We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff--Lots of Animals and Rock Carvings, Art”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very impressed with the service received and the accomodations, especially in a fairly barren area in Namibia. We were welcomed by the staff each afternoon after a day out exploring with a song and a dance, and a cold drink. Food and bar were good. Enjoyed my time there and had always wanted to visit Damaraland.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the main building. Try the pool, I did not have time; those that did said they e...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Diogenese1,

We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time in this unique habitat and that your time at the lodge was just as enjoyable. We hope you may return some day and get to try out the pool.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

First impressions are horrendous, Doro Nawas sticks out like a sore thumb and looks like Alcatraz prison. Needs to be painted a sympathetic colour. That said, we were warmly welcomed and had two nights here. Room was spacious and airy but those dark colours... yuck! All a bit depressing inside. Could be so much lighter and brighter. Nice staff and good food. We enjoyed seeing the desert elephants with our lovely guide David who was excellent. The building just really jars I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Kategc,

Your comments regarding the main building are much appreciated. We have passed these onto the Operations Team to see how these can perhaps be improved upon. We are so happy that you had a good experience in terms of the staff and food in camp, and that you got to see the majestic Desert Adapted Elephants with David.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent two nights at Doro Nawas. As became typical on our Namibian trip, we were greeted by friendly staff with refreshments upon exiting our jeeps and arriving at the hotel. The location of the camp is amazing with lovely desert views. The rooms were the most spacious that we encountered in Namibia. It was great to spread out! The only critique that I had is that the hot water did not work for some reason in our room. I ended up having to take a cold shower and didn't report it, since we were only staying for two nights and it was hot. We were able to explore the Aba Huab River Valley the day after our arrival, and view desert-adapted elephants, including an infant and a baby. That was a real treat! The food was fine. We were again serenaded by staff after dinner, with amazing voices! They had apparently won a contest for the best lodge choir in Namibia and had performed in Switzerland. We were not surprised as they sung beautifully.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MartaH69,

We were so glad to read your feedback and to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We must apologise for the cold shower, a most unfortunate occurrence. Seeing Desert adapted elephants is always a special sighting especially when it includes seeing the young ones. We are very proud of our Doro Nawas choir and we thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent a night, and what an experience, everything was superb. Initially when approaching I thought we approaching some kind of prison purched on the hill, however when entering tasteful decor and very comfortable accommodation. Special thanks to Johan who went the extra mile in assisting with our flat tyres!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet_C_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Janet C,

After reading your review the old adage of "Don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we could be of assistance with your flat tyres.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Initial impression are of a dark foreboding building perched on a granite mound, but we were completely wrong. The main hotel is tastefully decorated with amazing views across a wide plain to the distant mountains. The service was excellent - we had a flat tyre and Johan could not have been more helpful getting it repaired for us. The food was very good and the children enjoyed roasting marshmellows in the out-door fire. The rooms are lovely and spacious - also with incredible views. We can recommend Dora Nawas most highly - definitely a highlight of out trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Simon A,

Thank you for your glowing review. The positioning of Doro Nawas is really special, affording one the special views which you talk about. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
The Doro Nawas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It was far from perfect. I like Gootberg lodge much better. The first day/night at Doro Nawas was wonderful. We had amazing service, very friendly staff, and great food. We couldn't be happier. The second night not sure what happened to the staff. We couldn't get service if we wanted it. Maybe it was most of the staff day off. Our cabin was just below the lodge and the noise from the staff and guest would echo down into our room so it wasn't the best sleep.

We didn't take any of the tours the hotel offered. We had our own car and everything was nearby.

Room Tip: cabins far from main lodge
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you dmc112 for your review. We are delighted that, overall, you had an excellent stay at Doro Nawas.

We are, of course, very disappointed that our service delivery was not on par during the second day of your stay and this will be brought to the attention of the Camp and Area Managers. Wilderness Safaris aspires to very high standards and we do believe this is apparent in the rave reviews received, in particular for our service delivery.

Thank you very much for highlighting this to us, please be assured we shall be paying particular attention to this area of our offering going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

... I'd go there again anytime.
Accomodation is great, only sleeping under the stars can beat this. And it did, we just rolled the beds out on the terasse.
Staff were very friendly and efficient.
The guides/rangers skillfull, knowledgeable & entertaining.
Just the kitchen, they tried too hard to put things fancy on the table and failed. Had they kept it simple, they would most likely have succeeded.

Room Tip: Tents facing West, definitely have the better view (and sunset), those facing east can enjoy the sun...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
73.2 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
448 reviews
44.4 mi away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
239 reviews
52.5 mi away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp

Address: Doro Nawas Conservancy, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: £469 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vast dramatic valley of the aba-Huab River, the cool interiors of Doro Nawas take in the spectacular views from its position atop a small hillock. The World Heritage Site of Twyfelfontein (locally known as /Ui-//aes) is the highlight of a visit here, where thousands of 2 000-year-old engravings cover the rocks, inviting reflection on the lives of our ancestors. Other fascinating geological features and game drives in search of desert-adapted wildlife and into local communities complete the exploration of this rugged landscape. • 16 tents (1 family) • nature drives and walks • rock art at Twyfelfontein • Petrified Forest • Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes • sleep out deck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doro Nawas Camp Hotel Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing