We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BOTHER!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skeleton Coast Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
NWR Terrace Bay Resort
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Without doubt the worst place we stayed for many years. After a long drive the staff were uninterested, not helpful and laughted when we mentioned the cold sea mist, saying we had better get used to it!.
They did not bother to show us to the room just pointed in the general direction to a challet! (shed) which was to say the least shabby, dirty with cigarette burn holes in the bed linen, curtains hanging off the rails,a rusty fridge and a mouldy bathroom. The only good thing about this place is the mobile phone signal which enabled us to book new accomodation for the next night as there was NO way that we would have stayed for the second night. Avoid unless you like fishing which we were told was great. Shame that we got a small piece of microwaved frozen fish for dinner.

Room Tip: Anywhere else would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carey326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you want to get to the most northern part of the Skeleton Coast, you have to stay at the NWR resort at Terrace Bay. It is old and tired but not without its charm. Ignore the flaking paintwork on the outside (and inside) of your chalet and enjoy the glorious isolated beauty you can only find on this road less travelled. On the road north to Terrace Bay, you will pass a handful of water holes by the side of the sand road. Stop at each and take pause; listen and look for a while. You will be astonished at the variety of wild life that lives around these waterholes. We saw springbok, Oryx, flamingo, wildebeest, two varieties of heron and five different varieties of duck/goose. We also learned that there is a single male lion that inhabits the area but we were not fortunate enough to see him. It was unbelievable to find any life at all in such an inhospitable environment yet alone the variety we did see.

The Skeleton Coast has an unique haunting beauty I am finding difficult to describe. It is only by way of using a combination of our senses that you can indelibly capture this unique beauty in your memory banks. Visually the colours are subtle but as the sun moves, the colours change and as the wind blows, the sand textures change and the colours change again. The desert wind warms your skin and your heart then the colours and textures in the landscape become more friendly; but the cool breeze from the sea, chills the body, brings in the clouds, dims the sunlight and the colours and textures of the landscape start to threaten as the goose pimple rise on your skin: yet each subtle change creates its own inflexion of beauty. I had waited for years to get to the Skeleton Coast and, the my anticipation of unique splendour was at its height as I approached the brow of a hill from the east, knowing I was about to get my first glimpse of this personal holy grail. The actuality, opening up before me, immediately presented as beyond my expectations: but it was only when I got closer and the divisions between sky, sea and land became more distinct, it was clear that my first glimpse was being born out as gob-smackingly true! This is truly an unique part of our planet and I can only hope that I have scratched enough of its beauty onto this review to inspire others to see for themselves.
My Five Star rating is more for this part of the Skeleton Coast. NWR Terrace Bay scores 3.5

Room Tip: Don't worry about your room. Put on your walking boots and go outside to inhale true beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FulmerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at this isolated spot on the Skeleton Coast. Located in an old diggers' village, the rooms are simple, clean and sea-facing. Breakfast and dinner are included and for such a remote spot, the food was excellent. Four course dinner with 4 choices for the mains. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 548RvG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The drive towards Terrace Bay feels like you are on the moon. It is a very unusual landscape with it's particular charms. Staff was friendly and the rooms have a lovely view of the ocean. Dinner was good although it was uncomfortable to have smokers in the same room.

Unfortunately, when we walked into the bathroom we noticed that the outside of the toilet was stained with stool. It was extremely unpleasant and disgusting! We informed the staff and they handled the matter efficiently switching to another room. They were very apologetic and seemed to have call many staff members who came to inspect the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This place defies categorization. One of my most thrilling experiences in Namibia was driving all day up the remote and desolate Skeleton Coast Highway from Swakopmund to Terrace Bay. My wife and I made this trip in late September, and spent one night at Terrace Bay. After hours of driving through beautiful but lonely terrain, it seemed a miracle that any lodging at all existed out here.

The reception staff seemed as happy to see us as we were to arrive. The camp was about one-quarter-full the night we stayed. Of the dozen or so other visitors, about half were random adventurers like us, and the other half were fishermen from Windhoek and South Africa. It was an interesting and eclectic experience!

The rooms are mainly or all duplex cabins, sprinkled in a semi-circle beneath a tiny hill that is crowned by the reception and dining area. The coast is about 200m from the hotel grounds, and you can hear the surf from your room. Our room was weathered and worn, but clean and comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were both large. Lighting was dim, and the rooms were drafty, but we didn't mind; we were in a safe and snug place on the edge of the world.

We arrived with about an hour to wander the property before sunset, and walked to the pebbly beach at low tide. We didn't see any sandy areas, but there were plenty of tidal pools, and billions of interesting rocks sculpted by the surf.

There is only one restaurant, and we had dinner there: delicious fish and veggies. We were surprised the food was as good as it was, given the lack of competition at this remote place. The manager dropped by to make sure we were OK, and chat with us.

My favorite thing about the property was the graffiti lining the walls of the dining room. For years, visitors have been writing poems, stories, and drawing pictures. We had a great time reading these, at dinner and at breakfast.

We visited the petrol station on the way out the next morning, and were happy to leave with a full tank and lots of unique memories.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Coming from England I had to keep reminding myself I was in Africa, chilly, a bit damp, untidy round the edges but ok, just like home. The rooms are a bit chilly but the blankets are nice and thick. The bathroom was huge and chilly but the water was hot and lots of it. The restaurant is odd with lots of graffiti on the walls, but the food was good and plentiful. Sat on the verandah and tried to soak up the weird atmosphere of this place with a beer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Terrace bay is for 4 x 4 adventurers. It's the farthest place north you can reach in the skeleton coast park. It costs a bit too much for the accomodation, but the place, the landscape, the staff who works and iìlives there are worthwhile.
It's a former mine village, so there are some bungalows, basic and not too claen, but they are right on the beach looking west, to the sunset.
you can only have all inclusive service there, no campistes, no bed and breakfast, but bed dinner and breakfast.
The restaurant /bar is amazing, with all the walls filld with phrases, thoughts and greetings from other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skeleton Coast Park
0.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skeleton Coast
Wilderness Safaris Hoanib Skelet...
#1 of 3 in Skeleton Coast Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoada Campsite
Hoada Campsite
#1 of 9 in Kamanjab
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
990 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NWR Terrace Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NWR Terrace Bay Resort

Address: Skeleton Coast Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Skeleton Coast Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skeleton Coast Park
Price Range: £10 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NWR Terrace Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Terrace Bay Hotel Skeleton Coast Park
NWR Terrace Bay Resort Namibia/Skeleton Coast Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing