We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of our Namibia Trip”
Review of Camp Kipwe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Kipwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

To sum up, it was the best lodge we stayed in during our Namibia trip. See comments below:

- Excellent Food
- Excellent Location
- very friendly and compentent staff
- great sundowners
- great gamedrive to desert elephants

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravellerFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived at Camp Kipwe ready for a comfortable night and a refreshing shower and that's exactly what we got, and more. The location is stunning, the rooms are beautifully appointed, and the outdoor shower is a treat. We had a wonderful meal and sundowners up at the lookout. And we booked in for the elephant trip upon arrival, and it was well worth it - we saw so many elephants! I would recommend this place for any couple looking for a romantic stop over in Damaraland, we felt refreshed and ready to tackle another week of camping after staying here.

Room Tip: We were in one of the first rooms you see at the entrance and it was brilliant - we were one of only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is an exceptional lodge by any standards. Great rooms, efficient airconditioning, delightfully designed outside shower room, basin etc.
Quiet, relaxed, understated luxury lodge in the middle of nowhere. Not much game seen as it had rained quite a lot in the last few weeks but we did see the famous desert elephants which were about one hours drive away.
Location is one of the best we have visited in 30 years travelling in Africa. Stunning views and plenty of local culture to sample over a two or three day visit, including bushman rockcarvings and a petrified forest.
Do not go here expecting a game lodge but there is game to see as well as plenty of interesting birdlife, all in an amazing position.

The staff were all first class as was the food. A memorable stay that we could recommend to anyone looking for an unspoilt African experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the restaurant area. All rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was an amazing experience to stay here! Our travel agency had booked this place for us so we did not know what to expect and were so happy to arrive here at this amazing location after driving for hours through the desert. Service was wonderful. Location totally unique and the rooms really nice. Food was great and wine selection surprisingly good! Would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and beautiful here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiFo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were two families and we stayed at Kipwe for one night on the way to Etosha from Swakopmund. The location and the rooms are incredible. We did no go on the elephant excursion, but we had been promised a nature walk at the time of booking. This never happened - when we asked about it, we were told that we should have booked in advance (something we were told was to be included). The sundowner is a nice experience, but the drinks were not very good. In addition, one of the rooms had no electricity for the entire night and no hot water for showers. We felt that this should have been compensated for, but it was not. We had to pay for every drink we ordered, and we felt this was very petty. Elsewhere in Namibia, the drinks were included in the price of lodgings. Kipwe is an expensive hotel, and soft drinks should be included in the price. Yet, Adrian was a very nice manager, and we felt that he did his best to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Kipwe in mid-December. Pre-Xmas it was very quiet and peaceful there and the weather couldn't have been better. Andy and Adrian did their very best to ensure that we had a lovely time, which we did. Very nice food, friendly staff and unique lodging made for a great time at Kipwe. Also Chloe the half African Wild Cat was a lovely house pet as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Nov-13. Delicious food, amazing location/setting and a perfectly chilled pool (small but no one else was ever there when we were in it). Rooms were a little small with tiny windows, but the whole idea of being in a rock made it an experience. Outdoor bathroom was also great. We preferred to sit on the deck for the sundowner which we had to ourselves rather than with everyone else at the official sundowner spot, but the view from up there is definitely worth it. Can highly recommend the Elephant tracking and Twyfelfontein rock engravings trips with the camp which we did in the 1 day and had time for lunch and swim in between – very informative and enjoyable (and we saw a whole herd of 13 elephants plus 3 male bulls). Complimentary bottle of champagne and a romantic secluded dinner with fire was a very special touch in celebration of our honeymoon. Quite expensive relative to our favourite lodges/camps we visited, but still highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamtheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
0 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#6 of 15 in Damaraland
480 reviews
0 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
165 reviews
0 mi away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 2 in Palmwag
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
484 reviews
0 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
391 reviews
0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#12 of 37 in Etosha National Park
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Kipwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Kipwe

Address: Twyfelfontein Conservancy | D2612 Road, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Damaraland
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Kipwe 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Camp Kipwe Hotel Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing