We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I could have spent many lazy afternoons lying around the camp -- the Ralph Lauren-like stylings, stacks of vintage safari trunks, and leatherback chairs were perfectly safari chic. But more than an Instagram-worthy hotel experience, staying at Zungulila felt like staying at a friend's The staff: charming, gracious, generous, and hospitable. The snacks: thoughtful and beautifully displayed (please note: the kitchen caters to all sorts of allergies and dietary restrictions -- which is remarkable considering we're in the middle of the bush). Amenities: great outdoor shower, daily laundry service (so nice!), and group dinners that were classy and laid-back. The Bushcamp safari guides are my heroes - so smart and patient with all of our questions and fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsrunawaytogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Julius and his team made us very welcome indeed at Zungulila and we had a wonderful stay. The games walks are great, particularly when you get to kick of your boots and walk in the Kapamba river for a while. We had excellent game viewing including several lion encounters. The food was fantastic and we particularly enjoyed do it yourself pizza from the wood burning pizza oven on the terrace.
This camp is particularly good for sundowners along the Kapamba river and some excellent game viewing from animals wading through the croc free waters.
Although we have stated that we found Bilimungwe and Kuyenda to be our preferred camps, that is only because they are quite incredible, Zungulila sets a very high bar and we would return in a flash and be very happy about it. It comes highly recommended along with all the other 5 BushCamp Co. camps.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pauljoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here only 1 night out of 7, and with only that limited experience I am happy to recommend this camp as an excellent place to stay, and especially to have sundowners. The staff was incredibly friendly & knowledgeable, and went out of their way to help us have a great experience, even setting up our sundowners in the river! And the food was the best we had on our entire trip through Zambia. Many thanks to Julius, Mischak, and the staff for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_Klempa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our group spent 2 days at Zungulila Bushcamp Dec 28th and 29th 2013. It was an amazing experience for all of us. The service was incredible. The food delicious. Julius and the staff go the extra mile to make you comfortable in the middle of the bush. Mishick and his twin brother Peter are amazing guides with the skill and knowledge to get you safely close to the wildlife you are observing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkI239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I spent two days in Zungulila Bushcamp and it was an unforgettable experience. It allows you to experience "the bush" with all the comforts you could have! The highlight of this Bushcamp is the service, the guides and the staff are extremely friendly and attentive. One of the nights we had a mongolian BBQ outside and it was a great experience. Highly recommend The Bushcamp company!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Zungulila Bushcamp is a wonderful "Out of Africa" experience. The place is extraordinary, a wonderful setting in an unspoilt wilderness. Mischak, our guide, has unsurpassed knowledge of the natural environment. He took us on fascinating walking safaris in the mornings and to the most beautiful sites along the rivers at sundown. Julius and his team at the camp looked after our every need..all in all a wonderful, unforgettable experience we'd recommend to anyone..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Zungulila meaning to "go around" or "meander" was a perfect spot for myself and 5 friends. Zungulila was far enough from any other camp to feel truly "away from it all". An old Africa feel to camp, gorgeous setting, plunge pools to dip in during the hot months, fantastic meals, and incredible service. Julius was a perfect host and Meshek the best wildlife guide! Words can't describe the beauty of the sundowners!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#12 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#26 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £316 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace reigns supreme at The Bushcamp Company's Zungulila, a charming tented camp that embodies the essence of old Africa and a bygone era. Set on the side of a raised knoll, the beautiful thatched tents look out over the sparkling Kapamba River and an expansive plain where natural springs attract huge herds of game. Camp can accommodate up to eight guests in four Meru-style thatched tents and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from May to January). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing