We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”
Review of Marula Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marula Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been meaning to write a review of Marula lodge for a while. I stayed here with my husband in June 2013 and had a fantastic time. We stayed in a pre-erected tent which was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were outside but private cubicles and beautifully done.
The proximity to the wildlife was the biggest highlight. The lodge runs morning and evening game drives. We were lucky enough to have close encounters with leopards and lions. The lodge sits on the river and free time can be spent on the deckchairs watching the hippos laze in the river. Hippos and elephants graze the lodge garden at night and the staff are always on hand and we felt incredibly safe. We woke up one morning at 4am to an elephant outside our tent! and an elephant even came up to the lodge bar one evening when we were having dinner!

We were travelling through Southern Africa for 3 months, and this place is one of the top 2 highlights of our trip! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasp_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you so much for thinking of us so long after your trip and taking the time to write a review. It will soon be time for you to come and visit again and see our new dining room and bar....we hope that the elephants will like it as much as the last one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Marula lodge was fabulous from the very minute I arrived. The owners Jenny and Mike, plus Anne were extremely friendly and welcoming and it was a pleasure to be around them throughout my 4 nights stay. They were always approachable and often woke up before the morning game drives just to see how everyone had slept. The service, food and safari tent were first class and certainly added to my stay. It was also great being in an exclusive national park suck as S.L on a budget, which Marula offers with their very reasonable rates. Whilst they are more budget orientated than other lodges, I must add that the quality was of a very high standard and I would certainly recommend to anyone that a stay at Marula is well worth it. They cater for all needs and their lodge and staff provide the perfect atmosphere in which to relax, rest and enjoy the safari experience. Finally, the game drives were magnificent and we were very lucky with what we saw, although no sightings of any cats.

Room Tip: Safari tents have a wonderful view over the Luangwa river, right next to the waters edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMoore_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

It was great to have you stay and many thanks for the review, we love to offer a good stay at a reasonable price and it makes it all worthwhile when our guests are happy....go well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our first safari and what a great time it was, we just barely crossed the bridge when we started seeing a large volume of game. We saw a mother elephant and her baby it was so cute, and then; giraffe, hippo, impala, zebra, water buffalo, warthog, crocodile and so many more it was very exciting. We even encountered two giraffes fighting. Amazing how such a thought of gentle creature can be so brutal to another! David, our guide, was so knowledgeable and just knew were to go and gave us such a great time we will remember forever. The owners of the lodge were very gracious
and are genuine people they truly love their guests and care about their experience. The food was so good I guess the best way to sum up our experience was what our 17 year old son said and that was "if we ever come back to Africa can we just stay at Marula lodge!"

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, high praise indeed. We are so glad our paths crossed at Marula and we do hope that you get back to Africa sometime. We will pass on your appreciation to David and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place right by the river with hippos wandering round at night! I stayed in one of their safari tents and had some of tge best sleep that id had in ages. Jenny and Mike were really helpful whilst i was there and the staff are brilliant. Its even possible to get there from Lusaka in a day just get the (really) early bus to Chipata and get on the big green bus from Chipata to Mfuwe, they even dropped me straight at Marula!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank stannersgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thanks so much for coming to stay and taking the time to do a review. The tents are great on the riverside, might have to sleep in one myself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place doesn't need yet another good review but have to mention how great it is, especially the owners. They greet each guest individually and gave us an arrival drink. They took the time to explain the safari options with us. The property is beautiful, right on the river. The game drives were fantastic. It is clear the success of this place is due to the owners and how they genuinely care. The outdoor showers are the best!!

Room Tip: Safari tents are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we think that the lovely guests is what make Marula so special! Always interesting! thanks for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our week at Marula at the end of February. From our initial enquiry onwards, Jenny and Mike had been really helpful, leaving us slightly flexible with dates (as we weren't sure when our volunteering would finish) and giving us lots of information about the best way to get to them from where we were. Despite only having booked for 4 nights, they made it easy for us to add another 2 as we were enjoying it so much. They were so friendly and kind and they made us feel very welcome.

Marula's location is lovely, with the gardens right down onto the river, where you can watch the hippos cooling off in the water. The rooms are really clean, with very comfy beds and a big bathroom. The food was amazing - simple breakfast (cereal and toast), a delicious (and huge!) brunch (over the week we had home made pizza, quiche, salads, baked potatoes), afternoon tea (home made cake, pancakes, scones) and then dinner (stir fry, chicken curry, fish). The swimming pool was lovely and clean and we loved relaxing there on days where we had no drives.

Our guide Pius was lovely and very knowledgeable - he knew the answer to everything, and pointed out so many things we would never have even thought to ask about. The staff at the lodge were also very kind and very friendly.

Thanks again Jenny and Mike for having us - we can't recommend Marula highly enough!

The Scottish Girls

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank HappyBackpacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

You Scottish girls are welcome to come again and stay as long as you like! thanks for the review, I will pass your compliments on to our lovely staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay here in November. The river bed was dry but despite this we still got to see wildlife moving across it. Fantastic welcome on arrival. It was so nice to see the "resident" elephants so at home as well as the baboons on the grounds. Really makes you feel like you are in the bush. It is just outside the park so could not get any closer without being in it. The swimming pool is a nice added bonus to cool down after your morning drive and nothing nicer than having a nice cold beer too while you dip. Food was good but would have been nice to have bigger portions as sometimes after driving one has worked up an appetite. The room was clean but I marked you about the ceiling fan as it did not work until I fiddled with it a lot and then it suddenly came on. The switch was worn so it twisted instead of turning it on. I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: No tips on a good room but make sure you do not leave food in the car as it may be the subject of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marulajen, Owner at Marula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks too for the tips, we are working on the portion sizes and hope you can get back here once the upgrades are done, we are very excited that work has already started!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Luangwa National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Croc Valley Camp
Croc Valley Camp
#11 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Track and Trail River Camp
Track and Trail River Camp
#8 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mushroom Lodge
Mushroom Lodge
#35 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Zikomo Safari Camp
Zikomo Safari Camp
#13 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
88 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
Sanctuary Puku Ridge Camp
#12 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
103 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential Lodge
Sanctuary Chichele Presidential ...
#16 of 43 in South Luangwa National Park
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marula Lodge

Address: Mfuwe Main Road, South Luangwa National Park n/a, Zambia
Phone Number:
Region: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Speciality Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range: £25 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run, family-friendly lodge that prides itself in offering excellent service, food and adventure at budget friendly prices. Our rooms are guaranteed to be comfortable and clean; we have few airs and graces and can promise a wonderful time to all who visit. Our wildlife is amazing and we often have a family of elephants or a giraffe wandering through the camp. We look forward to welcoming you to Marula Lodge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marula Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing