We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Namib Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rostock Ritz Desert Lodge(Namib-Naukluft Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
226
285
84
21
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
285
84
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrified dunesdune starsundowner drivedinner buffetnamib desertgondwana collectionred dunesreception areabuffet stylesun downerair conditioningvery friendly and helpful staffcomfortable roomsossusvlei parka lovely staygondwana cardenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's a rustic setting and basic accomodations that should fit your needs, so if you're looking for luxury keep looking. My wife and I stayed two nights while traveling across Namibia and found it to be fine. The rooms are basic, but clean, the staff tries to bend over backwards to respond to all requests and the food is pretty good, too. The ONLY drawback is internet service which cannot be accessed from your room so you have to go to reception. Once you get there be prepared to wait, either for a seat if the lodge is fully booked (as it was while we were there) and/or access as internet service is spotty and slow as molasses. So if you absolutely have to have reliable internet access DON'T stay here! Oddly enough, I kinda enjoyed it as it was the first vacation that I was truly able to relax and not worry about what was going on back at the office. Other than that, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

11 of us stayed over after completing the Oemf Cycle challange. Even with a late arrival we were warmly greeted and treated excellently by the staff. The breakfast was great and the rooms warm and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On our tour of Namibia we spent one night at the Namib Desert Lodge and took advantage of the nature drive on offer. The countryside surrounding the Lodge is stunning and we even saw some gemsbok and other antelope. The petrified dunes add to the overall impression of wide open spaces.
My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was big and yes, there was a big group but somehow it didn't distract from the pleasant atmosphere. Our small group kept to itself and we certainly enjoyed the good food which included some local game.
Another Gondwana Collection lodge worth revisiting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful setting with bungalows facing the petrified dune. There are 76 rooms here and lots of large organised tour groups so if you want a quiet time this is not the place. Bungalows are basic but clean & have tea & coffee making facilities & nice verandahs. Theres is a nice self guided walk at the bottom of the dunes and back through the dry river bed. Pool areas are nice. Dinner & breakfast were very busy with too many people queuing for the buffet. Tour groups left very early waking us up with banging of trolleys , talking staff, & buses being started. Had a cold shower in the morning. Staff were helpful but check out took a bit chaotic

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Namib Desert Lodge - compared to other lodges a big and pretty busy place. There were several guided groups and a few self-driving couples during our stay. On a scenic drive we made on the second afternoon (very recommended!) there were 5 (!) off-road vehicles full of guests. So the place is kind of busy, with more noise than in other smaller lodges and a busy restaurant, again with more noise and more waiting.

Yet we made a very nice trail on our arrival - the best trail we had in Namibia, some lodges we had visited didn't have any trail at all. And the views on our scenic drive were amongst the best we had during our trip. So I would definitely recommended a stay except if willing to pay more for places more close to Sossusvlei, which was also our target.

The only drawback is the fact that the lodge is one hour drive from Sossusvlei gate, I recall it being about 60 km. Means we had to wake up shortly after 4 a.m. to be at the gate before sunrise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews