We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly special place”
Review of Casa Babi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Babi
Ranked #1 of 8 Vilanculos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly special place”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Babi in mid Nov 2013 for three days after spending a similar time in Tofo. We went especially for the diving (10% discount if you stay at Casa babi) and to see the island of Bazaruto etc. The place exceeded our expectations in all ways. We were picked up from the airport by Virginie who gave us a quick overview of the town. Casa babi's location was absolutely fabulous overlooking the beach where the locals sort through the days catch and little fishing boats are dotted about the shoreline. Our room was on the ground floor with a little deck that opened onto the grass in front. Diving was excellent fun! Francisco, Denis and Virginie all great fun to dive with and the boat ride out to the dive sites was fabulous highlights being turquoise water, dolphins and the bar crossing (life jackets passed around). The diving itself was quite technical at one location with quite strong currents but well worth it for the manta rays. After the freezing water of Tofo it was simply a fantastic couple of days to soak up the sun and have some fun. In between dives at two mile reef we had lunch at Bazaruto and got to climb the giant sand dune - very hot sand so take footwear or a towel.

As other guests have commented, the food as Casa Babi is amazing (at least 3 delicious courses - lobster, fish, mussels in white wine sauce etc etc in the evening) and the generally relaxed atmosphere encouraged by Sabrina and Denis with plenty to drink makes each evening wonderful. The staff (dive guys and house staff) are so friendly and happy it makes you really appreciate how glad they are to be part of Casa Babi and Odysea dive. Overall we wished we had spent more time there than Tofo. Finally, I should mention that the location is pretty central and its really easy to walk into town or just stroll the beach with the dogs in tow. Thanks to everyone at Casa Babi for a fabulous couple of days. Hopefully we will be back to maybe try the rebreather gear!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FozzySYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello S&J, discovered your review 2 days ago... wouldn't have dreamt of a better start of the year. Thank you so much for such a lovely and lively review. This is going to keep us going throughout 2014! We wish you a wonderful year, full of diving and success and hope you'll manage to come here again in the future. We'll definitely have a rebreather waiting for you. All our best, Sabrina, Denis, Virginie and Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
125
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 10 days at Casa Babi. Primarily we chose this particular lodge as it also has the Odyssea Dive Centre and we wanted to take advantage of diving as much as possible during our stay. It was an added bonus that we did not realise the boat would launch with only the 2 of us as we were staying at the lodge, instead of the normal 4, plus the diving was discounted as well so it proved to be an excellent choice based on that alone.

We arrived as a 2 guests but I feel we left as friends for life. Sabrina and Denis are wonderful hosts. Yes even Denis who is not such a grumpy french man :o)
We had some fabulous evenings chatting around with them as well as Virginie and Franscisco all of whom joined us for dinner on a few occasions.
The food is to die for!!! Absolutely divine!! Thank goodness I was burning off the calories diving, because it was hard to resist the 3 course dinners and gorgeous desserts! We came home with a few secret recipes to try and replicate! Everything so fresh, fresh, fresh!

The rooms are really great. All you need. Nice big comfy beds with large mosquito nets that fit perfectly, so nothing can fly in and get you. We had an upstairs room with a balcony and a great view seaview. Nice big shower, plenty of hot water. A safe for locking away your important bits. Flowers in the room on arrival. Everything spotlessly clean. It was our wedding anniversary when we arrived and then made a special effort for that which was a very nice touch.

It is the perfect spot if you are coming to dive or snorkel. But actually all the other guests that came and went whilst we were there were not divers, and just came to relax....and Casa Babi is a great place for that as well. Lots of sun loungers, the beach a few metres away, nice swimming pool...all you need really.

Thanks Sabrina & Denis for a great stay!

We will be back in April 2014... I want to see more turtles, and perhaps a Manta Ray!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discover_Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Gemma and Tharron, thank you for such a complete and wonderful review. We actually don't know what to say! especially coming from someone who has experienced so many different places we really appreciate all your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed every minute of your stay and managed to complete your Open Water Course... that was a proper challenge and we're happy we made you comfortable enough to take it. As you say, we hope a friendship was born. We'll wait for you in April and will do our best to make your new stay even better than the last one. All the best from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Casa Babi

Where to even start...our stay at Casa Babi was so wonderful! Sabrina and Dennis, the owners, were great. We enjoyed sharing dinner and drinks with them on quiet nights.  

The room was comfortable and clean with a lovely porch that had a view of the beach.  The food was fantastic and we opted for almost all of our meals there as we knew the quality and taste would be great. They make there own breads and jams!! And there meals incorporate local and fresh ingredients including seafood and fruits and veggies from their garden. The service was great and the staff friendly.

I was not planning on ever becoming scuba certified, but after seeing the amazing videos and photos from dives in the area and talking to Sabrina and Denis about their experiences, I signed up and started the following morning. Sabrina and Francisco were great instructors and I was confident in their skills and abilities. The dive staff was great!! I loved my open water dives in the area and look forward to future diving adventures!

I would absolutely recommend staying, eating and diving at Casa Babi!! I hope my travels take me back there one day!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keaterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wow Keats, as you say... "where to even start"! thank you so much for all these fabulous comments, This is so much of a reward for us. We've shared with Francisco and the staff. We enjoyed very much having you here and sharing our free time with you. We hope you can enjoy the pictures made during the dives now and that they will keep the memories of these nice moments alive for long.And also, that they will maintain the desire to come and see us again! all the best to Patrick and you. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Casa Babi is a small hotel with just four rooms. This makes it a cosy, homely hotel excellently managed. It is right on the beach and you can easily follow the beach life from the garden of the hotel. Breakfast is cooked freshly for you and you have a choice of a number of things.

All rooms have an excellent sea view of the Indian Ocean and you are just about 15 meters away from the Ocean.

Sabrina cooks herself in the evening. It is a set menu which changes everyday. Beautiful food. We ate there every evening.

We were also on a diving trip which was really well organised and we thus had a closer look at the archipelago. For snorklers and divers there is a variety of beautiful fish.

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and can only recommend it for others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Jonna and Jens, many thanks for all the lovely comments. It's a great reward for us to read so many good things from our guests. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you come to this side of the world. All the best, Sabrina, Denis and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked three nights and wished we had more. The location is magnificent with every room having a beach view, rooms are designed with travelers in mind and all the little details done right.
Food was so good that we didn't eat anywhere else. Sabrina cooks dinner herself they feel more like a dinner party than a lodge.
Kitchen is vegetarian and vegan friendly!
The diving was also great with a fantastic staff of international instructors, excellent equipment and lovely lunches prepared for the group.
Bg thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
hello Maor and Tal, thanks for giving us so quickly such a good feed-back. We would have been very happy to have you here longer but are sure you're enjoying your stay in the paradise lodge of the islands! we hope we'll see you next time your travels take you to this side of the world and I'll make sure we have a large enough array if vegan recipes. I'll boost my vegetable garden! See you soon. All the best. Sabrina, Denis, the staff, the dogs (especially bianca!) and the cats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
334 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place seems to be an extension of the Odyssea Dive operation, with only four rooms to rent and only two tables at the dining area (you can't call that a restaurant), but rooms, garden and common areas are taken care of to the detail, the food is excellent -a set menu, different every day- and the life at the beach upfront may keep your camera busy most of the time. Among the owners couple, Sabrina was always attentive and helpful during our stay and she is obviously the brain at the kitchen, but Denis will certainly never win a sympathy award, apparently single-minded towards diving, which we did not do, although opinions received from diving customers during our stay were quite negative.

Room Tip: Chose the ground floor rooms in preference and you will enjoy the garden for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello Vincenc and Maria,

Thank you for your nice comments on our place, always appreciated.

I’m really sorry for the bad impression you had on me… I’m sometimes called by Sabrina “the grumpy French man” and she is right, I can be much more discreet than she is, reason why I let her dealing with our guests at Casa Babi and I focus on the diving! I can remember you also saw me on the boat, dealing with an unusual situation of divers we were expecting coming with the dhow you were on and that was 1 hour late with difficult weather as well. Maybe a bit of stress for me which probably made me even more “reserved”. Sorry for that. I’ll try to be friendlier in the future!

Thanks for the comments on the food Sabrina and her staff prepare with passion. And you’re right this is not a restaurant… we are not opened to the pubic and much prefer the idea of a dining table where our guests can meet and share their Mozambican experiences.

We hope your feelings about me won’t prevent you from coming to visit us again.

All the best
Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

One of the best places I have stayed at - the owners know how to make your experience special - the rooms are beautiful and clean, the food is great and you can book your dives and day trips directly with them. You can enjoy the paradise landscape from your balcony. One day I will come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hello Isabelle, many thanks for your great review. We're so proud to read this is one of the best places you stayed at... and you know quite a few! We'll be very happy to welcome you back here, maybe in summer... so that you're not too cold!!! all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
1.9 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
2.5 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
21.1 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Babi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babi

Property: Casa Babi
Address: Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Babi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Vilanculos, overlooking the bay of Bazaruto, Casa Babi is the latest addition to accommodation in Vilanculos. Designed by Odyssea Dive as a "boutique hotel," our aim is to meet the needs of travellers, divers and non-divers, who wish to spend some time enjoying our unique decor in a cosy and familiar atmosphere, where details are important. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Babi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing