We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience of a lifetime!”
Review of Dugong Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dugong Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Potchefstroom, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wow what an amazing holiday this has been! Dugong beach lodge truly went above and beyond all that I expected. To relax in luxury and be able to visit such a magnificant location is something that I think only a lucky few are able to do and I am certainly thankful that I could be one of them!

The Dugong team were so friendly and nothing was ever to much to ask. Not only were we waded on by hand and foot but also ate like kings...the food was out of this world! As if this wasn't already enough, our rooms were exquisite! I was also amazed to see the amount and variety of fish while snorkeling at the lodge, in one word AWESOME!!

Thank you to the Dugong team for making our trip one that I will remember for the rest of my life! I hope that I will be able to visit you again some time in the future so that I can once again experience Mozambique the way that everyone should!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinhardtvanstaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reinhardtvanstaden
Thank you for finding the time to post this awesome review about your stay at our property. We are delighted to read that you stay was a magical one and that our team delivered a Legendary service that we strive to deliver at all times. We thank you for the compliments and have passed them on the Dugong Team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere luxurious in/around Vilanculos. One of the prerequisites is that we wanted aircon as it was March and very hot. What they fail to explain is that they do have aircon and fans but the generator turns off at mid-night and only comes on again at 07h00 in the morning. So you go to bed with aircon on and windows closed (because of all the mozzies) and early hours of the morning, you start sweating. You eventually have to open the windows and naturally all the mozzies flood in and buzz around your net and keep you awake or find their way into the mozzie net. Either way you cannot sleep. Dugong promised to keep the generator on the whole night after the second night of this happening but failed on their promise. The generator went off the same time and came on again at the same time but they explained that the generator was faulty and the technician could not fix it in the dark??? We wanted famous Mozambiquen R & R's but they had no Raspberry Juice. The list goes on ... it was a very disappointing stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WarrenFarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear WarrenFarrer,

It is with disappointment that we read your review on Dugong Beach Lodge. We strive to create a truly Legendary experience for all our guests and apologise that this was not the case for you. We however can advise that while we welcome constructive comments, we take all complaints extremely seriously and can assure you that a proper investigation is taking place. We have been experiencing problems with our generators with parts having to be ordered. We can confirm that the parts have been sent to Dugong, from South Africa and the generators are working once again. While the policy is to switch the generators off from midnight to sunrise, exceptions are made with extremely warm weather. We can also advise that our MD and CEO are on the property at the moment and have been informed of the issues you experienced and will personally investigate.
Warren, our lodge is known for its tranquillity and luxury, its wonderful service and team and of course, the natural beauty of its location. To read that your time with us was not made of that is concerning. While we do understand that your current perception of our lodge is marred, we can only hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights here. The adventure starts with a paddle from Velanculos Beach out to your speedboat for a 50 minute cruise to the Dugong Beach Lodge. We were greeted with a song from the staff assembled on the wooden jetty. Our lodge was built in traditional style right on the beach. It was very spacious and very comfortable with many attractive features as part of the design. OK the power gets turned off at bedtime and you share your lodge with a friendly lizard and occasional insects - but this is Africa and all part of the experience. The accommodation includes a shaded deck and one for sunbathing with a plunge pool to hand. The service was absolutely first class and the food was consistently very good. Eating a superb dinner under a star-filled sky is an experience to remember. Encouragingly the staff were all local. There is a good range of activities on offer including sailing, fishing and snorkelling. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the lodges are on the beach - so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkeneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

After just over 2 weeks in SA, we travelled to Dugong Beach Lodge on the 27th Jan 14, and stayed for 5 nights. The transfer from Vilanculos was different, an open safari type truck took us to the beach where we had to wad through warm water to the motor boat. The ladies found a little difficult to get onto the boat. Once on a good 50min trip across the bay, on arrival all the staff greeted us, superb. We had lunch and were shown to our rooms, very nice, indoor and outdoor showers indoor bath and a very comfy bed with a bacon inc loungers. The down side was the water, none in the taps to run a bath and only luke water in the two showers. However the hot water gat sorted after 2 days. The food was excellent and a great choice, the bar was well stocked and drinks apart from wine was cheap. We did have a problem in determining what wine was included in the package, but after a meeting with the Manager we resolved the issue to everyones satisfaction. So if you go there find exactly whats included and what you have to pay for. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us, the AC worked all the time save for occasionally 15 mins shut down to check the main generator. We had a fab day on a deserted island , 2 staff came with us and while we all went snorkelling the staff set up tables, umbrellas and our lunch including wine & beers, a very hot day, but truly memorable. On our last night a table was set up on pier and we enjoyed a great dinner served by the staff under the stars, excellent. Overall a friendly place to stay and different from the hotels in SA. We where never in doubt that we were safe and security was good. Oh the sunsets were the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: All 8 villas/rooms where the same except 2 rooms had a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish River, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Dugong Lodge must have been fantastic a few years back, situated as it is right on the beach of the beautiful bay between the mainland and the Sanctuary peninsular. You get the sense that the creaking infrastructure has been neglected and we were subjected to constant power failures and dodgy brown water from the taps. Could hardly see what we were eating some nights. The swimming pools were dirty and the slate tiles around them sharp and flakey. The rooms are good with too large furniture (many bruises to prove that) but the bathrooms are lovely. The beds were so uncomfortable we slept on top of the bedding, my sheets had holes in them. It was the quality of the staff that made our stay. We never saw any of them without a beautiful smile and an eagerness to make us comfortable. It made up for having to use our cellphone to light the way home each night and the really weird hyperbole sprouted by the incumbent manager ...

Room Tip: The end rooms are interconnected family rooms with private pools and are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Dugong Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Claire B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and the kind words about our team at the Lodge. Dugong has, as you can see, often been the recipient of praise for its location, and definitely the delightful team on hand. We are however disheartened to read that your visit was not the complete Legendary experience we strive to create for all our guests. All your points have been taken up with Management and the Team onsite and attended to as required. We understand from the General Manager that with the extreme heat, the generator seized and needed repairing, which was done over 2 days. While we recognise that this was an inconvenience, we do trust you appreciate that our team did everything within their power to ensure the generator was repaired as timeously as possible. Dugong has also been the recipient of a decent amount of rain, accounting for the colour of the pool water (as the water drips off the thatches overhanging). However we understand that once the weather cleared the pools were tended to and restored to their usual sparkling blue.
Claire, we trust that these minor infractions do not deter you from visiting our wonderful property again, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the lodge and everything was perfect. Great room and service, great food and friendly staff. We were spoiled to the very last minute and enjoyed it very much. The fact that we were the only guests for a couple of nights did not turn off the staff and they didn't disappoint us with service.

The only downside is the beach which, at the time, disappeared during high tides (for about 3-4 hours of the day). Hopefully it's not the case now since I'm also aware that this may happen during some years and the sea might return a few hundred meters in other years.

Recommended location.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My family ended up at the Dugong Beach Lodge after the fire last winter canceled our planned stay at marlin Lodge. What a wonderful surprise. Our rooms were at the very end of the hotel which gave our family (myself, husband and three kids) our own private area with plunge pool and decks. The water came right up to our decks at high tide and provided a beach at low tide. The hotel was peaceful and serene which was what we needed after the hectic beginning of our trip. The food was the most unexpected surprise. The cook was so talented and very modest. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a generator problem one night and it was pretty hot but we did not care. Our whole family loved this place!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
13.3 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
13.9 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 8 in Vilanculos
199 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 8 in Vilanculos
88 reviews
17.7 mi away
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Azura Benguerra Island
Azura Benguerra Island
#1 of 2 in Benguerra Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dugong Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dugong Beach Lodge

Property: Dugong Beach Lodge
Address: Vilanculos Coastal Wildlife Sanctuary | San Sebastian Peninsula, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dugong Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 000 hectares of pristine Marine and Wildlife territory, it provides a unique Beach & Wilderness Experience in a hidden corner of sub-tropical Africa. This diverse eco-system of wilderness and wetland, with its powder white beaches and crystal clear water is host to a magnificent array of fish, dolphin and most importantly, the nearly extinct "Atlantic Dugong" (which resembles a sea lion). Shallow and deep water reefs reveal beautiful creatures such as the great leatherback turtles, sailfish and manta ray. Deep-sea fishing of marlin and barracuda is truly spectacular and the large flocks of flamingos and pelicans are a sight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dugong Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dugong Beach Hotel Vilanculos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing