We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Wonderful Hidden Treasure”
Review of Archipelago Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Archipelago Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My sister-in-law and nieces had been to this beautiful place before, and this is where they wanted to celebrate my niece's 18th with some friends - so my husband and I invited ourselves. The best barging in I've ever done. Absolute perfection: the most beautiful beach I've ever seen (and have seen a few); fantastic lodge run by wonderful Sean and Sharne, and great staff. Nothing too much trouble. Ages ranged from 18 to 55 and everyone loved the holiday. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: the sea view casas are a must
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HarrietRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are thrilled your celebration was such a success at Archipelago’s perfect setting for any party. Please tell your friends to tell their friends about this ‘hidden treasure!’ We look forward to hosting your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Archipelago Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The spacious casas with their fantastic views are what sets Archipelago Resort apart from all the other places we have stayed at in Mozambique. Sean, Sharne, Andrew and their staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Our family ranged from Grannie to a 9 year old and all were happy. The extra distance from home was worth it and we are already planning our next trip there!

Room Tip: Anyone from 4 to 8 for island/sea views from your own spacious verandah.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Archipelago Resort was delighted to host Harry Shaw and his family who drove all the way from Durban to enjoy a holiday at our fabulous resort right on the best beach! We look forward to your return visit in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fantastic holiday! We travelled from Harare using the convoy and no incidents occurred. Clean accommodation, stunning views, relaxed atmosphere, excellent restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. We used the dive school on site for a trip to the reefs and islands. Amazing experience, very professional unforgettable beaches. Would highly recommend Archipelago to anyone who wants a relaxed and comfortable beach holiday for the family.

Room Tip: Sea facing is stunning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I struggled finding an affordable resort for my 40th birthday in Mozambique and I am very glad that I chose Archipelago Resort after receiving a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there before. The management couple (Sharne & Sean) were very accommodating and helped me pre-arrange my actual birthday event which took the form of a beautiful outdoor seafood extravaganza complete with rock lobster and prawns. Moz bliss!

Activities were easy to book and I can highly recommend booking a speedboat to two mile reef for an amazing snorkeling experience and of course the horse riding on the beach. The boat was booked easily enough through the dive centre on site but the horse riding is off site but close enough.

The casas are very well equipped and all I can recommend is doing a proper shop at the mini market in town (Taurus) before coming out to the resort. Getting to town and back is not difficult but can be quite expensive unless there is a group of you. It is well stocked and we were able to find coconut milk and curry paste for an amazing prawn curry a la casa. If you have special dietry needs or need special ingredients for a dish you plan to cook during your stay, then bring these with you. Can also highly recommend cocktails and dinner at the newly renovated Dona Ana Hotel in Vilanculos harbour. It is worth the trip.

I have rebooked for September and cannot wait to spend more time in this magical part of the Africa.

Room Tip: All casas are equally beautiful but request a seafront location if available.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhinoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights. Our casa was beautiful with a kitchen, 3 bedrooms and a large porche with a view on the garden and the sea. Each casa had Access to its own BBQ and the resort restaurant also provided reasonably good food. The manager was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmogollonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Casa 8 from April 4 to 9th. Drove from Harare, no problems. We loved the area and the staff were brilliant. Best beach in Vilankulo and the Casa was perfect. If you want 5 star, stay away but we loved the rustic finish and casual friendliness of everyone there. Piping hot water, comfy bed ( with view of the sea!) good kitchen basics. Thanks for an unforgettable holiday!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Buzzyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArchipelagoHarare, Owner at Archipelago Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Truly delighted to host you at Archipelago Resort and we look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here whilst on a five day Horse Riding Holiday with Mozambique Horse Safari. The Casa accommodation was just wonderful, with Ocean views and well kept gardens. The staff are very helpful and cheery, and we spent afternoons chilling in the pool , sipping ice cold beers. We were treated to a fantastic fish BBQ supper, with traditional Mozambique music being performed by a group of local singers .... Lovely , relaxing and simply stunning ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyWaitaLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
5.0 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
215 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
92 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
67 reviews
23.4 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archipelago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Resort

Address: Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range: £65 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archipelago Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort consists of eighteen fully furnished chalets. There is a central area with an attractive restaurant, bar and swimming pool. The chalets sleep six people each and have a fully equipped kitchen. It is situated close to the Bazaruto Marine Park famous for it pristine sea life, coral reefs dives, turtle breeding grounds, dugongs and migrant whales For the more active, we boast an extensive knowledge of the area, with our Dive Instructor/fishing expert having operated in these waters for nearly 10 years. Our portfolio includes unexplored dive sites, fantastic surf, fly and big game fishing. A fully equipped SCUBA dive center offering on site PADI courses; boats and fishing equipment for hire, wind surfers, para sailing, banana boating, island trips and transfers, dhow trips, horse riding along the Vilanculos beach and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Archipelago Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing