We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Vilanculos you must visit”
Review of Machilla Magic

Machilla Magic
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Machilla Magic is a 'Fair Trade Tourism' Certified community project that works with over 60 artists and their families in Vilankulo (Mozambique) and its surrounding area. We have a wide range of diverse arts and crafts, 95% of which are made from recycled materials. We work on a Fair Trade system with our Artists and all raw materials are harvested in a sustainable way. Prices start at less than one US Dollar.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you are in Vilanculos you must visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a leisurely walk along the beach for a browse aound Machilla Magic. Beautiful cards, pictures, arts and crafts all beautifully displayed. We came away with several purchases and left an order for two wooden trays. Really nice to learn about what they do and a great service. It is so worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanandMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machilla_Magic, Owner at Machilla Magic, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Vilankulo and that Machilla Magic was one of the highlights. We hope that your review encourages other visitors to visit our Gallery and write a review. We shall keep in touch with you regarding the trays.
Kind regards, the Machilla Magic team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inhambane, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A jewel of a gallery”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Let me start by saying that i HATE browsing art galleries. But Machilla Magic is different somehow - maybe its the wide array of offerings, the unusually high level of good design and taste. But this is one gallery I can't wait to visit again. The biggest problem one faces is what NOT to buy (seriously, it's THAT good).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mecklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machilla_Magic, Owner at Machilla Magic, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and let more people know about our Arts and Craft Gallery. We hope to see you again when you next visit Mozambique! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanculos, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“An amazing place to see”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

a lovely place to go to and see , all the arts and crafts that are made from recycled material , and how the help the local community.

grate work guys keep it happening .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WcdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machilla_Magic, Owner at Machilla Magic, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you so much for our positive review. We hope that it inspires future clients to come and visit us here at the Machilla Magic Arts and Craft Gallery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machilla Magic also viewed

Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Machilla Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing