We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great scenery”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great scenery”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

we stayed here with some friends for 1 night on our way south to South Africa. the Gondwana Collection discount for locals was a very nice touch to encourage locals to see the country. everything in the lodge was good and the sundowner drive was really wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank franschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    241
    73
    14
    3
See reviews for
146
222
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me and my wife really had a wonderful stay at NDL. The food was awesome, service amazing and the rooms were really fantastic. We found everything clean and the staff very helpful. The only concerns we had were the road from the gate to the lodge itself as well as the sundowner drive. We felt the road could have been graded a bit. The sundown drive was a bit short as well as the fact that we couldn't see more of the animals said to reside on the lodge property. The snacks were also a bit shabby although the guides were really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My friend and I were unfortunately only here for 2 nights but we loved the location and thought the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were some birthdays celebrated by guests for which the staff all came into the restaurant with a cake and sang a number of songs. The food in the evening is a 3 course meal with a set starter and dessert with a vast array of options for the self service buffet for the main meal. We relaxed by the very nice pool with views of the dunes one morning and enjoyed a dune drive at sunset which is run by the lodge in a 4x4 open truck. There are also a number of other excursions run that can be participated in. Important note though is that as this is outside the national park you will struggle to see the sunrise over the main dunes as the park doesn't open until 6am.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovechocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
962 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Another "Gondwana" Hotel and again we were not disappointed. The lodge lies at the foot of ancient sand dunes that form a cliff against which the hotel is set. From our room Number 69 - we looked right out ont the cliffs and the "wildlife" area at its foot. This wild life area had lots of birds and we even saw a oryx stroll past!

The check in was easy - reception is a large hut style building which has a shop and free WIFI (only here).

The room was chalet style and is semi detached. It has a nice verandah outside it with a table and 2 directors chairs. The room was a tad dated (it was the poorest of the 3 hotels we stayed in). It had twin beds, pushed together as a double, and it was pretty comfortable but I did find the pillows a bit in the thin side. There was a small wardrobe for hanging with a safety box inside it, there was a small table below a multi plug, it had a hair drier (but it did not work). There was not much laying out space at all.There was tea/coffee makings. A/C was good and there was no TV. Room was actually quite bare.

Toilet was smallish with the door opening in the middle - separating the toilt on one side and the shower room at the other. It was quite cramped because of the door - as the sink was opposite it. The shower is quite tempramental.

The restaurant is a large high African "hut" affair - quite impressive. The food was buffet style and plenty of it too. Price is NA$ 230/head. You get you starter and sweet served for you. Drinks are very reasonable.

The bar is nice but quite small so you usually end outside at night and it does get cool.

Hotel has 2 swimming pools with a nice seating area between them. I did not use them but from the reaction of folks who went into them - the water was cold!! Breakfasts are buffet style and good and on one of our days when we went to see the dunes and left at 5.30 am - they made lunch boxes which were very good.

The staff did a session of singing on one of the nights we were there and it was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a beautiful place in the middle of nowhere and for the location it should get 5 stars, but since my review concentrates on the campsite I have given it only an average. The reason is twofold: a) 5km from the lodge... you get a feeling of not being part of the setup. You have to drive to get to the pool, restaurant, etc. b) too close to the main road. During the day it is no problem, but early morning (well before sunrise) you hear all the cars and busses heading towards Sossusvlei.
Some word of advise - take along sunglases and a fishing hat. It keeps the flies at bay.
Apart form this, I had a wonderful and pleasant stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful location, clean showers and toilets, nice informative hiking trails (3,5km and 1,5km), the sundowner tour is a must!!! , and I was allowed to take my dog along.
Overall ... I will be back!

Room Tip: Campsites 7, 9, 10 and 11 are the best. 12 is still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingolf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have just returned from a two week trip to Namibia and the three Gondwana hotels we stayed in were all excellent- Canyon Village at Fish River Canyon,Desert Horse Lodge at Aus and Namibia Desert lodge at Sossusvlei. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotels were very well maintained. The food was great too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we had a great time in your location. This was not the first time we had been at this place. In summary I would recommend this lodge to friends. I would be coming back to this place again, it is just most recommendable! What do you want more?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Günther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
38.7 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
313 reviews
35.2 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
215 reviews
19.9 mi away
Solitaire Desert Farm
Solitaire Desert Farm
#1 of 4 in Solitaire
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Property: Namib Desert Lodge
Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing