We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gair / Lourens 'stay at Rio Azul'”
Review of Rio Azul Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Azul Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Gair / Lourens 'stay at Rio Azul'”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed from 15th Feb to 25th February 2014. What a lovely experience we had. We had beautiful weather. We loved the beach and estuary walks, the "tinnies" were at hand every day for us to explore the estuary and sand banks. The food was wonderful. We were spoilt by the friendly staff. The accommodation was great with our own swimming pool. The men had a good time out fishing and were able to catch which made their day! Thanks Michelle for daily updates on weather, tides and activities. It was bliss.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny - the villas for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is one of the best holiday destinations that we have had the pleasure of visiting! The lodge is an absolute wow!! Our chalet was really beautiful with huge kingsize bed and nice and airy, which is necessary for the hot days and nights! The food was amazing and the staff brilliant. Fishing is an absolute must - even if you are not a fisherman/woman! Our thanks to the wonderful management team of Michelle & Reon, who never missed a beat and nothing was ever a problem. We met the most interesting awesome visitors from different countries and also SA, which have now become friends!! Thank you for making this really special for us. Next time we will definitely fly in as the trip up took off at least 3 days of our holiday, which we would rather be spending at Rio Azul!! Definitely going to be back soon!!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the estuary - maybe take a room that is not directly adjacent to the main lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Rio Azul. We really want to come back.
the place was spectacular,very nice location, incredibly nice and helpful people at the lodge who became friends for us.
the food was delicious ,the lodge,very nice ,our bedroom almost on the beach with this nice impression to be alone at the end of the world ,this feeling is very unusual nowadays where everything is touristy everywhere. Therefore ,the place is really amazing.
Thank you all ,it was fabulous.

Room Tip: all the bedrooms were in small chalets on the beach ,fabulous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascaline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our first trip to Mozambique and our expectations were not high. We decided to keep away from the popular spots with speedboats and partying as we prefer a quite holiday. The website does not do this resort justice - it is a blissfull retreat with beautiful villas and stylish finishes. The trip from the Vilancoulos airport is about 2 hours, the last 40 minutes being along the beautiful beach with the only people around being local fishermen hauling in their catch of the day. Take the time out to watch how they bring the nets in from the sea and then sort the fish.
The resort is like a home away from home. The villas have beautiful white cotton linen and mosquito nets are let down in the evenings while you are at dinner.
Each villa is given its own 'tinny' (boat with a motor) so that you can go fishing on your own in the estuary or take a trip up the river. We spotted fish eagle, kingfishers, flamingoes to name but a few. The barman will pack you a cooler box of drinks to take on your trip.
If deep sea fishing is your thing, you will definately not be disappointed. Depending on the tide, you can take your tinny to the pansy islands in low tide and collect pansy shells and see all sorts of interesting sea life.
The resort faces the estuary so you are protected from the offshore winds. The high dunes are behind you with the beautiful beach on the other side. They will drop you off at the beach, put up an umbrella, pack a cooler box and fetch you again at a specified time. We had the beach to ourselves. The sea is like a jacuzzi with waves big enough to have a fun swim. Unlike Mauritius or the Maldives where there are no waves because of the reefs.
They serve 3 full meals a day which is all included in the price, as are the soft drinks. They serve a starter cocktail before dinner when guests can mingle.
We stayed for 10 days and normally by then I am homesick and ready to leave. Not at Rio Azul, I could have stayed another week. Reon and Michelle will meet your every need. The owners John and Jane were there at the same time as us and were wonderful hosts. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: As the resort is small and intimate, any room is perfect. Think we might take the large villa with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

With very high expectations we traveled to Mozambique via Inhambane-Vilanculos on LAM. Interesting airline.....We were greeted by Reon and Charles at the airport and transferred via mini-bus to Inhosoro where we transferred onto the open Land cruiser for the beach highway. What a journey! stunning scenery and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Look out for the Whale bone on the beach. The lodge itself is magnificent, wooden fittings of the highest craftsmanship, really impressed me. The views are to die for. Food was excellent, but take note that seafood/fish feature strong on the menu. Make sure you convey any dietry requirements or food group exceptions ahead of schedule. it is a remote lodge so making last minute requests will pose a challenge. The electrical supply is via generator and batteries so not on all day, we took a solar charger to keep the essentials running. A local SIM card might be a good option if you need connectivity, internet is slow. We had an absolute blast. the staff are accommodating, the area is very safe, and the surrounding scenery is breath taking. we had a couple of days of rain but that never really stopped us from doing the usual boating/fishing/beach walking. I can highly recommend the lodge as a "real getaway"

The boat trip to Paradise Island is a must. Snorkeling is world class, a bit murky but too many species to mention.

My only negative (there are always going to be some) I felt the transfer vehicles where in a poor state and needed some maintenance as being so remote reliable off road vehicles are a non negotiable.

Ask for a bar bill check daily, not that we had an issue, it's just a good idea to keep an eye on things. There is an "inclusive" option, ask about it it cold be worth the price.

Overall I was impressed and happy. Having traveled to many resorts I felt a lacking of "current" trends to ad extras to the normal lodge/resort offerings, a guided walk, local village visit, participate in local nature conservation project. Reon should consider a half hour talk on the fish species available and current fishing "hotspots" as part of the introduction. Maybe a "best catch of the week" challenge, just something to spark some interest. The Lodge was borne out of a need for a place to stay when fishing, hopefully Michelle and Reon will get the support they need to turn the lodge into a holiday destination with more options...not everyone is a fisherman.....if the rest of the family have a good time, the fisherman will be allowed to take them back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2, add the far end of the lodge, highly recommend that unit. Only aircon in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinmatthewsSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modderfontein, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had the privilege of taking our top performers and their spouses to Rio Azul on an incentive trip. For most of the people it was their first trip to Mozambique and believe me we now have Rio Azul converts on hand. We were blown away by the resort, the incredible staff, food and experience! Reon, Michelle and Staff : a massive thank you for making us feel so special, nothing was too much effort. We cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Has been a wonderful experience for Paloma and for me to stay at Río Azul. Is the perfect place to honeymooners, couples and people who want to feel relaxing and happy. All my congrats to Michelle, Reon and the staff for this amazing week. Food were incredible, landscapes, people, rooms, services.... Thanks a lot. We Will come back!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
50.2 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
62.7 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
49.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.9 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
45.2 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
49.3 mi away
Vila Do Paraiso
Vila Do Paraiso
#2 of 24 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Azul Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Azul Lodge

Property: Rio Azul Lodge
Address: Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Azul Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rio Azul Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing