We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best experience anywhere in Zambia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lion Camp Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lion Camp is the one place in Zambia we will be sure to return to. Everything was perfect on our visit! The staff and guides were friendly and knowledgeable and we felt welcome and right at home. The tent/chalets are bright, open, clean and well designed and we saw such amazing game from our verandahs it was almost tempting to skip the game drives. What really makes a difference at Lion Camp is the layout.

The main area and tents open onto a large plains/savanna and water pumped when needed into an old river oxbow ensures that during the dry season game is always stopping by. We saw zebra, impala, elephant, hippo, lion, bushbuck, waterbuck, puku, saddlebill storks, Lillian's lovebirds, and cape buffalo by the hundreds within the first day of our time at Lion Camp.

The food was incredibly good as well, the best by far of any safari camp I have ever been a guest of. The attention to the little details that make for a first-rate stay were never forgotten. The four of us always had a game vehicle to ourselves, the same guide was with us on each drive/walk, cool drinks and cold washcloths after each drive, well thought out and tasty tea breaks and sundowners, kikoys to combat the heat...all of it was luxurious without being obsequious.

And although it wasn't arranged by the staff (i don't think!) being woken a few times each night by lions chuffing and coughing and occasionally even roaring really added excitement. Seeing a buffalo brought down by a lion pride while we were at supper was a dramatic and amazing sight I will never forget.

Needless to say we had excellent game drives too; I think we may have seen lion on every drive and we also able to see leopard (with a kill) and hyena (also at a meal) and so much more. Our guide really made the effort to ensure we saw as much as we could but I felt he respected the animals, too, which was really nice to see.

I also liked that Lion Camp is further away from Mfuwe and most other lodges--it felt more remote and private, as if we enjoying a more pristine and unseen slice of the park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zamtricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I thought that it would pretty disappointing to stay at Lion Camp and not see at least a few predators in action. These fears were dispelled after the first drive itself - we saw part of a lion pride just lazing about in the afternoon sunshine. Oh yes, there was a National Geographic moment when two lionesses started fighting with each over the cubs. Oh yes, there were four cubs making screeching meowing sounds. If this wasn't enough, shortly after our sundowner break, we came across a leopard slowly throttling a pregnant impala. It was mesmerizing, but quite grisly, and I still hear the crunching of bone...

Also I ought to mention that we had some spectacular game viewing from... our balcony. This includes hippos in the watering hole about 20 meters away, elephants, warthogs, buffaloes, zebras, and even the occasional lioness coming down to have a sip.

We also saw a fish eagle, kill and then consume a baby crocodile. But I think if I start narrating all our game viewing, this will be a long, long review. So I'll end this here.

Lion Camp is amazing. It's a very comfortable lodge situated in a relatively remote part of the valley with absolutely spectacular game. The staff are wonderful (Wilson tried to teach me to play the dinner drum but concluded that I had no musical talent whatsoever) and fantastic, passionate and knowledgable guides. A big thank you to the indomitable Masumba.

Our stay here was a real treat, and definitely one of the highlights of our entire two country trek.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

So first, all our gratitude to our guide Masumba, who shared his enthusiasm for wildlife with us. He took us to see the Hollywood pride and their cubs and we witnessed some truly amazing scenes, straight out of National Geographic - maybe we were lucky, but still. The game viewing was amazing (lions, elephants, leopards, giraffes, zebras, cute warthogs, ..) the guiding was excellent.

The lodge is nice and very comfortable, there is a water point in front of the lodge and you can see all sorts of animals drinking there. Once we were having dinner and one of the guides flashed a light : there was a lioness drinking in the dark behind us!! Another day an elephant had ventured in the camp to eat some leaves. At that point I had never been so close to a (huge) wild animal, and that was something!!

The food and the hospitality are excellent, thanks to Emma, Paul and Corrie, thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLuckyDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is an outstanding safari lodge located in one of the best game parks in southern Africa. One of Lion Camp's most remarkable features is the river that runs right in front of the camp. It attracts wildlife of every variety including lion, elephant, hippos, etc. so when your game drive is over you can relax on the deck and continue to view the animals. The tents are spacious and very well appointed. Excellent indoor and outdoor showers and very comfortable beds. Lion Camp has excellent guides who know everything about South Luangwa and it's birds and wildlife. The meals are served at one long table and the fare is varied and delicious. The staff is friendly and ready to assist in any way. The only negative here is that Lion Camp is about a two and a half hour ride from the closest airport which would not be a problem except that they only use open vehicles which in the usual heat and dust can be very uncomfortable. A closed vehicle for airport transfers would be a great improvement. Overall however this is a camp not to be missed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pib1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Back a few days ago from Lion Camp. What a great, remote place without the (sometimes usual) glut of vehicles fighting for space to view game. Fantastic Lion sightings (not just asleep!) Elephants great, with a sighting of a calf only a few weeks old. Amazing! Camp is fantastic (lodge more than a camp), and views from the lodge and pool over the plain are amazing and the memory won't leave you! Highly recommended. Would have given a 5 out of 5 however slightly disappointed with the guides. Maybe because we switched guides halfway through our stay and there was no 'hand over' so we started again with a new guide. He didn't take the time to ask what we had already experienced or seen. He repeated what we had already been told so felt like we could have concentrated our time better to maximise Game opportunities. He also was little abrupt. Started our trip at Flatdogs. Another great camp but close to the main gate so a bit commercial (if you have been on safari before). Preferred Lion Camp as a more remote experience. However, you will find the camps talk to each other (hence mentioning Flatdogs here) and share guests to give a wider Safari experience. Having said that Flatdogs is a fantastic camp, great experience, fantastic people. Switch our Flatdogs guide (Robbie) to Lion Camp and easily meets 5 out of 5! Don't let me put you off off either! I'm being honest and the positives by far out weigh the negatives. Wonderful part of the world, great people, and great game viewing. Go!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Once again I ventured to the best Safari destination in the world, Zambia's South Luangwa valley, (ssshhhh don't tell anyone). I was returning to Lion camp nestled a few hours from the main gate in its own area of rich wildlife and stunning scenery. I wondered if my stay could get any better than two years ago, how stupid do I feel now, I should never have doubted. Once again Lion camp was fantastic. The camp and its staff, expertly led by Emma, managed to strike a perfect balance of action, relaxation, kindness and tranquility. The guides, led by chief guide Paul, are all fantastic and very capable of making even the most benign plant and tree between leopard kills seem just as exciting. The food has left me contemplating a diet but remembering with glee the joy of putting it all on.
All in all Emma and Lion camp are 'the best think since sliced bread', look forward to seeing you again soon, I hope you don't get too busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuddyMatePal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a wonderful property with fabulous staff, food, and animal viewing. The main guide, Masumba, is fabulous and is so knowledgeable about mammals, birds and botany. The chalets are spacious and comfortable. The public areas are nicely appointed with many places to sit and observe the wildlife from the comfort of the deck. Animals do roam freely and the boardwalks connecting the lobby area with the rooms provide for easy and safe movement. Loved hearing all of the roaring, snarling, grunting and rustling all night long (that wasn’t humans by the way!). The Luangwa River has over 100 hippos and crocs per kilometer! Great animal viewing and fabulous birds. Go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#14 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
242 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
198 reviews
0 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#33 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#15 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Camp Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Camp Safari Lodge

Address: South Luangwa / Zambia, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Camp is an independent 18-bed lodge located in a prime game viewing area inside Zambia's South Luangwa National Park. We've established a reputation for providing expert guiding, abundant game-viewing, excellent food and friendly personalised service. Lion Camp is currently undergoing major renovations. We are staying true to our vision which is to provide exceptional and eco-friendly safaris at a reasonable price point. We will reopen in May 2018. South Luangwa is one of Africa's great wildlife sanctuaries and a birders paradise; on safari with us you can expect to see prolific concentrations of game including lion, leopard, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, and hippo. We offer affordable, fully inclusive packages include 2 safari activities/day (your choice of game drives, walking safaris & night drives) accommodation, meals, bar, park fees and return Mfuwe airport transfers. We'd be happy to book domestic flights and can help you tailor-make your perfect safari holiday. Open seasonally: 1st June to 31st October during the peak game viewing months. No Children under 7 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lion Camp Safari Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing