We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation!”
Review of Zombie Cucumber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zombie Cucumber
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent 6 days at Zombie Cucumber / a.k.a. Casa Jules.

We stayed in one of the rooms at the back of the resort (no.4) and had an amazing time. Valerie and Bruno were very quick to satify all of our needs when concerns were voiced to them.

The pizzas are delicious but the rest of the menu is so-so and pricey. Walk up 5 minutes for breakfast or lunch to Kuvuka cafe instead!

We went out on a "Dhow" safari one day with Marina, a friend of the owner, and had a wonderful time, great food, and fantastic snorkeling!

This hotel is non pretencious and a good mid-range option!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your nice comment. We are sad you didn't realy enjoy our food because we try to do our best. Kuvuka is realy a very nice and cheap place with sea view and we are happy to support them through our reviews. Enjoy winter in Canada. Bruno & Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
34
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We (Honeymooner) stayed 3 nights in Zombie Cucumber. Bruno is a excellent entertainer, the accommodation (we stayed in the new built room) is perfect (clean, cute, lovely decoration, secure, 50m from the beach, ...). The food is very good (for sure you can eat outside cheaper, but you will never find spaghetti's with shrimps that tasty). The stuff is helpfull.
We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Many thanks for the review. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards. Valérie & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last week. Great locaton, only a 50 metre walk from the beach and if your not into swiming in the ocean they have a great pool with a bar. The rooms were very clean and modern. The restaurant is also great and the owner Bruno is really helpful with tips and hints on what to do and see. I highly recommened a stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi and many thanks for the great review....You make us very happy to be so happy ! Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springbok, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We traveled to Vilanculos in mid Augustus 2013 we were planning to stay 2 nights in self catering units and 2 nights camping, on the first day we arrived at Vilanculos we ate something at zombie cucumber, and there was just something special about the place, so we decided to stay over there instead of camping. It turned out to be an awesome night as there was a live local band and as I understand there is every Sunday and even people from the crowd started singing and playing some instruments it was a very special night on our holiday. Even before we decided to stay there the manager was willing to do our laundry at a very good price which we appreciated allot. Thank you Zombie Cucumber

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Hi and many thanks for the friendly comment. I also remember thats crazy , funny and international sunday's night ; for us also it stays a very special memory, because all the sundays are not so busy ! and so wonderfull ! We are happy to read that you was coming for lunch or diner and "feel that there was something special" that made you deciding to stay !! It's exactly what we want : to offer something special, comfortable ,warm, soft and friendly. Thank you so much and see you soon .< val & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The place has a fairly nice atmosphere but is not very well maintained and the service is poor. The managers are particularly unhelpful when it comes to helping travellers which is really very needed in Mozambique as getting around is not so easy. - we got the impression they had no clue about local matters and were only interested in spending time back in Belgium.
We found it poor value - 75 euros per night is rather pricey for what you get so you might as well pay a bit more for a far better service.
We were happy to change hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Hi and very sorry about your comment. When did you come ? I don't find any registration with your name or from somebody from your country in august. We are also surpirsed to read that we are just interseted spending time back in Belgium because Bruno hate to go back to Belgium and he was just coming back from his stay the 10 of august, and I came back end of july so we were not realy to excited to go back home as we were just back ! Also, if you read all the other comments our best quotations are about services and helping our clients ; So I realy don't understund.. We have managers of islands' trips companies coming everyday to Zombie ; We have a big board in the loundge offering ALL informations about activities, restaurants, massages, everything to do in Vilanculos and we are presents all the day untill we close late in the evening . Most of the time our staff is going to buy bus'tickets for the clients and if they leave Zombie in the middle of the night to get their bus, our guard is going with them...
We can't be apreciated by everybody,because everyone is idifferent and expecting for something else ! I'm just sad you didn't take time to tell me the problems ; regarding the place you were after, I think you prefer traveling in business hotel, unformal places than in guest houses. Sorry again that you didn't like our place. Best regards. Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at Zombie Cucumber for a week, and enjoyed quite a lot. Got a nice discount for the long stay (bargaining before booking is very advisable). The pool is nice, the room (we got a double room overlooking the pool) is recently built and the owners help a lot with excursions or recommending things to do. The restaurant is very, VERY good, and when you get to know other neighbouring places to eat, you realise the price is also fair.
Only two things bothered us in an otherwise very enjoyable week: 1. the room cleaners could do a much better job. A couple of times I had to point at cobwebs and dirt that they hadn't seen/cleaned in the room. 2. The owners like to have fun, and sometimes they loudly entertain guests at the restaurant until late in the evening. A couple of nights we had to kill time reading until the noise level went down.

Room Tip: The double rooms near the pool are really nice. They don't have double beds for couples, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Hi and many thanks for your comment specialy about our food.
Regarding the room, I try to check everyday with the maid to be sure she cleans everyday where ans as I showed here plenty of times. That the most difficult job here : to have people memorising how to do the same things every day ; that's just impossible... Why ? I don't have any answer. ALso, it's very hard job to teach the spiders that my lamps are not their house :)
Regarding the bar, sorry we have a lot of friendly guests who like to share a drink at the bar explaining their experiences or asking us how and why we was arriving there...We didn't realise that the noise is going upsair to the rooms. Sorry ; we have to plan to manage that. Otherwise many thanks to stay with us. You stayed in our new hotel that is named Casa Jules ; Zombie is the backpacker... Best regards. Bruno & Val
Val&rie & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travelled as a group of 5 people from South Africa but because of delays at the Komatipoort (Ressano Garcia) border we only arrived at very late on Sunday night 23 June.
To our delight our host Bruno was still there waiting to welcome us.
His staff helped us to unload our vehicle and carry luggage into our two chalets.
Although it was 9pm in the evening the kitchen staff were happy to prepare pizzas for us and we spent some time chatting to Bruno at the bar and drinking the delightful 2M beer.
We stayed in units number one & two, of the four lovely thatched chalets. We had double beds and the mosquito netting gives it the appearance of a four-poster bed. The linen was clean and fresh. For a short stay there is more than enough space for packing and hanging out your clothes.
The ablution facilities are more than adequate and were always kept clean and tidy and we always had hot water to shower.
Zombie Cucumber is a little oasis in Vilanculos. As you enter through the always attended main gate you are immediately surrounded by the tranquility of the well-manicured gardens filled with colorful bougainvillea, tall trees and coconut plams and lots of little nooks filled with hammocks hanging chairs and local sculptures. The pathways are covered with bark chips so you always walk quietly to the various facilities. The lodge is wonderfully lit up at night.
But whilst I can wax lyrical about the pretty things at this lodge, the most important thing about Zombie Cucumber are the owners and their staff.
Bruno was left to manage the lodge alone whilst Valarie was away on holiday in Europe. And what an amazing host he was! He was ever attentive to all his guests every need. He is ever present and always jovial, always asking if all is well and if he can help in any way. He even went shopping for us to buy supplies for our picnic on the islands. He is also happy to put you in touch with the right people at the right price for the island excursions. Ask him to contact Hilder at Mapapay Dhow Safaris for you and negotiate a good deal. Mario is a great skipper!
Their staff were also attentive to all our needs and were always polite, smiling and willing to help. Well done guys.
A special thanks to Nuro and Ito who kept the bar open into the wee hours.
Unfortunately Valarie was away for our visit but she made sure that our booking was professionally handled and all my many e-mails were promptly answered. They also have a South African bank account which makes EFT payments for South Africans a huge advantage.
We can highly recommend Zombie Cucumber as a well-priced destination in this amazing part of Africa without reservation. Zombie Cucumber Rocks…!!

http://www.zombiecucumber.com/eng/index.php

Merci Bruno & Valarie nous attendons avec impatience notre prochain voyage avec vous!

A note to fellow SA travelers using the EN1 route to Vilanculos. It is a full 15 hour trip from Nelspruit to Vilanculos. Left Nelspruit at 6am and arrived at 9pm at Zombie.
In future we will definitely schedule a stopover in Xai-Xai.
Driving up the EN1 is very taxing as you have to drop your speed to 60kph at every town and village. Trust me there are very many of them along the way.
Watch very carefully for the speed restriction signs as it is very easy to miss one and get fined. Beware of the “black and white” traffic officers with their speed traps. They seem to be stationed at every village, and their trapping devices all seem to be calibrated at 5 to 6 kilometers to your disadvantage.
If you get trapped at a little over the designated speed limit insist on seeing the devices “calibration certificate.” We insisted and got waved on when it could not be produced!
Also driving at night is very dangerous. I had to dodge numerous pedestrians, dogs, and un-roadworthy vehicles without lights. Indiscriminate driving seems to be the rule of the road in Mozambique and passing on blind rises and corners seems to be absolutely the norm.

Room Tip: We used the chalets because of budget but they also have the Casa Jules "Hotel" with onsui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie1209, Propriétaire at Zombie Cucumber, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am so happy Eugène, that you enjoyed your stay after all our mails and funny internet correspondance ! As I wrote you in my last mail, I'm just sure that you was missing the most important thing at zombie : me ! and that make me sure that you'll come back soon with family and friends. I was realy sad to miss you but so happy to read that you had a wonderfull stay. Your friend sent us plenty of pictures. Thank you, thank you thank you ! Valérie &... Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
1.7 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Babi
Casa Babi
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#3 of 24 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zombie Cucumber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zombie Cucumber

Property: Zombie Cucumber
Address: Avenida Marginal | Bairro Central, Vilanculos 0000, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zombie Cucumber is very well located (2mn walking distance from the beach, facing Bazaruto archipelago)and has been fully renoveted in 2012. The new owners, Valerie & Bruno, are french and belgium and do anything to turn your journey in their small paradise as the best remember of your life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing