We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like wilderness try their 5 day walking safaris - stunning”
Review of Robin Pope Safaris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robin Pope Safaris
Level Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you like wilderness try their 5 day walking safaris - stunning”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in their Nkwali camp for a couple of nights then did a 5 night walking safari in the north of the camp before returning to stay at Nsefu camp (while Tena Tena is being moved slightly).

All were great but the walking safari is superb - there were just three of us and one was made to feel to feel special. What really makes that stand out out though is the way that we got close to 'nature' - stalking animals, analysis droppings (!), learning tracks, examining termit nests etc, and of course sighting animals!

Room Tip: Just a tent but very clean and in good condition with a proper mattress on a camp bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsuggestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bsaingstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We went to River Lodge 19 to 24 sept 2011, the camp and staff were superb.
We drove across the river every day to access the park it made a delightful start and end
to each game drive or walk.
Alison from UK is the manager and Tom from Belgium is the under manager. They run the lodge so that we felt like really appreciated guests, the food was excellent but not exotic. Other guests who had came from other lodges and camps said they felt this one was great. We stayed for 5 nights there and we were never bored and saw the big 5 (minus Rhino) plus lots of other game.
The guides are Victor and Braston, both very knowledgeable and able to find lots of game, they were also cheerful and enthusiastic.
All staff were positive, friendly and helpful. We have been to the Kruger and also Tsavo in Kenya, this Park and lodge were better.
We are in our mid 60's so the lack of a disco did not worry us.

Room Tip: They are all good but room 1 is nearest to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davesurf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Absolutely unforgettable experience! Perfect! First, they surprised us at Mfuwe Airport with an open jeep ride to the "Lungawa House." It was a great experiance to see some how some of the locals lived and see a few impalas on the way. The food at camp was just like what you would find at a five star hotel! The room was amazing! The trip was amazing and I'm going back for sure! If you love nature and you want to relax in a nice quiet place while observing gracefull animals, Zambia is the place for you! If you are more of a big city kind of person you most likely would not like it as much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delta757pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I just returned from trip to Zambia packed through Robin Pope Safaris. i can't say enough wonderful things about this company and their camps. we were in the bush, yet in amazing tents , wonderful food and wine . The staff was absolutekly amazing. Anything wyou wanted, they were there for you. Our guides were the best. We saw lots of animals and our guides knew right were to take us to get amazing photo shots of everything. Plus, these guide were incredibly knowledgeable about the animals, birds and plants. We had an amazing time with this wonderful team !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellybean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

You cannot beat the Nkwali crew, a crew that is unique and rooms so comfortable. The showers are to die for with the general camp ambience totally exhiliarating. Make sure you dont mistake the very friendly live tree frogs for bathing soap as they naturally perch on or next to the soap tray to hoover any unsuspecting mosquitos. Handle with care and place them elsewhere not under your pillow though!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogne Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Stayed at Nkwali camp for three nights. It was as close to perfect as it could get. Great accommodation with open-air shower, great food, fantastic staff and a great guide. Saw such a number of animals, from herds of buffalo, giraffes and zebra to lions hunting and resting and leopard hunting.

Our last night, a hippo was grazing outside our porch!

South Luangwa's reputation as the possibly best park in Africa is no accident.

Somewhat exiting drive to get there from Malawi (is supposed to be a totally different story in a year or so)

If possible - we'll be back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per_FNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We had a lovely trip to Zambia. We stayed a luxurious week at Nkwali camp with Robin Pope Safaris. The camp is situated in a grove of trees on the Luangwa River next to South Luangwa National Park. The accommodations are quite nice chalets. The hot water was always hot.. The staff was fantastic serving us gourmet meals in the bush. And the wildlife was fantastic. We saw elephant, leopard, lion, wild dog, kudu, impala, warthog, puku and many more birds. This is one of my favorite places to stay in Africa.

Helpful?
3 Thank WildDogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Luangwa National Park
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#18 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#12 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#19 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#17 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#32 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stanley Safari Lodge
Stanley Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Pope Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Pope Safaris

Property: Robin Pope Safaris
Address: P.O.Box 80 | Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Robin Pope Safaris Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing