We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss a Thornicroft Lodge experience!!”
Review of Thornicroft Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornicroft Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

To David Kelly and his A Team .. Thank you all for making our 3 night stay at Thornicroft a relaxing time. David leads his staff in a very pleasant way and they provide friendly assistance in every task. The food was plentiful and well presented.
Our guide was passionate, knowledgeable and keen to show what the park can offer and we were rewarded with watching wild dog at close range.
The location of our chalet right on the river was exciting especially the visit by three elephants at our front door in the early hours!!
Thank you all for a memorable visit and we encourage anyone considering a trip to this part of the world to book into Thornicroft Lodge. Pauline and Peter

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Thornicroft Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thornicroft far exceeded my expectations. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by David, the manager, who oriented us. Then we sat down for one of many delicious meals. We went to sleep in very comfortable tents and the next morning were upgraded to more luxurious chalets for the remaining four nights. While at Thornicroft we went on seven game drives, all led by Godfrey, an extremely knowledgeable and patient leader and all around nice guy. With his many tracking skills he saw to it that we saw as many different things as many times as was possible. He had a broad range of interests and knowledge. He always tried to get us in a position where the light was right for photos. The rest of staff went out of their way to be helpful in many small ways and were always friendly. This included alerting us to game sightings nearby, baking a birthday cake, taking care of charging our electronics and anticipating our wants and needs. In addition to game drives we were able to take in a tour of the neighboring village and spend a day at Tribal Textiles creating our own "masterpieces". Prices were very reasonable. Give Thornicroft a try. I think you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethduff785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at Thornicroft Lodge for three nights at the beginning of June and enjoyed every minute of it. The lodge is located on the bank of the luangwa river, with its lawns spreading up to the bank. Everywhere you sit you enjoy a view of the river with hippos and crocs in it, and see the animals wandering on the opposite bank (and sometimes crossing over!!). I liked the design and decor of the lodge and the garden, my chalet was nice and comfortable and the food was great. But what made the place really special was the friendly and attentive atmosphere - David and his team make you feel welcome and taken care of! The safaries too were excellent! I went with Godfrey, the experienced and talented guide, who has a vast knowledge of animals and plants. We had a great time tracking and following lions and leopards, and saw of-course, plenty of other animals and birds. the walking safari was very interesting too, giving a different perspective of the bush and its inhabitants.
Thank you David, Godfrey and the rest of the team for a great time!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Ora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were made to feel at home. David, the manager, made certain our plans for all seven game drives were met, and helped our group plan trips to local villages, schools and Tribal Textiles, where we made our own African-designed fabrics. Godfrey, our superb guide (best in all of South Luangwa) with Superman eyes and ears, tracked animals, and showed us the signs to look for. He helped us identify at least thirty kinds of birds. Most exciting, on two occasions, we spotted leopards in a tree with their dead impalas. Night drives were really exciting. Thornicroft is an unbelievable bargain. Oh yeah, the food was great, too. The chef made a birthday cake with just an hour's notice! I'd recommend to anyone! Couldn't be better!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...hippos and elephants sauntered through the camp at night! Night guards ma...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at Thornicroft Lodge for five nights at the end of April. The entire experience was absolutely special. Thornicroft doesn't pretend to be a luxurious mega-fancy spa-type safari destination. Rather, it is a clean, comfortable, and perfectly situated lodge, right at the end of the S.Luangwa River where animals wander right into the property's lovely trees and lawns. David and his capable, sociable staff are delightful. They took great care of us, provided specially selected meals with delicious local ingredients, shared their knowledge and experiences in the park and beyond. They made us feel like family and genuinely at home. The chalets were great--simple, spacious, convenient, clean and comfortable. Steps from the door is the teeming S.Luangwa River with its constant parade of hippos, elephants, impala, crocs and fabulous birds. Our safari guide, Rogers, was extraordinary. He readily shared his encyclopedic knowledge of the park's magnificent animals, fabulous array of birds, and its flora, geography, and vistas. He is the best driver we've ever experienced, delivering us to perfect views of a pride of lions, leopards, elephants, hyenas, wild dogs, giraffes, baboons, wart hogs. The list goes on and on--hippos, zebras, several deer species, crocs, countless birds, right down to the small night critters--civits and chameleons. Go to Thornicroft....you won't regret a single moment. Annie and I send many thanks to David, Rogers, and all the staff for a most memorable experience. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The chalets are all great, spaced along the lawn and trees above the river. We did not experience t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank California5907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Thornicroft Lodge for three nights and were delighted with the safari and the whole experience. Our guide, Rogis was very knowledgeable and we learned lots about the birds and animals. The accommodation was comfortable and situated beside the river. We had a special treat one afternoon when we saw four elephants swimming in our river, wonderful entertainment.
The food was excellent. including home baked bread, scones, muffin and pizza. Lunch was severed by the river, complete with white tablecloths Our stay included breakfast, coffee at 9 on safari, brunch at midday, sundowners at sunset and dinner at the lodge.
David and all the staff were most helpful, courteous and efficient.
Thank you all for a wonderful three days and six safari trips.
Tony, Marion, Síle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day Safari at Thornicroft. The Game drives were worth every single moment and penny. We saw the elusive Leopards, a 21-lion pack, plenty of elephants, "Thornicorft" giraffes (our guide made it a point to mention that this is the only type in Mfuwe and that's were the lodge derives its name!), the hunting lions and surprisingly, all at very close range. The park teams with bird life and though I'm not a particular enthusiast, this is possibly every bird watchers' paradise. I had the feeling that the night drive on our last day was particularly impressive. We watched a leopard on prowl, saw the porcupine, owls, bushbaby, night birds (forget the name).

I found Thornicroft a particularly homely place to stay. We tried out both the tents and the chalets due to booking/timing constraints. The tents had surprisingly cosy beds and my family would not mind spending the entire trip in them. The chalets are very spacious and laid out beautifully by the Luangwa river. We had hippos calling out the whole night and on one night at dinner, had one browsing next to the lounge. The staff at the lodge were all lovely and they got the basics right - no complaints at all. The meals were cooked fresh, looked simple but had outstanding depth and flavour, as they say, each meal was a story! Chef Phiri being particularly commended.

The lodge is relatively new ( a few years) compared to others in the vicinity and there are signs of planned expansion and I guess could only get better. I would recommend Thronicroft and certainly the South Luangwa National Park. Thanks David and your team for making this a memorable event for my family. I post a few photos from the many.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
230 reviews
8.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
18.1 mi away
Safari Explorers Camp
Safari Explorers Camp
#41 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornicroft Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornicroft Lodge

Address: Along the Luangwa River | Between Kakumbi village and the park entrance, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £118 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornicroft is an intimate bush-style lodge set on the banks of the Luangwa River with spectacular views over the Park. At Thornicroft you can explore South Luangwa National Park on unforgettable game drives with our expert guides. On our drives you will explore one of the best parks in Africa to see lion and leopard, not to mention all the other birds and animals that make this valley so unique.Our nine charming bush-style chalets are spread out along the banks of the Luangwa River. Each of our intimate en-suite chalets has fabulous views of the South Luangwa National Park. The chalets are designed for 2 people, but on request we can add a third bed. However if you are looking for a more affordable way to safari we have eight permanent safari dome two-person tents with shared bathroom facilities near the lagoon. The tented camp is closed from January – March.Thornicroft can also arrange transfers from Lilongwe to Thornicroft Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornicroft Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing