We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Cabana Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Cabana Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

incredible location, on the beach facing the islands of Bazaruto and Benguerra. Casa Cabana has a very friendly environment, great beach access conditions, a kitesurfing school with top instructors.
The lodge itself is very confortable, clean and welcoming. The daily breakfast is complete and the entire staff are extremely friendly.
To top this idyllic setting, Casa Cabana is run by Vondi. Vondi makes all the difference and is exceptional in making you feel right at home. She is very professional as a lodge manager and goes beyond any job function responsibility by ensuring your wishes, cravings and general wellbeing is 100% assured. This adds to the whole feeling and makes any minor incidents or repairs seem insignificant as her focus is constantly on the client.
We promise to return and wish to thank the entire staff, namely Vondi for making our family of 4 feel so at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaliakra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    29
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was an great holiday experiance Vondi and her staff brilliant !
Rooms comfortable airconditioned great veiw from upsairs cabanas.
Restuarant was great freshwater pool perfect clean .
Location on the beach outstanding , kite surfing ect available next door.
No wonder the place was full of other tourists coming for lunch dinner and drinks!
Will go back for sure
Thank you the Waugh family !

Room Tip: Room 1 great veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in August and had a great time! The beachside location is excellent and the apartments were very comfortable with a beachside rustic feel. The outdoor seating and hammocks were perfect for lazy afternoons. We enjoyed the meals and overall vibe at the attached bar/restaurant which is obviously popular amongst locals and expats. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Vondi, the manager was very helpful and went out of her way to ensure we had a great time and helped us arrange a Dhow safari. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had an extremely relaxed and enjoyable week here at the end of july. We stayed in the manor house which has a great deck with comfy couches and see views.

The location of Casa Cabana on the beach was what drew us there and we were not disappointed. It had great atmosphere compared to some of the other hotels we visited. The restaurant and bar was a great place to hang out and the food was good albeit like everywhere we experienced... Slow! You really need to chill out and enjoy the surrounds when you go to Mozambique as nothing happens fast!

The manager Vondi was extremely helpful and great fun to have a drink with. She was more than happy to take us to the market or any other restaurants we wanted to try.

The rooms were tastefully done but with that beach & view you really never spent anytime in them.

Like everywhere we went the wifi was woeful so don't go to Mozambique trying to stay connected but that's really a good thing on holiday. You can totally switch off.

A very enjoyable time was had, even though July proved to be an extremely windy time of year which made our snorkeling trip out to the islands a pretty hairy experience!

Thank you to Vondi & the staff.
Perfect place to chill out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashpacking40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location right on the beach. No need to leave as the bar and restaurant are on site. Very clean rooms, good showers, fun hammocks. Great spaces in and out doors. No internet or credit card machines, though. The staff was very friendly. The manager, Vondi, comes across as really intense and a bit angry/racist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoseestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent 5 days in this Beautiful place, the staff is very Nice and Kind, particularly "Bobo" a very nice person and the Manager Vandi. We arrived and they welcome us with a nice juice with flowers!!The standard room we booked was very nice, the only thing was that the shower has some problem, but immediately Mrs Vandi moved us in the room upstairs: A wonderful luxury room, well decorated in African Style, beautiful wood hand made fornitures -i wish i can buy one but was too difficult to bring with me at home - :),a nice "amaca" in the terrace where you could relax on the spectacular view of the Ocean and its beautiful colors! All the The staff was very nice, the food was great ...starting from the breakfast to all the other tipical food!
The Restaurant Casbah is on the beach and you could enjoy your meal on the beach with the amazing view of Bazarouto Island!!! It is a Paradise!!!Thanks Bobo for your Kinndness you are a special Person, Thank you Mrs Vandi for your availability!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I didn't expect something like this in Vilanculo. Perfect holiday destination for families right on the beach. Small, just four appartments and a little cottage (that I had booked but that was'nt even ready, so I was promoted to one of the appartments). Friendly staff, fluent in English, relaxed atmosphere, reasonable prices. Children went looking for crabs or kanouing, played cricket in the garden, swam in the little pool and in the Indian Ocean. Very enjoyable climate in August, no need to use the aircon, not too many moskitos. And every day everybody was looking forward to have supper in the little restaurant on the beach. If you prefer catch of the day to Hamburgers this is the right place. Definitely Mosambique and Vilanculo have improved over the last years. What was missing was people from Mosambique enjoying the place.. you rather find white South Africans but also people from Europe. Long trip but worth the effort.

Room Tip: If the owner is not around try to rent his appartment, otherwise No.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babaGustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
13.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#3 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cabana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cabana Beach

Property: Casa Cabana Beach
Address: Beach Rd, Vilanculos 1304, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right on the beach in the centre of Vilanculos bay and all rooms have a spectacular view of the sea. We offer our clients luxury self cater units which come with satellite TV and aircon + fully fitted kitchen/lounge which looks out over the Indian Ocean. Double room + a small back room with a double bunk bed makes these ideal for families with small children. We also have deluxe double rooms which are equally well fitted out with top of the range mattresses and cotton linen without the the self cater option.The well known Casbah restaurant is on site with 5 star catering serving the best fresh seafood and steaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cabana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing