We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay near the petrified dunes”
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Namib Desert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On our tour of Namibia we spent one night at the Namib Desert Lodge and took advantage of the nature drive on offer. The countryside surrounding the Lodge is stunning and we even saw some gemsbok and other antelope. The petrified dunes add to the overall impression of wide open spaces.
My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was big and yes, there was a big group but somehow it didn't distract from the pleasant atmosphere. Our small group kept to itself and we certainly enjoyed the good food which included some local game.
Another Gondwana Collection lodge worth revisiting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful setting with bungalows facing the petrified dune. There are 76 rooms here and lots of large organised tour groups so if you want a quiet time this is not the place. Bungalows are basic but clean & have tea & coffee making facilities & nice verandahs. Theres is a nice self guided walk at the bottom of the dunes and back through the dry river bed. Pool areas are nice. Dinner & breakfast were very busy with too many people queuing for the buffet. Tour groups left very early waking us up with banging of trolleys , talking staff, & buses being started. Had a cold shower in the morning. Staff were helpful but check out took a bit chaotic

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Namib Desert Lodge - compared to other lodges a big and pretty busy place. There were several guided groups and a few self-driving couples during our stay. On a scenic drive we made on the second afternoon (very recommended!) there were 5 (!) off-road vehicles full of guests. So the place is kind of busy, with more noise than in other smaller lodges and a busy restaurant, again with more noise and more waiting.

Yet we made a very nice trail on our arrival - the best trail we had in Namibia, some lodges we had visited didn't have any trail at all. And the views on our scenic drive were amongst the best we had during our trip. So I would definitely recommended a stay except if willing to pay more for places more close to Sossusvlei, which was also our target.

The only drawback is the fact that the lodge is one hour drive from Sossusvlei gate, I recall it being about 60 km. Means we had to wake up shortly after 4 a.m. to be at the gate before sunrise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Lodge is placed nearly the petrified dunes of the Namib. The bungalow complex is very nice! Some bungalows (at the east side) have a nice view from the terrace over the landscape.
Near the lodge is a waterhole. The breakfast and diner is really delicious. The staff is nice, friendly and helpful. It is possible to take a sundowner jeep tour on top of the petrified dunes where , with a little luck, you can see some oryx (gemsbok) , spoondogs or other antelopes.
It was a fantastic residence, unfortunately to short.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic location with breathtaking scenarios. The facilities are good. The friendliness of the service does not match the quality of the hotel. However I strongly recommend at this lodge.
I also recommend the tour in the evening. is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

we stayed here with some friends for 1 night on our way south to South Africa. the Gondwana Collection discount for locals was a very nice touch to encourage locals to see the country. everything in the lodge was good and the sundowner drive was really wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank franschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me and my wife really had a wonderful stay at NDL. The food was awesome, service amazing and the rooms were really fantastic. We found everything clean and the staff very helpful. The only concerns we had were the road from the gate to the lodge itself as well as the sundowner drive. We felt the road could have been graded a bit. The sundown drive was a bit short as well as the fact that we couldn't see more of the animals said to reside on the lodge property. The snacks were also a bit shabby although the guides were really good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namib-Naukluft Park
38.7 mi away
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge
#2 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
340 reviews
35.2 mi away
Betesda Lodge & Camping
Betesda Lodge & Camping
#3 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
89 reviews
39.6 mi away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
275 reviews
4.1 mi away
Agama River Camp
Agama River Camp
#2 of 4 in Solitaire
265 reviews
7.4 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#8 of 12 in Sossusvlei
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range: £129 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing