We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing experience.”
Review of Thornicroft Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornicroft Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at Thornicroft at their tented camp as part of a 4 day safari out of Lilongwe in Malalwi.

The camp was basic but very comfortable, even in the extreme October heat, but for the price it was perfect. The food was good and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Of course the highlight was the animals and I can't put into words how fabulous the sightings were. Worth every penny and then some.

5 stars all round.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the tented camp get the ones under the thatched roof as you can take the cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our stay at Thornicroft Lodge was a great experience. The food and standard of service was excellent and the manager, David Kelly, made every effort to ensure that all our needs were met - despite losing power AND water in the same 24 hours! We stayed for four nights and did two game drives every day - the drives were very relaxing and we saw all the animals that we expected to see and then returned to the Lodge for a brunch or dinner that never failed to please. We were thrilled to see leopards hunting at night and have a young male lion stare us in the eye as it walked in our direction; however, what was particularly exciting was to have elephants come into the camp at night and chew the leaves from the trees around our chalet, also groups of monkeys came into the camp during the afternoon and were great fun to watch. The birdlife was also stunning. A particular strength of Thornicroft in my view is its location: not only is it a stone's throw from the National Park (which means driving time was 99% safari), it is situated on a high bank above a river where guests can spend the lazy hours between brunch and the afternoon drive watching animal activity on the riverbank (I saw impalas, giraffes, zebras, monkeys on the opposite bank, the ubiquitous belching hippos, sleeping crocodiles and even a fish eagle catch a fish). Sat under the shade of a tree, or lying in the hammock, with binoculars in hand was my favourite time of day. All in all, a great safari experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29nickyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked the trip via Land and Lake Safaris, based in Lilongwe, Malawi - would recommend them as well. The driver, Bentley, was brilliant and facilitated the crossing into Zambia for us. Thornicroft Lodge is exquisite. David Kelly (check out his book and his paintings) is terrific "front of house", the staff efficient and friendly and Rhoda's smile the biggest I've ever seen!
Although the elephant feeding in the lodge grounds were really cool, the highlights had to be the safaris. Our guide was Godfrey - we cannot speak too highly of him - great knowledge, incredible eyes and tracking and behaviour skills that allowed us to witness a leopard stalking impala and a lion taking on a herd of buffalo single handedly (and unsuccessfully - they turned on him!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Wonderful place, good food, Nice chalets, staff very friendly, good beds, everything was just as we want it to be.
The lodge is placed just 2 km. From the national park where all the animals are.
In the night the elefants walked thruogh the lodge and eat from the trees.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank saint1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My week at Thornicroft Lodge was simply by far and away the best safari experience I have ever taken in nearly twenty years across the whole of Southern Africa. The accomodation and food were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and caring staff. It was a privilege to spend time with David and the fantastic guides, Godfrey and Rodgers. We had many stunning encounters with the incredibly rich wildlife, including an unforgettable walk with Rodgers and Park Ranger "Supa Luca". I can't praise Thornicroft highly enough. Chris Wynn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had a truly amazing time here. The staff were so very helpful and the accomodation was excellent. Everyone and I mean everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The guide Rodgers was incredible and I had many superb sightings. The food was great. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. In the words of Arnie. "I'll be back!!!"

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornicroft, Director of Sales at Thornicroft Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hi Alan,

Thank you for your review.
Some people ask me whether 3 or 4 days is not too much ....
We are very pleased that your review shows that the combination of our good staff and game drives can be experienced as amazing, even after 14 days in our lodge!

Hope to welcome you as guest again!!!

Best regards, Puk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had a 3 night stay. The manager, David Kelly, the world famous wildlife artist and all his staff could n't have been more friendly and attentive to all our needs. Accommodation and food were both very good. Godfrey, who has to be the best safari guide anywhere, took us for 4 game drives totalling 17 hours and wouldn't relax until we had seen all of the game parks animals e.g. Elephant, giraffe, hippo, buffalo, hyena, zebra, lion, wild dog, leopard and many others including lovely birds. His knowledge and tracking was amazing.
Graham and Sheila Lamb, Leicester, UK

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
194 reviews
8.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#10 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornicroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornicroft Lodge

Address: Along the Luangwa River | Between Kakumbi village and the park entrance, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornicroft is an intimate bush-style lodge set on the banks of the Luangwa River with spectacular views over the Park. At Thornicroft you can explore South Luangwa National Park on unforgettable game drives with our expert guides. On our drives you will explore one of the best parks in Africa to see lion and leopard, not to mention all the other birds and animals that make this valley so unique.Our nine charming bush-style chalets are spread out along the banks of the Luangwa River. Each of our intimate en-suite chalets has fabulous views of the South Luangwa National Park. The chalets are designed for 2 people, but on request we can add a third bed. However if you are looking for a more affordable way to safari we have eight permanent safari dome two-person tents with shared bathroom facilities near the lagoon. The tented camp is closed from January – March.Thornicroft can also arrange transfers from Lilongwe to Thornicroft Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornicroft Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing