We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable food!”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family ended up at the Dugong Beach Lodge after the fire last winter canceled our planned stay at marlin Lodge. What a wonderful surprise. Our rooms were at the very end of the hotel which gave our family (myself, husband and three kids) our own private area with plunge pool and decks. The water came right up to our decks at high tide and provided a beach at low tide. The hotel was peaceful and serene which was what we needed after the hectic beginning of our trip. The food was the most unexpected surprise. The cook was so talented and very modest. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a generator problem one night and it was pretty hot but we did not care. Our whole family loved this place!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were in Dugong Beach last Januari, and we enjoyed it very much.
The staff with Arthuro, Domingo, Art, and all the others were extremely helpfull and friendly. No question was to much.
The cook Alex prepared delicious seafood, such as lobster, the crabs that we catched in the afternoon on the sandbank in front of the lodge, lamb chops, and original desserts.
All the local drinks were included.
The surroundings were beautifull and quietl.
The only remark we had was the generator that didn't work from time to time.

Linda and Chris

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris-LindaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had the most wonderfull honeymoon at Dugong Beach lodge in june 2012. It was the perfect setting for a romantic trip. The landscape is beautiful, with white beaches and green mangrove. All the staff was very friendly. The manager Brian and the assistant manager was very helpful and saw to that we got everything we needed and got to experience some of the trips the fantastic surroundings had to offer. We went deepsea fishing and caught some fine and big kingfish, while looking over the blue sea with dolphins and seaturtles. Just infront of the restaurant we went snorkelling every day and saw thousands of colorfull fish. The chef Alex prepared delicious seafood and as all other staff he was smiling all the time. It was the most fantastic place we ever visited and we will come back some day.
Jens and Cæcilie

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Cille_Jens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I don't even know where to begin. We were moved to Dugong Lodge after Marlin Lodge experienced a fire. We were a few days away from our wedding and expected our agency, Go2Africa, to do right by us and find us a comparable place. We had no idea what a nightmare it would be.

The lodge was powered on a generator that was shut off frequently during the day and night. This meant:
- We could not shower since there was rarely hot water
- Sleep was not possible since the AC always shut off as temperatures soared to 90+ degrees

Our room was infested with cockroaches.
- We informed the GM (Brian) of this after finding multiple roaches in the shower and bathroom.
- The room was fumigated - which we then had to sleep in - and two days later more roaches were crawling throughout the room. We truly tried to brush it off the first time, but after a fumigation and more roaches, it was clear conditions were unsanitary.
- One reason may be that the staff left clean bedding out on the floor outside, and then put them on the beds. We have photos of this (posted).
- Brian and the management lied to our travel agency and said we only had one cockroach, and that we were making it up. Because you know, I wanted cockroaches on my honeymoon. PLEASE!

There was not proper security.
- Almost every night we listened to locals swimming and yelling in the ocean which was just yards from us, while also driving cars right next to our lodge.
- One would think we could just call reception however there was no phone in the room. Also with the power being out, it was unsafe to go on the unlit walkways to find security / a manager.
- One guest - whose lawn chairs were stolen - did wander out one evening and found the one night guard sleeping on the deck. We felt unsafe, and had no connection to manager / staff members during evening hours. One night, several days in, I called our travel agency in a panic asking to be moved. I felt unsafe, surrounded by roaches and with no way to reach someone if needed.

Water was brown and not drinkable.
- We understand that some areas we were traveling to may have this as the case, however the situation was exacerbated by us only getting one water a day to drink from-unless of course we paid extra. This is just unacceptable in such high heat conditions. And remember, no power so your fridge in the room didn't work to keep water cold!

The service at the lodge was appalling, and almost every guest there was clearly disgruntled. Some examples:

Whenever asking for coffee, food, a paddle for a kayak, you had to ask two or three times. The staff would forget or say "yes" when they didn't understand the request. This happened 5x a day easily. Food orders were almost always wrong / forgotten about.

Brian was the only person on staff who would resolve issues and communicate actual answers to us . But he was rarely at the lodge or available. When we would ask to see him we were almost always told "he's not here" or "he will come see you in a few minutes" (which never would happen, and we would just go looking for him ourselves again). Then, he told our agency we were liars so shame on us for trusting him.

Meal times were always changed. We were frequently told to show up at a certain time and would wait 1, even 2 hours (on New Years Eve) to eat. This was especially annoying since "free drinks" didn't start until dinner did.

I booked a massage in hopes of salvaging things. The woman was late, did not have towels (I gave her the ones from my room) and performed it in a hallway outside my door so I was very exposed. It was supposed to be for 60 minutes and it lasted 25. I would have told her to keep going but she was yawning through much of it.

On many occasions, the staff opened our locked door when we had a do not disturb sign up.

We were told there would be activities on NYE and an open bar - this was not the case.

The last night we were told to meet at 10:15 AM to resolve our bill by Ernesto (another manager). We requested Brian to be there too, and were told that he would be. 10:15 rolls around and we are told "you don't have a bill, you were all inclusive" by Ernesto. This made no sense and I requested a receipt which he said he could not give me. We asked for Brian, were told he was at another resort and could not meet. Of course, we ended up finding Brian ourselves who said that due to all of our issues we're not being charged for anything and he would be in communication with Go2Africa about a refund. (Please note, he then claims we left without paying - such lies!)

We were supposed to leave at 10:30 AM via boat to make our flight but until Brian showed up - at 10:40 - no-one was even preparing the boat to leave.

To top this all off - and mentioned a bit before - we lodged a complaint with our travel agency. They of course went to Dugong / Legends to clear things up. The hotel is saying we are lying and refused to pay our bill. This is not even close to the truth. They are lying - after taking several thousands of dollars from us. They claim they didn't charge us for extras, when we were not even presented that option, or a bill upon us leaving!!! RIDICULOUS!

PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID. BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE! It is not worth your money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
63  Thank wiseg1rly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The best features are the exquisite natural landscape, with the lodge location well thought out and pitched within the boundary of the mangrove environment. The staff are lovely, extremely friendly and always helpful. A highlight is the food, not lots of choice but simply and magnificently presented and prepared. The buildings and infrastructure of the lodge are within a year or so of needing refurbishment, however rooms are very comfortable and more than acceptable -(systematic use of insect repellant is a must really and should be expected for this type of environment). The "wet transfer" was fun.....rolled up trousers and shoes off, to paddle and climb into the small launch ferrying you to and from the resort. Some disappointment with the lack of information about trips available, meal times etc. However, for those with an assertive streak, not really a problem. Flamingos and dolphins are never far away with mornings and evenings being the bests times for sightings. The generator was a problem during our stay and one night free of air con was not good. Overall, a very special experience where tourist development is not quite completed. Long may it stay that way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Michelle Bouic - Client Liaison & Branding Executive - Legend Lodges, Hotels & Resorts at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Gillian F

Thank you for taking the time to review Dugong. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay and that found it to be Legendary. We apologise for the lack of information regarding the tours and that you had an aircon problem. It is however heartening to see that these small issues did not dampen your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dugong Beach Lodge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Mozambique is a lovely destination for a holiday and the people of Mozambique are very friendly and nice. But don,t be fooled by website pictures or by travel agent recommendations when choosing a location. I chose Dugong Lodge based on travel agent recommendations and website pictures. It was a big mistake. They did not tell me: (a) there is hardly any beech at the lodge (b) electricity would be purposely disconnected at night (c) the roof in my toilet would constantly leaking , (e) the accommodation I was promised never materialized, and (f) there would only be one other Chalet occupied. The staff, who were very helpful, were much more than the guests. The Lodge is located literally in the middle of no where. The only way to get somewhere with other holidaymakers is a one hour boat ride from the Dugong Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank sabry_heakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle B, Senior Marketing Assistant, OBO General Manager at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Sabry


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your complaint was dealt with, as far as we were concerned, directly with your travel agent to your satisfaction and refunds were affected. A copy of the apology letter sent to your travel agent is available should you require it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Spent five days in this place of paradise. But its not only the location, but the excellence all round - from the staff (Brian, Ernesto), the absolutely incredible food (Alex), beautiful rooms, and activities: Snorkelling, Sailing to Hoby, Boat rides, Safari, and the unbelievable view at "Worlds View".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with its own pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
13.9 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
220 reviews
13.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
12.8 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
19.3 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
439 reviews
16.3 mi away
Santorini Mozambique
Santorini Mozambique
#3 of 25 in Vilanculos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: £344 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing