We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Casa Rex hotel is a small charming hotel near the beach in Vilanculos. For those looking to avoid the steep prices of the hotels on the Islands of the coast, I highly recommend this location. The hotel has a lovely view of the beach with a set of stairs leading down to the beach. The rooms were quite large with a balcony view of the ocean, what more could one ask for! The hotel restaurant serves a lovey breakfast and dinner is also a good option. The staff at the hotel were always extremely gracious and accommodating. We recommend a Dhow trip to the Bazaruto archipelago - the whitest sand I have seen! Otherwise, mostly enjoy relaxing on the beach in peace and quiet. I have been in Vilanculos twice now for holidays - the first time was over Christmas and the second shortly after the Easter holidays. In both situations, I found the beaches to be far less occupied than those in Europe.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the far right on the second floor with a beautiful view of sunrise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Gorgeous rooms and attentive service. We found Casa Rex to be wonderfully relaxing. The gardens are beautifully kept and the housekeeping staff are so attentive and rooms spotless. The security guards are also very friendly and the property felt very safe. The food was lovely and very well presented. Excellent variety at breakfast !

We spent most days by the lovely pools or strolled down to the Kitesurfing school, which is a five min walk down the beach. My partner was able to kite surf and I was able to relax in the bar on the beach front. The school also offer storage and will sort your kites out for a small charge every day, so you don't even have to lift a finger !

The hotel were very happy to arrange taxis for you if you wanted to eat out. We did so three nights of our stay just to get out and about and the taxis or Tuks Tuks are very reliable.

I would highly recommend a trip out to one of the Islands. The Kitesurfing school ( Mark) organised us a wonderful trip to Magaruque and being the low season we were the only people there. We had a fabulous snorkel and lunch and my partner kitesurfed back to the mainland whilst we went back on the Dhow.

A very relaxing holiday and the staff cannot do enough for you. If you are a keen Kite surfer consider going in September when the downwind is on and although not perfect wind in Feb, my partner did manage to get a session in everyday we were there. If you are a Kitesurfing widow like me, the casbah bar @ the kite school is excellent for afternoon drinks and food ( whilst watching the goings on) and the Casa Rex pools delightful to lounge around all day if you prefer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Casa Rex’s approach to their customers could be summed up by the phrase “Attention to detail”. Nothing is too much to ensure the guests enjoy their stay. The management and the staff just can’t do enough to help you. Shortly after we arrived, for an eight day break over Christmas, there was an equipment malfunction in our room. This couldn’t have been predicted by the hotel but in under 15 minutes they had upgraded not only us but also our daughter who was in the adjoining room. Even though the problem in our room was rectified relatively quickly we were all allowed to stay in the nicer rooms. During the holiday we had an emergency to attend to in town and the hotel not only arranged for a courtesy car to take us there, and pick us up afterwards, but also kept the kitchen open for us so that we didn’t miss breakfast when we arrived back. Trust me, you don’t want to miss breakfast at Casa Rex. It’s fantastic and having travelled a lot on business I have seen a huge range of hotel breakfasts worldwide. The choice at Casa Rex is extensive (cereals, pastries, fresh yoghurt, nuts, fruit, juices) and the cooked breakfasts are works of art. One item on the menu was tomato/chilli infused rye bread, with fresh avocado topped with a poached egg and crispy bacon. You can eat as much as you like and you are never rushed. All this is served by the most friendly staff, on the open air terrace overlooking the well managed grounds with a sea view. We took half board at $35 per day and that gave us an unlimited choice from the a la carte evening menu. The evening meals are very good although not reaching the heights of the breakfasts. There is plenty of sea-food (the prawns are massive), salads and other dishes to keep you satisfied. The curries and Thai prawn soup are quite mild but still very enjoyable. The wine list is not that extensive but highly drinkable. The mark up on the wine is high by local standards but was still cheap compared to ordering in most UK restaurants or hotels. If you order house wine by the glass, it is also very drinkable and the glasses very large. The other drinks are really reasonable. A good sized G&T will cost you close to £2.50 and the equivalent of a UK treble about £4. Highly recommended, especially on your balcony as the sun goes down.
The rooms are nicely furnished, vary in style and size and are air conditioned as well as having ceiling fans. The beds are large, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Each room has either a balcony or a patio area, facing the gardens and the sea.
Within the grounds there are two swimming pools (including one infinity pool looking out to the beach), which are kept spotlessly clean. Fresh towels are provided poolside throughout the day and we never had a problem finding a sunbed, no matter when we arrived.
The beach is less than 5 minutes away but there are quite a few easy steps to negotiate as Casa Rex is located quite high up (giving you the great sea views). The beach is just beautiful to walk on and the sea is very safe as it is quite shallow for a long way out. If you like snorkelling I would recommend the dhow trip to the nearby islands. All the equipment is provided. In fact I would recommend the trip anyway, even if you don’t swim or snorkel. It is just beautiful to be there and the actual boat trip was so relaxing, returning under sail.
If we had the opportunity, we would not hesitate to return to Casa Rex. A big “Thank You” to all the staff for making the trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Great views from the upper level rooms although still good at the lower garden level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a great hotel, the rooms are really nice, the whole place is beautifully kept, the staff are excellent, extremely helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was great. Good secure parking and quiet rooms. I can highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a stunning place Casa Rex is ! The accommodation,setting ,view,staff and food was stunning! Was a bit nervous driving so far north, but so happy we did,would go back to Casa Rex anytime again and again!! Thanks to Mel and all the staff for making our holiday in Vilanculos a truly memorable holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leons73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Pool and views were our memorable moments, just amazing! We came from Bazaruto, and Villanculos was our stop for a couple of hours. Rooms are amazing, big and comfortable. Very good, I would like to stay there at least for one week. Congratulations!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre_m_torre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Casa Rex is a perfectly sized hotel overlooking the beach in Vilanculos. While it is not at beach level (it sits on a cliff) I personally prefer the views it gives you, and it is very easy to just walk a few metres down to the beach. The rooms are very nice, spacious and airy, beds are comfortable and have good pillows and linen. The central area around the garden is vey well laid out, with great views over the sea and the coast from the restaurant, and two well designed pools.

The restaurant makes great seafood, all fresh and really well cooked and presented. They are not so good at the more exotic stuff (the curries are very mild and a bit on the bland side, as is the Thai food), but then that is not what one looks for at the coast. Their fresh bread is to die for and the scones at breakfast are outstanding (as all the other pastry). The breakfast selection is creative and delicious, and the filtered coffee (my personal benchmark) is nice strong and always on the go. Espressos / Cappucinos are always available on order.

The staff are very attentive, just the right way, and super-friendly. As a family with young children we felt a bit out of place in the first few days, as the guests were all a bit older, but then other families arrived. The hotel is definitely very child friendly and never minded the mess our baby left behind at the table every time we ate ! We have immensely enjoyed the time there and it is definitely a place we will come back to !

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard room which may be a bit more exposed to outside noise, but nights are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.6 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
71 reviews
20.8 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts

Address: 17-19 Bairro de Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: £115 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel, you will instantly feel at peace - surrounded by the lush gardens overlooking the turquoise crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Our room types are spacious & comfortable, each with an individual style and breezy perspective of the bay. Wireless internet access is found throughout the hotel for your convenience & for business traffic, we have conference facilities. The lounge and dining area, with custom crafted wood furniture and fittings and large sofas will make you feel right at home.... Casa Rex is renowned for its excellent open air a la carte restaurant, including a magnificent array of fresh seafood dishes and imported wines, many guests like to try the crisp local beer. A range of activities are available from Casa Rex including scuba diving and snorkeling at magnificent world renowned sites. Unbelievable deep sea fishing is most popular here & one has the opportunity to fish multiple areas around and past the islands. Go on an island dhow safari, or visit the islands - Bazaruto, Benguerra, Margaruque & Santa Carolina - by motorized boat. Or try your hand at the exhilarating kite surfing, with kiting safaris for the more experienced. Whale watching is best from August to October, and sunset cruises in traditional dhows a favorite with most holiday-makers . If you want a change from being on and in the water, try horse riding along the beach. Explore the local market, schools and visit the various craft shops for a taste of the local culture. After an active day, relax with Spa treatments from our visiting therapists, sip sundowners on the Casa Rex terrace or refresh yourself in one of our 2 sparkling swimming pools overlooking the harbor - the perfect way to end a day.....or begin one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rex Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing