We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nyati Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nyati Beach Lodge
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

There is a very special quality at Nyati - rustic yet comfortable, relaxed with touches of luxury, a unique location, lots of great activities and passionate owners and staff. The food was simple and the service understated but personal - there are no bells & whistles and yet nothing is too much.

The lodge is situated on a set of dunes with the calm, tidal estuary on one side and endless kilometres of private beach and ocean on the other side. The chalets are spacious and romantic, built from local wood on stilts with decks, bathrooms with slipper baths and outdoor showers.

The main restaurant, bar, lounge and pool area are all open plan and have beautiful 270 degree views overlooking the estuary and ocean - there were humpback whales at the time we visited.

There are some really great activities including a range of dive sites, kiting, nature oriented quad bikes, sandboarding and bodyboarding and an option to overnight and explore the islands on their yacht.

Room Tip: There are great two bed villas right on the beach which are great for families or groups of friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

There are some really amazing qualities about the resort. It is by far the most secluded and rustic hotel we have ever stayed in and after 9 days we were nothing if not completely recharged. We were picked up at the airport and quickly taken over via helicopter which was and epic way to arrive. I highly recommend for divers but not being one myself i was in awe of the quality of deep sea fishing and snorkelling. Kerry did everything possible to keep the days fresh and offer up activities but at time due to weather and or there not being enough petrol on hand for the boat we were a bit stranded.

My largest complaint was the repetitiveness of the food. The first night we were in awe of the prawns that would pass for lobsters in most developed countries along with incredibly fresh fish. However by day 3 it was incredibly monotonous to be served either fried fish with baked potatoes or baked fish with fried potato every. single. day. (for 9 days). Best meal we had was the yellow fin tuna we caught and the chef on site sliced into sashimi for us (which fed the whole hotel.)

Our villa was very close to the errrr reception if that’s what its called, and we had no issues at all with the internet connection. Admittedly the cold salt water showers and the set times of electricity were a shock to us. Also on several occasions we were woken in the middle of the night to monkey's who decided our thatched roof made an excellent trampoline.

I wont be running back to this resort in general but glad we were able to have experienced something straight out of Robinson Curose.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindzry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I spent a night with a few friends at Nyati whilst on our holiday break on the Sanctuary / San Sebastian. A few of us wanted to include a dive and therefore went for the day to Nyati Beach Lodge. Sam who navigated us to our dive spot was an excellent skipper who has incredible skill in navigating the sandbanks en route. Kerry our Dive Master was knowledgeable and always in control and pointed out the white tipped reef shark, a large turtle and an incredible amount of reef fish including some yellow fin tuna!

The dive equipment is unfortunately in need of an upgrade with the wetsuits in quite bad condition as well as corrosion on some of the tanks being two of the things that need to be changed. Hopefully they can update all of this before peak season as the potential is there with some of the best dive spots in the world at your doorstep.

Conrad the manager was amazing. He is very hospitable and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. He has a quiet manner and easily approachable. The Lodge itself has a rustic luxury feel with comfortable chalet's with beautiful views, the outside shower is a lovely way to start and end your day! The food is tasty, well prepared and varied with fresh seafood choices for both lunch and dinner. It is not pretentious in anyway and portion sizes are good. I will definitely return and hopefully see the whale sharks this time round as well as stay a little longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Having grown up in Mozambique and living and working on the bazaruto archipelago for the past 11 years, i would not call myself a tourist....but i certainly lived like one this past weekend at Nyati Beach Lodge. Altough I know eand have stayed at every single resort on the islands this was the first time to go down south and experience this piece of paradise. The accommodation was exceptional, the staff was welcoming making us feel at home from the start and throughout our stay, food was delicious and the setting and activities out of this world. Just to give you a glimpse of what we enjoyed during our very chilled four nights....on our first afternoon we had a good 15 knots of wind and went kite surfing on the leeward side in perfect flat calm water. For the next days we had absolutely gorgeous weather with flat clam seas and blue clean water. We walked on the beach, did some fishing off the beach and the boat, saw whales jumping from the balcony, went out to look for whale sharks and lazily swam with one for about half an hour and had some great snorkeling....ahhhh it was nice to end the day with a massage just before settling in for a sundowner at the bar.....and did I mention the bar, that is what you call a BAR WITH A VIEW!!! To all the staff at Nyati thank you for a very memorable time and we will certainly be seeing you more often.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Duarterato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was lucky enough to spend a few nights at the beautiful Nyati Lodge at the end of May. The location is simply stunning, and I was completely awed at the beauty of our villa, which looks West, so we were additionally treated to amazing views of the sunsets - completely unparalleled! The diving was incredible, and very well organised, and all of the food was fantastic!

Some of the negative reviews here bemoan the lack of full time electricity, phone signal and internet. The whole point of going somewhere like this is to get away and be at one with nature. The showers are salt water, but in my opinion, this was wonderful and simply added to the experience.

All of the staff from the barmen and waiters to the management team were simply charming and no request was too much effort! Thank you for a simply unforgettable experience!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

lodge is beautiful, our room was amazing with a view of paradise. Food was delicious. Staff was great. All in all its a fantastic destination, its unspoilt, as far as you can see theres no other people, its just white beaches and crystal clear blue ocean. Snorkelling was unparralled. Thanks to nyati for giving us an unforgettable breakaway!5 days is not enough and we will def be returning!

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I recently traveled to Mozambique in particular i travelled to Nyati island and had the pleasure of staying at Nyati Beach Lodge. This beautiful rustic uniquely situated lodge is everything we hoped for. We were treated so well by all the staff making us feel so welcome. Each and every staff member goes beyond their "job" to make your trip the best it can possible be. We had the most extraordinary scuba diving experience that left my bucket list one less thing to do. the lodge is surrounded by the most breathtaking underwater diving opportunities, we wholeheartedly thank Kerry for all her efforts in this department.

The Lodge itself was spacious and gorgeous and left nothing to be desired. We spent our days waking up every morning with the ocean a few steps away and either went scuba diving (weather permitting) or lounged on the beach and treated to 3 delectable meals a day.

Everything you hope for from Mozambique is provide by Nyati Beach Lodge. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to get away from it all and in need of some serious RnR time.

Thanks Nyati for an unforgettable, magical and entirely rejuvenating experience!!!!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
7.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
20.1 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
20.4 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
24.2 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
16.9 mi away
Archipelago Resort
Archipelago Resort
#1 of 24 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyati Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyati Beach Lodge

Property: Nyati Beach Lodge
Address: Nyati Island, Vilanculos 1304, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Vilanculos
Hotel Class:4 star — Nyati Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Nyati Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing