not much to look at - they could certainly use renovating...but this is Africa after all and we were paying like 10-20 USD...so no real complaints. The rooms themselves were clean. The location is right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpark730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We had originally booked the guesthouse for our stay but due to a double booking they had to stick us into the suites for a price of 1000 MZN per suite.

The three suites are located at the back of the premises in a separate house, but have not been maintained properly for years it seems (or were never finished in the first place). The few pieces of furniture felt like they were just thrown in to give the guests some place to sit or place their belongings instead of the floor.

We were also greeted by a floater in our toilet and the shower could only pump out boiling hot water. One of the other suites had the exact opposite problem, no hot water at all. Towels, toilet paper and the fan had to be asked for separately. Breakfast comprised of a single bread bun with butter/jam + ricoffy/tea. Lunch and dinner can be arranged by the hosts for a price but we decided to dine elsewhere after our initial impressions of the place. Josef & Tina could be a decent place for budget travelers IF only a minimal effort was made to maintain the place (the suites at least).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#3 of 24 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Josef & Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Josef & Tina

Property: Casa Josef & Tina
Address: Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing