We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank-you Thank-you Thank-you !!!”
Review of Mushroom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mushroom Lodge
Norfolk England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank-you Thank-you Thank-you !!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just back from my 7th stay at Mushroom Lodge , and it did not dissappoint !! As usual I got a wonderful welcome and again had the most enjoyable experience there . The staff are superb , and a special thank-you to Louise who made me feel so at home . The game viewing was brilliant , in my 8 days there I had 20 sightings of Leopard ,5 in one day !!!! saw my first Python and just had the most superb time there .
Thank-you everyone at Mushroom Lodge , hope to see you all again .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkEnglandSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
10
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We visited South Luangua as part of an organised tour and stayed at Mushroom Lodge. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to make our stay really enjoyable. They arranged a couple of surprise al fresco meals, one brunch and a sundowner in the company of hippos on a bend in the Luangua river.

The chef amply catered for one of our party who did not eat chicken or fish and he ate well prepared beef or pork for most meals. Chef even managed to prepare good meals when the power failed for over 24 hours (but this is Africa). We enjoyed his evening meal by candlelight and 'bush' toast in the morning, grilled in a frying pan!

I cannot fault the staff, the general cleanliness, or the location (the wild life and game drives were amazing with a good few sightings of leopard) but I would have to say that the decor of the spacious and well appointed chalets were looking just a bit tired. Most of the blinds in our chalet didn't work properly, the front door didn't open fully and the bathroom was just a bit musty. The provided fan had a broken casing which rattled and was noisy enough to prevent you using it to keep cool while you slept.

These are little niggles but, with just a little bit of a facelift, It wouldn't take much to take this lodge's overall rating from very good into amazing.

Room Tip: All of the chalets overlook a creek which is a river in the wet season. In our few days there we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandamart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Once again Mushroom Lodge excelled all expectation , I can not praise this Lodge enough and have already booked again for 2013 .The management and staff are 5star as is the accomodation . I saw 10 leopards this year with the expert help of the excellent guide , South Luangwa is just the best place and Mushroom Lodge can not be beaten on making you feel special every minute you are there .
Thank-you and see you next year for yet another wonderful experience .

Room Tip: All accomodation is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkEnglandSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had stayed here for 3 nights in Oct '12. We had a comfortable stay. We are vegetarians and the staff took care that we are given special food without even eggs in it.We had a very good guide that at the end of 3 nights we have acquired immense knowledge on the fauna and flora of SLNP.
We were able to see a lot of animals from our room as there is a lagoon nearby and animals are always coming there to drink water!

Room Tip: Do ask for an extra fan as it was very very hot in the room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We love Mushroom Lodge! We are CPC, a large Minneapolis church, and have taken 3 groups there within the year and sent a Zambian Pastor and his wife to the Lodge for some well deserved R&R! Louise Ndhlovu and her staff are amazing! Our safaris were successful and a once-in-a-lifetime experience! The drivers know just where to go to find the animals! Right after we arrived in Mfuwe we took the 30 minute drive in open air jeeps to our lodge. The sights were beautiful, we even saw elephants and hippos on our drive in (this is even before safari). Our lodge was GORGEOUS! Ornate decorations, plush beds, working showers! I will say, we didn’t take any of the luxuries for granted. This was evidenced by our reaction to our first meal, delicate tilapia, fried potatoes, rich vegetables and even dessert, the whole crew was exclaiming mmmmms and awwws that echoed through the savannah. We felt blessed and lucky.

Every morning from 6am-10am and every night from 4pm-8pm we would pack into our jeeps, bundle up under blankets and widen our eyes to take in the sights. We saw so many new animals: elephants, giraffes, cape buffalo, jennets, leopards, hippos, lions, and more! It was like the animals didn’t mind us being in their environment, as we got very close! We spent luxurious afternoons taking in the view, relaxing by the pool, reading or playing games.

One of the best parts was when the staff put together a lovely bonfire for us out on the African plain. With the landscape of a river filled with hippos and curious impala checking us out, we sat around a bonfire and ate chips, salsa, chicken wings and nuts. It was a wonderful surprise and it gave us the opportunity to reflect on how much we have bonded on this trip.

We would highly recommend Mushroom Lodge for anyone visiting the South Luangwa in Zambia!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is one of the rare events when you book a hotel/lodge based on other people's opinions, and it is not a chain, so it could be a perfect one-off, or the worst one-off. The price per night per person is not cheap, so understandable I was wary of what can be offered in one short period to justify such lodgings in the middle of the National Park in Zambia.
The road to the park will probably be a good reminder of the economic woes - but once you get into the South Luangwa National Park (you will see a guarded crossing, and my fee was included into the lodge price, but double-check in advance), you know you are now part of Mother Nature's Own.
All the bungalows (there are 6 or so) were empty, so I was the only person there - and I was fearing the worst - but it was for the best. The staff was fantastic, extremely circumspect, polite and attentive. Unlike the chains where strict hours of check-in and obligatory check-out are observed scrupulously, at this lodge I was welcome at 10am and was allowed to stay until the afternoon of the next day. And not just stay - I was fed and entertained non-stop.
You will see from the pictures that the lodge is situated along the river that was dry when I was there, but the animals were aplenty. There was a hippo outside my doors, elephants, impalas and baboons. Sometimes they came very close, sometimes they were farther apart. There were no glass windows, only double or triple mesh to prevent insects from flying in - which also meant that all the sounds of all the animals were heard perfectly!
The food was very good - on a saltier side, but you can ask in advance what your preferences are (and you will be asked at the booking time, as well as the arrival time). It is all-inclusive. The refrigerator in the room contained soft drinks, there was a kettle with tea bags and instant coffee. The shower and the bathtub were located in a spacious bathroom - I had a gecco and a little frog as visitors but waving a towel at them made them disappear. Bed linen were of very good quality, with mosquito nets around both beds. Check for holes and spray generously anti-mosquito remedy of your choice. I did not hear any buzzing at any time, but then I was covered by so many chemicals :)
The price included both evening and morning safari - AMAZING. I was the only passenger in the Land Rover, so there were no distractions of any sort. My safari guide managed to show me everything - lions, zebras, giraffes, elephants, warthogs, impalas, kudus, baboons, hippos, herons and other birds.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I could not fault this place.

It is set in a lovely part of the National Park. The rooms are lovely, the pool is at a perfect temp, food was fantastic and the staff were lovely.

When we went on the game drives we told the drivers what we wanted to see. They made sure we saw everything on our list before we went home.

We went out to see a leopard (they are very rare to see because they are fantastic at camouflage.) The last night we went we saw three. One jumping out a tree (2 second view) then I saw a huge figure at night in the trees which was a huge leopard (also only saw for a couple of seconds.) Then the last one we saw was hunting we sat there and watched it for a while then it layed down almost just for us to take a photo.

From the restaurant you will see elephants grazing on the plans. The elephants went through the hotel to the back of the restaurant to eat the food out of the bins (re photo)

I must warn you, your in a national perk and you need to be aware that they are wild animals even if they look harmless they can do a lot of damage. Listen to you guides and at night make sure a guard takes you to and from your room.

Food was fantastic its inclusive and in Zambia its usually hard for places to accommodate for gluten free but they were fantastic. We were never hungry.

I will be taking some more of my family when they come to Zambia to visit me. Its a must in Zambia.

You could go with friends family or your loved one!

HOW TO GET THERE: You can drive which is what we did 8 hours to Chipata stayed the night then 3 hours across to the Park. The road to the park is being renewed and within the year it will only take 1 - 1.5 hours to get there. Or you could fly to Mfuwe and they will arrange a pick up.

We drove cos I have friends in Chipata to see its a great drive though it is long and I will fly next time. If you book flight in advance they will be a cheap price.

Please if you have any questions don't hesitate in sending me a message would love to help re anything Zambia!

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views of the dried up river where us will see elephants, buffalo and impala
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannas_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#12 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#19 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#11 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#15 of 44 in South Luangwa National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp
#7 of 12 in Lower Zambezi National Park
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 12 in Lower Zambezi National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Lodge

Property: Mushroom Lodge
Address: South Luangwa National Park | P.O. Box 25, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mushroom Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mushroom Presidential House, a unique site on the Mfuwe Lagoon inside the South Luangwa Park, was originally built in the early seventies to accommodate the Head of State and his VIP guests. Following the collapse of the UNIP government in 1991, Mushroom House was left abandoned until Matula Investments won the concession to re-develop the Mushroom Presidential house, and Mushroom Lodge as a commercial tourism development. The property has been developed in such a way as to retain the heritage value of its historical past whilst adding value in terms of an appropriate range of amenities and facilities conducive for a full service modern safari lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mushroom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing