We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$86
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kubu Kweena Lodge(Kafue National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
124
48
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
48
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesthe riverboat cruisean absolute treatfig treedietary requirementsspent nightslarge roomgreat activitiespeace and quietwell trained stafffood poisoningfamily villacity lifeno hot waterbeds were very comfortablehour drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at Mukambi along with by brother's family. We all found the lodge to be brilliant not only as a game lodge but a place to relax and unwind. The food was great, the accommodation lovely but mostly it was the staff that made it for us. Everyone was very friendly and helpful but above all the guides were excellent. Going at the end of the rainy season meant our expectations on seeing game, especially big cats, was low but both Lexon and Frazer did their best and their knowledge was simply first rate. We all left with the feeling that we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisL1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, General Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Hello,

Our humble appreciation for your warm comments on our staff. They are very special people and a huge asset to the company! We passed this on to all of them - thank you so much.

Apologies for the delayed response and we are looking forward to your next visit. Let us know if you every have time to visit our Busanga Plains camp. You will find Lexon up there during our peak season and I am sure he would be delighted to show you around this very special part of Africa.

Warm regards
The Mukambi Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were expecting luxury accommodation but got fairly basic instead.
The food left much to be desired. A barbecue offered was awful!
The laundry service is patchy although, to be fair it was the rainy season. If you stay here
take plenty of underwear!
Hot water is variable & the odds of getting a good shower are slim.
I suspect that this is a hotel in trouble with few guests. Hardly surprising.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, General Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Good day,

Our sincerest apologies for your poor experience at Mukambi. We remember your visit well as you were part of a tour that visited us.

Mukambi is not advertised as luxury or 5 star and your agent is very clear on that. Perhaps there was a miscommunication? We are also delighted to inform you that we have removed all the solar geysers and replaced them with Gas Geysers. Solar is very tricky in a country that has 4 very cloudy month - you visited in February which is in the height of the rainy season.

We would love the opportunity to host you again and show you the improvements we have made and perhaps offer you a few nights in our wonderful safari tents!

Regards
The Mukambi Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just had four nights at Mukambi, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the guides. Akim, Nelson and Frazer, were excellent, informative and patient, and did their best to find us game. As it is the wet season this was no mean task with everything so green and lush. The tented chalet was great, with a view of the river from the bed. The public areas were very comfortable, right on the river bank, and the food was fine; the braii in particular was excellent.
We took the bus from Lusaka which worked well one way, our return was more of an adventure and if you have a plane to catch as we did it might be better to stay overnight in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, General Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Hello,

Our humble appreciation for your warm comments on our staff. They are indeed very special people and a huge asset to the company! We have passed this on to all of them - thank you so much.

Apologies for the delayed response and we are looking forward to your next visit. Let us know if you every have time to visit our Busanga Plains camp. You will find Lexon up there during our peak season and I am sure he would be delighted to show you around this very special part of Africa.

Warm regards
The Mukambi Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

There is no better word to describe our stay at Mukambi then AMAZING!
I could write an essay on how perfect everything was, but I´ll try to narrow it down :)

The staff was very friendly and very proffesional,the food was of high quality, the accommodation was luxurious, not to mention the game drives! The guides were extremely knowledgeable and everything was extremely well thought through. Even though we were there during low season the service was still 100% perfect.
I have done some safari in different parts of Africa, but I must say that this was by far the best experience, both when it comes to service but also the park itself. As I mentioned above, everything was very well planned which for me, seeking the best wildlife experience, is very important.

We were on an overland trip and weren´t sure if we were gonna be able to do a safari in Kafue, both because of time and money. But as soon as we got in contact with them (thank you Heather!) everything just worked out perfectly, we got a great package that was far better than we ever would´ve hoped for and it really was one of the most amazing experience on our trip! THANK YOU!!

+++++

Early game drives. We were woken up by a guard at 05.15 who also brought hot water for a cup of tea/coffe before setting out on the drive. How sweet is that!

Long game drives + boattrips. 3,5++ game drives where you have time to cover a larger area, or just hang around whatever animal you encounter for as long as you want. NO RUSH.

Picknick. Some lovely muffins and tea/coffee halfway through the drive.

Amazing food. 3 wonderful meals, 3-course dinner.

Great accommodation. We were given the famliy villa so that we all 3 could stay together. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a huge verande towards the river. Amazing. Talk about going the extra mile!

The surroundings were amazing!! Wild animals were roaming in front of our house! But safety was always guaranteed, a guard followed us to/from our house to the main building.

Kafue as a park: breathtaking, so green and lush and beautiful. Even if you don´t spot any animals (which you do, even during rainseason) it´s one of the most beautiful parks. The animals seemed a little wilder than in other parks which I personally think is a good thing, it makes it more natural. It´s also one of the best parks to encounter leopard, which we did! Twice! It was one of those moments.... :)


The best value and quality, a genuine experience!

We would like to thank everyone at Mukambi for giving us one of the best experiences of our lifes! We really hope to be back one day :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, General Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for such a stunning review! We appreciate your time taken to write about your experience and are humbled by your kind words. We can only hope that we will host you again in the near future. Please stay in touch and best regards from Heather!

Warm regards
The Mukambi Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was an amazing trip last week in Mukambi Safari lodge, nice staff, a nice environment, great tour guides and a fantastic accomadation. The food was of good quality, enough said.. A great experience

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mvdw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukambi, General Manager at Mukambi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Hello,

We sincerely enjoyed your visit and are delighted you had a great time! Hope it wasn't too cold when you got back home!

The rainy season is seldom appreciated for its beauty and surprising good sightings. We hope more people will be encouraged by your review to visit Zambia through the glorious summer months.

Warm regards
The Mukambi Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews