We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Archipelago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Archipelago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Wonderful location on a fantastic beach. We stayed for a week with extended family, and wished we could have had longer at the resort. The casa was spacious and comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    48
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
33
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Villefranche D' Allier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law were married at this resort in May. 30 of us arrived from destinations as diverse as South Africa and Northern Europe. It is in many ways thanks to the friendly and unstinting support of the staff that most of us left saying it was the best wedding we had ever been to. All our needs were efficiently looked after, the casa's were ideal, the activities were wide-ranging and suitable for all tastes. We left on a high having been treated to one of the most unforgettable weeks most of us will ever experience.

Fabulous destination made immeasurably better by real, caring humans at every level. Thanks again and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB03430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A paradise location, right on a completely untouched beach, this is a real gem. The accommodation is arranged in 'casas' along the gardens, we were lucky enough to have a view of the ocean from ours! They seem perfect for a family or friends sharing, as each has a couple of bedrooms plus bathrooms and living/kitchen area. The style is rustic but extremely comfortable and well-equipped.
There is a pool, as sometimes the beach can be a little windy, but is still simply stunning.
the service was great, with the staff friendly and helpful. the food was excellent, especially the seafood platter (easily enough for 3 people).
All round, highly reccommended as a beautiful exotic getaway, with the best snorkelling I have ever experienced.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Right on one of the world's finest beaches, within sight of the incredible Bazaruto archipelago, this resort is ideally located for anyone looking for a dream vacation. Outside high season, that is.

Spacious, comfortable and well-equipped houses for up to six people in two rows. Front row with gorgeous views of the beach and the sea, second row also good (but obviously without a similar view). Equipment is becoming a bit old, but still okay. Water is safe. The restaurant serves good food (though the menu is somewhat limited on Thursdays and Fridays), staff there is very friendly and as efficient as you can expect.

Somewhat divided on the management. Nick is fabulously helpful. He set up a Dhow trip for us, organised everything, even came by to say good-bye the night before we left. The other two weren't. Disappointed by the dive operator, who wanted to charge a very stiff price for a speedboat run and preferred beer time (at 4.30) to negotiating. But all these are only minor lacunae - both of us will return with our respective families.

Last point: I would not go during peak season. You hear most of what your neighbors are doing, especially when they are a bit on the noisy side. Which was the case for us during the first night. So when the place is fully booked (around X-mas), I would avoid it.

Room Tip: If you can, check what kind of neighbors you would have. First row is spectacular in terms of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to Archipelago and I still would not venture anywhere else to try and even find something to better.....there simply is NOT !!! The accomodation, the service, the safety, the staff.........all 110%.
We are also booking for August holidays, with the kids this time.....can't wait !!!
Peter Boot

Room Tip: Must have a sea view, this makes all the difference, you pay a little more but well well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We travelled in a group of 5 and booked 6 nights at Archipelago at the last minute due to some previously uncovered good reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed, the accommodation was absolutely lovely and there was plenty of space for the 5 of us. We had a view over the gardens and out to sea. Managers Tracey & Grant are great.

If you are thinking of staying here be aware that it is a few KMs out of town (with nothing much around the resort) and the trip in takes around 20 minutes due to the bad roads. If you don't have your own vehicle you will have to call a taxi to pick you up. Ben, the taxi driver, is very accommodating but it can get expensive. Especially as the 300 meticals quoted for a one way trip is for 2 people only.

Groceries are VERY expensive in town so I would recommend taking what you can with you if you don't plan on eating in the restaurant every night. The cooking hardware is also a little limited, but enough to get by.

I would definitely stay at Archipelago again rather than somewhere in town as the beach and atmosphere is much nicer. The only thing I would do differently is spend a couple of nights on a dhow safari. We went out for 1 day and it wasn't long enough. Cut your stay at a hotel short a day or two and definitely do this. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is the second time I have been to Archipelago Resort, first time we went with a group of about 10 - 15 people, most of them divers and kitesurfers.
I am not a diver, but I did snorkel at 2 mile reef where there were other divers. from what i saw when I was snorkeling it was AMAZING, so I can just imagine what amazing marine life the diver's saw.
The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The accommodation is basic, comfortable and clean and perfect for fellow self caters...
The houses gets cleaned daily.
The restaurant has some good meals especially their seafood :)
The view is spectacular just sitting on the porch looking out on to this crystal clear turquoise waters. The beach is a stone throw away, with kilometers of white sand.

I will definitely go back to Archipelago / Vilanculos, It is 1 of my fav places.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilanculos hotels
5.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
211 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
4.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
66 reviews
9.6 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archipelago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Resort

Property: Archipelago Resort
Address: Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Archipelago Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is self catering and consists of eighteen chalets. There is a central area with a restaurant, bar and swimming pool. The chalets sleep six people each and have a fully equipped kitchen. For the more active, we boast an extensive knowledge of the area, with our Dive Instructor/fishing expert having operated in these waters for nearly 10 years. Our portfolio includes unexplored dive sites, fantastic surf, fly and big game fishing. A fully equipped SCUBA dive center, boats and fishing equipment for hire, wind surfers, para sailing, banana boating, island trips and transfers, dhou trips, and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Archipelago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing