We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Thornicroft Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornicroft Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Greve, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, good food, Nice chalets, staff very friendly, good beds, everything was just as we want it to be.
The lodge is placed just 2 km. From the national park where all the animals are.
In the night the elefants walked thruogh the lodge and eat from the trees.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank saint1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My week at Thornicroft Lodge was simply by far and away the best safari experience I have ever taken in nearly twenty years across the whole of Southern Africa. The accomodation and food were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and caring staff. It was a privilege to spend time with David and the fantastic guides, Godfrey and Rodgers. We had many stunning encounters with the incredibly rich wildlife, including an unforgettable walk with Rodgers and Park Ranger "Supa Luca". I can't praise Thornicroft highly enough. Chris Wynn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had a truly amazing time here. The staff were so very helpful and the accomodation was excellent. Everyone and I mean everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The guide Rodgers was incredible and I had many superb sightings. The food was great. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. In the words of Arnie. "I'll be back!!!"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornicroft, Director of Sales at Thornicroft Lodge, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hi Alan,

Thank you for your review.
Some people ask me whether 3 or 4 days is not too much ....
We are very pleased that your review shows that the combination of our good staff and game drives can be experienced as amazing, even after 14 days in our lodge!

Hope to welcome you as guest again!!!

Best regards, Puk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had a 3 night stay. The manager, David Kelly, the world famous wildlife artist and all his staff could n't have been more friendly and attentive to all our needs. Accommodation and food were both very good. Godfrey, who has to be the best safari guide anywhere, took us for 4 game drives totalling 17 hours and wouldn't relax until we had seen all of the game parks animals e.g. Elephant, giraffe, hippo, buffalo, hyena, zebra, lion, wild dog, leopard and many others including lovely birds. His knowledge and tracking was amazing.
Graham and Sheila Lamb, Leicester, UK

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at Thornicroft for week in October, my wife and I, (her birthday) and our best friends. The holiday was quite simply one in a lifetime. Mary was born in Zambia so it was very special to return. The lodge exceeded all expectations. A great welcome and on the first day we were treated to a Private Drive as other guests were yet to arrive. Godfrey, the Head Guide, has a wealth of knowledge about the park, wildlife and his Country. Quite simply the best guide we have ever encountered. The lodge has an amazing setting on the banks of the Luangwa river. On the first evening whilst having a drink at the bar we were stunned to see one of the many hippos race past, clearly in search of a gin & tonic!! I had planned to make the birthday special and can not thank Caroline, Dale and all of the staff for taking care of the arrangements, ordering in the champagne and organising a special Brunch actually in the park, under the shade of a wild fig tree with Zebra and Impala as our backdrop. The Lodge is unpretentious and all of the staff were truly amazing nothing was ever too much trouble and everything delivered with a smile. A must visit for those who want an authentic wildlife experience at real value for money. Mary says thanks to all for making her day and indeed the week so special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daver61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The week I spent at Thornicroft Lodge with my wife and two friends was absolutely fantastic. The transfer from Mfuwe Airport was quick (30 minutes) and painless and after an enthusiastic and friendly welcome from the staff we were more than impressed by the fantastic location of the Lodge on the banks of the Zambezi with hippos grunting and snorting not more than a few tens of metres away. This initial impression was just a taster of the ever changing scene that delighted us throughout the week with a contast pagent of interesting birds flying past and any number of animals, including giraffe and elephants, coming down the opposite bank of the river to drink. The Lodge was well run by engaging and experienced staff and the morning and afternoon/evening game drives, and our walking safari, were expertly run by the expert "Head Guide" Godfrey Shawa who is well respected by all and who seems to have mentored most of the guides in the area. We saw an amazing variety of animals and birds every day and having been on safaris in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana and Namibia, I have to say that the South Luangwa NP is right up there in terms of animal numbers and diversity. The food provided by the lodge was good without being fussy and the brunches served after the morning game drives were particularly fine. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. I just hope that I get the opportunity to come back to Zambia and to visit Thornicroft Lodge again in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in Thornicroft for 4 nights in September and it exceeded our expectations (which were already pretty high!). The lodge is comfortable, the views and environment are stunning, and the staff are a true highlight. Godfrey, our guide was the most knowledgeable and engaging guide you could ever wish to come across. His game drives were fantastic, always unveiling something new. We would also highly recommend a walking safari with him, we learnt so much about the flora, smaller animals/insects, and Godfrey's tracking skills on ours.

Puk, Kenneth, Dale, and all the guys (including the cooks) in the camp also deserve specific mention as they looked after us perfectly - we didn't want for anything.

If you are looking for a comfortable lodge, with a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere, with happy staff this place is for you. It may not be as 'high end' as some of the accommodation in the park but this place has achieved a perfect balance in ensuring South Luangwa will be a highlight of your holiday whilst also feeling like a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudandlorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#13 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
215 reviews
8.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#20 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#12 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#34 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
62 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#14 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luangwa River Camp
Luangwa River Camp
#23 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornicroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornicroft Lodge

Property: Thornicroft Lodge
Address: Along the Luangwa River | Between Kakumbi village and the park entrance, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornicroft is an intimate bush-style lodge set on the banks of the Luangwa River with spectacular views over the Park. At Thornicroft you can explore South Luangwa National Park on unforgettable game drives with our expert guides. On our drives you will explore one of the best parks in Africa to see lion and leopard, not to mention all the other birds and animals that make this valley so unique.Our nine charming bush-style chalets are spread out along the banks of the Luangwa River. Each of our intimate en-suite chalets has fabulous views of the South Luangwa National Park. The chalets are designed for 2 people, but on request we can add a third bed. However if you are looking for a more affordable way to safari we have eight permanent safari dome two-person tents with shared bathroom facilities near the lagoon. The tented camp is closed from January – March.Thornicroft can also arrange transfers from Lilongwe to Thornicroft Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornicroft Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing