We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bykenhulle House B&B
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a great experience at this B&B. It's a beautiful old home with a ton of charm. Very hospitable. We went to sleep with a log burning in the fireplace in our room. Very relaxing. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the comfortable bed and company at breakfast. The grounds are meticulous and the home nearly so. Unfortunately the property backs to the Taconic parkway, which is now a very busy traffic route, but for the most part the noise is not noticeable inside the house, only outside, and the traffic is only visible through the trees. The staff is quite charming and accommodating. Breakfast options were wonderful, but not plenty. If you come with much of an appetite and are considerate of the small portions, you may leave hungry. With this in mind, if the house is full, you will not want to be the last to arrive for breakfast! Our room was very clean. If anything needed attention, it was the bathroom fixtures. Overall a very nice place and I would recommend it and would go back given the opportunity. Much nicer option than the local hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip78726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

what a beautiful place to have a wedding. the grounds are immaculate. beautiful sun shiny gardens with a pretty little fountain near the gazebo which was a perfect place for a wedding ceremony. the out door paved patio was perfect for cocktail hour and the ballroom with beautiful gold chandeliers made for a fantastic reception. the staff is very kind and did not hover or interfere with the wedding party but at the end of the evening was helpful with clean up and loading up of vehicles with heavy items that family brought to venue. everyone in attendance was wowed with the venue and its charm. the bride and groom had a lovely room in the bed and breakfast and were treated to a homecooked breakfast complete with fresh flowers. we couldnt have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We enjoyed two nights in the third floor suite. It's a huge room with a Jacuzzi tub in the room, as well as a regular tub and separate shower in the bathroom. Large windows make it very cheerful. The bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi was a bit weak but still worked acceptably. Flat screen TV near the bed had a full cable channel lineup. Huge 6 acre site with large garden is well groomed with formal gardens and gazebo. They cater to weddings, which are undoubtedly lovely in this setting.

Rene is the hostess, and she is fantastic as a concierge as well. She booked all our dinner reservations and printed maps to their locations. (GPS or phone-maps help as well, since there are lots of small connecting roads in this rural area.) Nearest fine dining restaurant was about 18 minutes drive. Both of her restaurant choices were great.

It's about a 25 minute drive into Poughkeepsie and adjacent Hyde Park with the Vanderbilt Estate and Roosevelt Museum, making this B&B close enough to use as a base while still getting the feel of rural lifestyle.

Finally, the breakfast has been vastly improved since the 2012 comment. Now, it's a feast. Eggs, bacon, coffee cake, fruit, along with vegetable offerings of asparagus, tomatoes, and squash. Really, it's a fine dining experience. We loved our stay here and recommend it for anyone who likes a chance to enjoy rural life, while still having fine dining and attractions within about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: The third floor suite is wonderful, but with no elevator the two flights of stairs might be difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This inn was a great place to spend our anniversary. The owner is a wonderful host who has led an interesting life. The rooms are homey and spotless. The house is filled with wonderful furniture and homey touches. Breakfast was good and filling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Spend some time conversing with the owner. He is retired from IBM and holds patents for some major computer innovations. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfast was good but not outstanding. The place has a homey feel with family pictures about.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Bykenhulle House. We arrived about 2 hours before check-in, and decided to see if the rooms were ready at that time - which they were, which was a pleasant surprise.
However, when we arrived, the innkeeper - Jackie - was not at the inn, but instead one of the owners - Bill - was there running things. He told us that the rooms were ready and that we could check in, but he wasn't too familiar with the entire process. It took him quite some time to figure out which room we were in and to send us on our way. He left to take care of stuff elsewhere, and about 10 minutes later we realized we had some questions for him that he hadn't answered, and we were unable to find him to ask our questions. At the same time, another couple arrived to check-in, and was similarly confused as to what to do. We finally resorted to calling Jackie's cell phone, and she answered our questions, and said she was going to track down the owner. We later found out that this was one of Jackie's first vacation days in years - so I don't think we had a typical experience. However, this was pretty frustrating.
Overall, the place was fine for what we needed - basically just a place to sleep, and a decent breakfast the next morning. However, the whole experience felt like intruding at your grandparents house. The house is filled with antiques, and the owners live in the building, so you feel like you have to sneak around and be quiet. I would not recommend this to younger couples, although it would probably be sufficient for older couples.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdka421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell Junction
1.4 mi away
Le Chambord Hotel
Le Chambord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hopewell Junction
209 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
82 reviews
7.6 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bykenhulle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bykenhulle House B&B

Property: Bykenhulle House B&B
Address: 21 Bykenhulle Rd, (Near Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park and Rhinebeck), Hopewell Junction, NY 12533-6321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hopewell Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hopewell Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bykenhulle House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL 1841 GREEK REVIVAL HISTORIC MANOR HOUSE The Bykenhulle House offers the perfect setting for your vacation, wedding or special event. Located on 6 beautifully manicured acres in Dutchess County (60 miles from NYC), this historic site features 2 exquisite gardens, an elegant ballroom, and a Manor House with 6 uniquely styled guest rooms.The Bykenhulle House B&B is a great hideaway only 90 minutes from NYC and in the heart of the Hudson Valley. Come visit us and find out why National Geographic Traveler's Magazine placed the Hudson Valley on their 2013 top 25 places to visit! We're located near Poughkeepsie, Rhinebeck and Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bykenhulle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing