We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Cross Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Windhoek(Windhoek)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pension Uhland(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NWR Terrace Bay Resort(Skeleton Coast Park)
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
93
127
35
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
127
35
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape crossseal colonyremote locationskeleton coastsmall museumrooms are nicenext morningset menufirst floorwalk along the beachocean viewsituated righthot waterlounge areahenties baynight staymeal times
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It's not only the best place in town, it's the only place in town, and there is no town. Nadine, the property's director, is warm and thoughtful, and being relatively new in the role, she's making her mark on the place. The location is outstanding--alone on a piece of land jutting out into the sea and next to the fascinating Cape Cross Seal Colony. It's a place for rest, and we loved our time lounging in the sun on the terrace above the beach, the ocean at our feet. The food was good, and Setson, one of Nadine's colleagues, was ever present, but in the best of ways. We never felt bothered, yet we felt our needs would always be quickly addressed, sometimes even anticipated. Nadine also arranged for us to spend the day on a 4x4 drive to the Messum Crater with Tommy Hall as our guide, and it was terrific. Tommy knows the area well, and seemed to share with us everything he knew. We'd highly recommend Cape Cross Lodge, the Messum drive and Tommy Hall as your guide.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDB_NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

What a stunning location for a lodge. We had a room at the end of a row, so had a dual aspect towards the Atlantic. The room was beautiful, with a vaulted ceiling, in muted blues and greys, a really relaxing decor. We spent the afternoon walking the shore and then settled down comfortably with drinks and wonderful cake. The set menu was superb and the service excellent. Our hostess was knowledgeable and friendly and the staff were very efficient and cheerful. It was wonderful to be able to sit by an open fire after dinner, reading the coffee table books and dozing. We visited the seal colony the next morning. Yes, it smells rank, but it's such an awesome sight, you forget that bit very quickly. We would definitely stay again. A great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

- Excellent service, very friendly and helpful staff
- Cosy lounge area within dining room (with a fire place as it gets a bit crisp at night)
- Simple but clean rooms, adequate size; our room had a balcony with great ocean view (invites to sit there for hours, just staring at the sea… watching seals popping their heads out of the water very now and then as the seal colony is just around the corner)
- Why 4 out of 5? It is a nice place, great people, and excellent location but at the end it is nothing “fancy”. It is a simple but good lodge but compared to other lodges in Namibia, which even offer a slightly higher standard and which are also located in remote areas - the price for the room per night is a bit too high!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoreaKati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I last stayed here 12 years ago and had been wanting to go back for many years. It was worth the wait. We stayed for two nights in February and had a wonderful time. The food is pretty good but the location is fantastic if you like being in a remote spot. The room was also very pleasant and the beds comfortable. The service and the attention from the managers was excellent. One of the local highlights, and probably the main reason for most people staying here is to visit the Cape Cross Seal Colony which is a short drive away. Here you can see 250,000 Cape Fur Seals up close and we were especially lucky that the pups were only a few weeks old so it was a hive of activity, and so great we went back the next day. The children also had a fantastic time swimming tin the sea right in front of the hotel, a bit chilly but at 11 and 9 they do not feel the cold! One word of warning is that due to the sheer number of seals they undertake an annual cull between June - November. Whilst this is apparently done during the early hours of the morning and everything is cleaned up in time for the public opening hours I would imagine that the seals would be skittish and that it would not be a good time to visit the colony.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the sea, we had the suite at the northern end of the hotel and this was perfect. They have upstairs rooms but I would suggest with children get a room on the ground floor so that they can have direct access to the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The place looks like a very decent one, isolated and beautiful, and right on the beach. But for us it simply provided a chance for a long awaited civilized lunch, with beautiful views of the ocean. In addition, and although it didn't show on the map, you could and we didl, actually buy gas from jerry cans. That way we could then take off back to the desert and visit the Messum crater.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OphirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews