We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Review of Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pescador
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is the place to visit, we stayed at Pescador for a night's break away. Beautiful decor, clean rooms, fantastic linen, very nice views, great (15 out of 10) service. The food is absolutely amazing, well balanced with flavours to remember forever. Our next visit is already planned and I can not wait....

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms with the beach view, the sunrise is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizel_Theron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

It started with not being collected from the airport despite contacting the hotel a couple of days before and receiving a email promising some one would be there to meet us, they then lied to us and said some one had been at airport but earlier, the time they quoted was just after we had arrived, my husband checked the time on his atm slip and yes we were at airport waiting for them. So big fat lie, no apologises or gestures to make up for the fact it cost approx £22.00 for a 15 min taxi trip!
The good points for this hotel is the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms great and the waiters and house keeping staff delightful. The bad is it is surrounded by a 5m high wall with electric fence, had no were comfortable to sit, 2 large TVs that are on all the time at full volume and competing with the music at the same time, the management were not interested. We did get upgraded to a better room but the previous room was very small. We felt claustrophobic and generally unwanted except by the waiters who were very kind. The interior is heavy and more on the lines of a bar/pub there is no sea view and the walk to the beach is down the road then down a high walled alley. I just wanted to go home it was my idea of hell, we escaped to another hotel and then the magic of Mozambique opened up. If you like drinking lots of beers and enjoy DSTV this is hotel for you, however if your going to Vilanculos to experience the magic of the country this is not for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Pescador hotel was a short walk from our hotel and we called firstly for a meal which was very good matched with very efficient service. You can eat inside or outside by the pool. They also have a bar up stairs (with sport showing on the TV) and we noticed they had a happy hour for cocktails between 4 and 6 each evening. We called again for cocktails after a successful fishing trip and whilst they are good value there is not a lot of choice and the bar man seemed to be having difficulty completing some of them. That said we would recommend for a drink if you are passing but we considered the restaurant to be one of the better in the area and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kascrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in another hotel but enjoyed many lunches and lazy days by the pool at Pescador. The lunch was always delicious, the staff so friendly and helpful and the pool sparkling clean. The upstairs bar was great for cocktails and watching rugby. Highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel mainly because the service was of excellent standard.
Vilankulo being very spread location is always a problem as you'll be far from something - e.g.we had a 40 mins walk to reach our diving centre! but it was convenient for good restaurants like Samara and Casa Rex.
The facilities and rooms are not particularly imaginative or beautiful but very comfortable and well kept.
Food was very good - there was lots of variety for breakfast and we also enjoyed a very good dinner.
But above all what we liked most was the fantastic service! The managers Carlos and Alfredo were very attentive and helpful and provided us information and helped us organsie activities, restaurants and transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I spent 2 days at Pescador with my girlfriend, we are a 30 yr old couple and were looking for a stop ovber place where we could walk to the town from, try a restaurant or 2 and relax before heading to Maputo.

Pros:
-Well run and extremely friendly helpful staff, who speak English very well
-Breakfast nothing fancy but got all you need
-pool area and restaurant is very relaxed area, good for a break after the boat or walking
-restaurant very nice and decent food
-location great for walking into town, boat ride to Bazaruto, beach (keep in mind beach in Vilanculos for most of the day has such low tide that it is impossible to swim)
-Rooms are simple but kept very neat and tidy
-laundry is free for the clothes that you have worn while staying at hotel
-wifi free
-free insect repelant in all rooms

Cons
- dont stay in rooms by the pool the mosquitos seem to habg out there is an there is no sunlight.

All in all for what you pay you don't feel like you are getting ripped off like in most of Africa. The hotel is good location, good people , good food and 10min drive to airport.

If i go back to Vilanculos i would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Dont stay in rooms by the pool the mosquitos seem to habg out there is an there is no sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ziv o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed there in July 2013, the hotel was rather empty in this low season. The rooms were good, even if they gave us the ines in the dark area, they should have upgraded on sea view... The food is very good, the best crab samosas I had in moz.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank lafforgue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanculos
0.7 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
12.6 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 9 in Vilanculos
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dona Ana
Hotel Dona Ana
#4 of 9 in Vilanculos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#3 of 9 in Vilanculos
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
220 reviews
19.9 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pescador

Address: Beach Road, Vilanculos 258 293, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range: £76 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking The Bazaruto Archipelago, Pescador Hotel offers exclusive accommodation and fine dining in the vibrant coastal town of Vilankulo. All rooms have magnificent ocean views and air conditioning. There is also a salt water swimming pool and five fully equipped offices, with ADSL access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing