We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
roma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have been at Mukambi for the third time: the location is beautiful and easily reachable from Lusaka by a good road crossing the park for many kilometers; without struggling too much, you arrive in a wild unspoiled place, for sure among the most fascinating of the whole area. The architecture of the lodge is good-looking and perfectly integrated in the environment, excellent accommodation, very kind, helpful and competent the staff. Good meals are served, particularly I have appreciated - as an Italian - a good pasta with a tasty sauce. Very nice attractions are particular "guests" of the lodge: a young hippo which has became friendly and familiar and a beautiful silver cat, looking like an house cat but really a wild one, even if it has become a pet.
Finally, not far from the lodge, excellent self-drive are at hand: the Staff will advise and, for security reason, will ask you the time of your coming back. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank giovanni f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi There

Thank you for your lovely review! Super to hear that our pasta was to Italian standards! We will be sure to let our chefs know.

Please visit us again soon as we so enjoyed hosting you.

Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
60
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 2 nights in this lodge on the way on and back to the Northern part of the Kafue National Park
and I regret that we didn't spend more nights .
Our chalet had all amenities that you can wish (excellent bed) and had a balcony with great views on the river.
The dining room also was overlooking the river and we had every evening the visit of BASIL, an hippo which was coming out of the river and was laying in a part of the lounge.
We did game drives every morning and evening in the Park on the opposite side of the river Kafue..We saw more leopards here than in our other safaris in the South Luangwa .
The day of our arrival to Lusaka, we were picked by a driver of Mukambi Safari Lodge who arrived with a long delay because of a lot of traffic due to the International Agricultural fair which was taking place .
When we arrived at the Lodge some 4 hours drive later, the 2 boats which were putting the guests on the opposite riverside had already left and Linda , the manager of this lodge organized for us both a 2 hours private safari most apreciated !
The staff was very friendly and helpful , accompanied us every night with a torch to our chalet when it was dark because of the possible meeting of warthogs, hippos, or even lions ...
around 5 p.m. and was familiar to the staff could see the boats and we a little flight of stairs took as the .
ge iyI regret that we didnThat was one of the best lodges aI loved this lodge the best alm

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie_christine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words and contributing such lovely photos. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you for a longer stay in the future!

Warm Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

When we decided we wanted to go to the Kafue in Zambia, we researched all the lodges and after speaking to Tony at Busanga Safaris, he recommended Mukambi Safari Lodge and also persuaded us to go to Mukambi’s bush camp, the Busanga Plains Camp.

Mukambi is in a lovely position overlooking the Kafue River which, even in the dry season, had plenty of water in it. There is a choice of game drives, bush walks, fishing and river cruises. The cruises were very relaxing and we saw plenty of birds, hippos and crocs. The guides are very knowledgeable and we saw 4 of the big 5 (there are no rhinos in Kafue).

The lodge itself has a bar and lounge area, an upper deck for looking out over the river and also a small swimming pool, all perfect for relaxing between activities, but be careful with the steps! Our room was one of the luxury tents in a private position overlooking the river which was very comfortable. Each tent has a water heater outside and a fire is lit to heat the water. On one occasion, the wind was blowing in the direction of the tent and smoke drifted into the room and onto the balcony which was uncomfortable.

The food was plentiful and on the whole very good. The only negative was that one night there was a BBQ and by the time we arrived after the game drive the food was cool, even the jacket potatoes which had been wrapped in foil. It had obviously been prepared a lot earlier for those people who were not on a game drive.

On the whole, Mukambi Safari Lodge is a lovely place to stay.

We were so glad that our agent had persuaded us to stay at the bush camp. The four tents are ample in size and the outside bathroom was a new experience. The food was excellent and the communal areas of the camp way above our expectations. Our guide, Lexi, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, having been brought up in the area. The plains are a wonderful wilderness, with plenty of wildlife in the wide open spaces, including large numbers of birds. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, although my husband was not very well due either to a virus or the heat or a combination. When Lexi picked us up on the transfer, he asked what we wanted to see and we told him, wild dogs and he took us straight to them before we even arrived at camp and went back to them again on the evening game drive.

The one bird my husband had really hoped to see was a pink-throated longclaw which he missed through not being able to go on the game drives, but on our return transfer to Mukambi, my husband asked the guide, Ferrison, if he could find one and he drove straight up to a juvenile, and a few metres further was an adult. We were very impressed: he didn’t even have to go looking, he knew exactly where they were!

Thank you to the staff and guides for our stay both at Mukambi and Busanga Plains.

.

Room Tip: The luxury tents are further from the public areas than the other rooms but I would recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila-TA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi There

Lovely to hear from you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back in the future for another Mukambi Busanga experience.

Warm Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely safari lodge, bit busy with around 20 bonas and 'tents' all beside the river with great views. Watch out for Basil the local but definitely not tame Hippo. There was also a family of warthogs who had based themselves at the lodge. Staff were very friendly and drivers were good and knowledgeable. Fantastic viewing of a leopard made it a great place to start our safari. Food was plenty and of good standard.

Room Tip: Ask for tent 1 it has a bath on the balcony Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi There

Super to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mukambi. We are happy to say the warthog family and Basil are doing well and the babies are real entertainers!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for more leopards and we will be sure to give you tent 1.

Warm Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We flew to Lusaka and were met at the airport by a driver and car from Mukambi. The drive took about 4 hours - 1 hour negotiating the traffic through Lusaka and a straight forward 3 hours on a sealed road to the Lodge. Mukambi rightly calls itself the 'gateway' to Kafue N.P. It sits on the tree-lined banks of the deep and beautiful Kafue river which guests cross by boat in order to explore the Park on the opposite side. Our many sightings in this part of Kafue inluded leopard (on 5 consecutive drives) as well as abundant bird-life (including the rare Fin Foot). We did a morning walking safari and a sunset cruise as well as game drives in an open vehicle. All the guides were excellent and enthusiastically shared their knowledge with us.

With regard to the Lodge itself, the reception areas, bar and restaurant are arranged on a series of decks affording great views over the Kafue. Meals are served on a set menu basis, but the kitchen was flexible with regard to out of hours requests. The accommodation consists of chalets and tented rooms plus a riverside villa. We had a 'luxury tent' which was situated right on the bank of the river. A large room with tented 'features', it comprised shower and loo en-suite with sliding doors opening onto a secluded deck where the bath was located. The water was heated by an efficient Rhodesian Boiler. The gentle sound of the river at night was lovely. Shampoo, shower gel and body lotion were provided as was insect repellent and 'killer' sprays. The Lodge staff were always helpful and polite.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Mukambi and it proved the perfect base from which to explore the more remote northern parts of the Park where Mukambi's Busanga Plains Camp is located. Our only concern would be that future plans to enlarge the Lodge might compromise the level of personal service we experienced.

Room Tip: Our lovely river side room was Tent No. 1
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi There

Lovely to hear from you! Super to hear you enjoyed your time at Mukambi. Leopard and lion sightings have been fabulous this season and we have seen increased numbers of cat sightings compared to previous years. A Fin Foot is a very special sighting indeed.

As you say Mukambi is a perfect location to start off a Kafue adventure from due to easy access by road from Lusaka.

Thank you and we look forward to meeting you again

Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaricum, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Absolute wonderful location and great staff. Highly recommended for travelling around Kafue Park in Zambia. hippos, elephants and leopard. Good chance to spot all in the camp or around. Make a fishing trip on the river at sunset.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EPWegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting your group and its wonderful that you had such fabulous sightings.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Warm Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Kafue is a beautiful area - still recovering from the poaching era. It is however well worth a visit. The Rangers we had were a privilege to be with- very knowledgeable and courteous. Loved every minute in the bush.
The Lodge was over sold and the Management clearly under perform.
The Bush camp in the North was a highlight. The tented accommodation great, the staff were very helpful. The Camp was managed by a young lady called Cas who was a joy- nothing was too much trouble and she was involved in all aspects of running the camp with her staff - which showed in the level of service and attitude to guests. This camp made our Kafue experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFGCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Sir or Madam:

Many thanks for your feedback and kind words about our Busanga Camp and your overall enjoyment of the Kafue and our guides. We are saddened that your experience at Mukambi did not live up to your expectations and would like to apologise for any poor service you might have received. We appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to improve our standards and require the input of our clients in order to achieve this.

Trip Advisor kindly allows us to respond to postings and we would like to take this opportunity to point out the fantastic synergy we have created between the 2 camps to give our clients the best of both worlds. Mukambi is a busy 3 star lodge with over 35 beds located so conveniently within the Kafue that we are able to offer road transfers instead of the incredibly expensive alternative of a charter flight. We operate 12 months of the year and are therefore able to extend to our clients a low rate compared to most remote and smaller camps.

Busanga, on the other hand, is intimate, upmarket, is set in a fantastically remote part of the Kafue, has 8 beds and operates only 4 months of the year. As a result it is priced higher than Mukambi.

It is this comfortably synergy between the 2 camps that makes visiting the Kafue and the coveted Busanga Plains the most affordable package on the market. In 2012 we built state of the art accommodation at Mukambi mostly for our Busanga clients to give them a more exclusive (and upmarket) experience at Mukambi. We feel that the many positive Trip Advisor comments we receive is testimony to the fact that this accommodation is easily 4 or more star.

Having said all of this, we are mortified we have fallen short of our normally high standards at Mukambi, with service and food nearly always receiving the highest commendations from our clients both on Trip Advisor as well as through our guest questionnaires.

Once again, our sincerest apologies and hope to see you back in the Kafue!

Warm Regards
The Mukambi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kafue National Park
62.1 mi away
Konkamoya Lodge
Konkamoya Lodge
#8 of 28 in Kafue National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mu-Fungata Safaris
Mu-Fungata Safaris
#25 of 28 in Kafue National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mawimbi Bush Camp
Mawimbi Bush Camp
#18 of 28 in Kafue National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.2 mi away
Bongwe Kafue Camp
Bongwe Kafue Camp
#21 of 28 in Kafue National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#8 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
161.3 mi away
Lilayi Lodge
Lilayi Lodge
#1 of 102 in Lusaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukambi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukambi Safari Lodge

Property: Mukambi Safari Lodge
Address: Lusaka-Mongu road | Busanga Plains, Kafue National Park, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Kafue National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mukambi Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mukambi Safari Lodge is your gateway to Kafue National Park, one of the biggest and last remaining true wilderness areas of Africa. We are located on the Kafue River and organize game drives, boat cruises, fishing safaris and walking safaris at your request. We are open all year and are known for our beautiful location, good food, friendly staff and good atmosphere. We are open all year and are child friendly. Try us, you won't regret it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mukambi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing