We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"TOTALLY UNREAL"”
Review of Rio Azul Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Azul Lodge
Reviewed 21 August 2012

You have to see it to believe it. The view from the deck does not have a superlative that would even come close. The estuary is on a scale that has to be traversed to be truly appreciated. The sea is an azure blue with a balmy temperature to lure you away from the sun drenched deck... Mario's smoked mackerel will set the bar so high you'll find it difficult to match!!!! Michelle and Riaan the managers will cater above and beyond your every need and most of all the 2M's are on ice and waiting... Get out there and do it.... NOW!!!!!!

Room Tip: The lodge has two villas for families and chalets for couples.... All are private and secluded and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseD312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Staying at this lodge with the first stop of a Mozambican adventure with 3 other friends and wow! What a way to start of!

We were picked up from Inhassoro, as our car was not really up to the final stretch along the beach and across the dunes (Tip; If you are driving there, make sure you have a beefy 4X4). Nonetheless, the drive along the beautiful sandy beach with the blue blue sea on one side and those sky high red dunes peculiar to Mozambique on the other was pretty spectacular.

The Lodge itself is stunningly beautiful with every detail about it careful thought out.


The huge bar in the main building where we had all our meals is awesome. Nice place to chill out in the the evening after dinner with a few beer or a glass of South African wine. The rooms, though rustic are very comfortable and airy. Although there in no AC anywhere on the lodge, I slept soundly all the 5 nights I spent here without every feel hot in the middle of the night.

If you like seafood then this is the place for you. Fresh fish, crab, calamari, etc on the menu daily. As already mentioned by other reviewer, the food here is delicious.

However, the most amazing thing about Rio Azul Lodge is the most spectacular view from the deck of the main building, Day and Night! Yes, the sunsets are breathtaking but the view during a full moon is also equally impressive. I am definitely going back just to able to sit out on the fine deck and watch the view whilst smoking a big fat cigar.

This place is paradise! Muy tranquillo, no crowds, no continuous incessant house music, just peacefulness........

Room Tip: If drive there make sure you have a beefy 4x4, however they do pick up from Vilanculos Airport Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OluOlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Boutique resort with excellent but unobtrusive service. Highly recommended. First-rate beds, great food, snorkelling and deep sea fishing, as well as hiking. Don't forget your camera because the sunsets are more than stunning - try sensational. As for swimming in the sea, enjoy 25 degree water, kilometres of safe beaches and friendly locals. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The wonderful thing about Rio Azul Lodge is the fact that it is your own personal paradise. Isolated at the mouth of the Gavuro River and estuary it offers an opportunity for every person, young and old to transform their holiday into whatever they desire. If you are looking for excitement and fun activities, or just sunning and cocktails with a great book, it's up to you! From fishing (deep sea, shore or estuary), kayaking (river or sea), snorkling (sea and estuary), boating of all kinds, watersports, windsurfing and pansy shell hunting on the islands to name a few activities. To relaxing under the spacious lapa dining, lounge and bar areas, or lying next to the pool on the loungers on the deck, or sunset walks along the beach or river, and ending your day in your own private villa or chalet in comfort and luxury. The incredible views, especially the sunsets over the river, and top class cuisine served by chefs accomodating to all your desires, you cannot go wrong in this luxurious and tranquil getaway designed for all ages and desires.

Room Tip: Groups or families should opt for a private villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexvanderbijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The incredible sunsets, tranquil location and warm weather are just some of the characteristics that create this perfect getaway. The rooms are rustic in nature, yet modern and luxurious. We had amazing food and there was always a friendly face around to help with any requests or recommendations. The lodge also provided a perfect balance for both rest and adventure. We could relax and unwind whilst reading a book or we could go on one of the fishing expeditions, windsurf, wakeboard, take a long walk on the beach or paddle out to one of the many little islands to snorkel. We also felt very safe and didn't even feel the need to lock our doors.

We will definitely be taking another trip there soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmyK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Rio Azul Lodge is truly a hidden gem. Its location right on the banks of the river provides stunning views, especially at sunset. Because it is "in the middle of nowhere" and it accommodates a limited number of guests, you feel like you are the only people there. The staff is both friendly and professional, making you feel very welcome. And the food! Wonderful seafood and other local dishes prepared to perfection. The "island style" lodge really makes you feel like you are in paradise. And even the transfer from Vilanculos along the beach is a treat! The fishing on the estuary and deepsea was lots of fun and is highly recommended. Thanks to everyone there for a fantastic holiday! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous pouvez prendre une des 2 villas c'est magnifique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNLDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
49.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
232 reviews
62.7 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
50.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.2 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
49.9 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
49.1 mi away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Azul Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Azul Lodge

Address: | on the banks of the Guvoru River’s Estuary, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range: £409 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Azul Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing